PDA

View Full Version : play live drum on PC keyboard

Prophet
11-23-2007, 05:15 PM
Hi All,
newbie here, please advice. I just got my Reaper and EZdrummer work after following the wonderful tutorial I read here.

I was thinking, is it possible to play live drum through PC keyboard. I know it would be very ugly touch feel, but it suppose full of fun.

so...
bass drum on "space bar"
close hi-hat on "F button"
snare on "J button"
etc...

any suggestion how to make it happen? what any software or plug in or driver I should install on my XP windows?

your comment is very valuable for me.

thanks!

tantamo
11-23-2007, 05:52 PM
Hi. I've tried using my keyboard to play live drum parts into fruity loops, and there was so much lag I had to stop. It may work better in reaper though.

You don't need any special drivers or anything I don't think, you just need to set the input for the track to either all midi inputs or virtual keyboard, then enable the virtual keyboard (alt+B). Then your keyboard should also work as a midi controller.

I don't know anything about ezdrummer, but if it works like a normal drum sampler this should work.

You might also want to try using the mouse, I've played drums on some songs with just the virtual keyboard and it turned out pretty well and was fun. But you can only really have a very simple kick/snare beat with that method.

Prophet
11-24-2007, 07:09 AM
Hi. I've tried using my keyboard to play live drum parts into fruity loops, and there was so much lag I had to stop. It may work better in reaper though.

You don't need any special drivers or anything I don't think, you just need to set the input for the track to either all midi inputs or virtual keyboard, then enable the virtual keyboard (alt+B). Then your keyboard should also work as a midi controller.

I don't know anything about ezdrummer, but if it works like a normal drum sampler this should work.