PDA

View Full Version : Getting MIDI sounds into Reaper

stickinthemud
10-13-2006, 09:36 PM
I recorded a drum loop from my Roland TD20 drum module into Reaper, and the sounds are not what I expected. They sound like low-quality MIDI sounds, and what should be the snare sounds like a hi-hat. Does anyone know if and how I can get the sounds from my module into Reaper?

Thanks in advance!

Alistair S
10-14-2006, 05:32 PM
Not sure how to answer this, and I'm no midi expert, and don't know your kit (though it sounds nice).

Questions:

Are you recording midi, or audio output?

If midi, what are you playing it back through? The drum kit itself or a VSTi or what?

It almost sounds as if you are recording midi but playing it back on your soundcard as drums.

Spon
10-14-2006, 07:44 PM
Cheap rather than defective sounds is most likely recording MIDI and playing it back through your soundcard's synth. It may even be that you recorded audio *AND* MIDI, and have the MIDI playing a soundcard.

To get your module's sounds into REAPER, there are at least two ways.

One, you can play a loop on the box and record the audio. Trim it tight, and loop it. You would do this by recording the audio out from the box through your soundcard. This limits you to audio editing of the loop (and processing, of course). Some rearranging is possible, but it starts to sound D&B if you do too much chopping and rearranging of ambience. So it depends on the beat, and the sounds, and the effects.