Old 02-01-2012, 03:28 PM   #1
mikeroephonics
Human being with feelings
 
mikeroephonics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,024
Default JS for CC to Program Change converter?

JS for CC to Program Change converter?

Hi.

TL;DR:
Here's an odd one. I'm trying find either a JS or VST which can convert MIDI Continuous Controller messages to MIDI Program Change messages.


I'm using a Kontakt script called Mind Control to use CCs for switching between patches within Kontakt Instrument Banks.

This works wonderfully except Mind Control can only use one CC type per-instance.

I'd like to use 2 separate hardware sliders to control 1 instance of Mind Control. The basic idea:

1.)
Use 2 hardware sliders to switch between different playing techniques
(Slider 1=long bows, Slider 2=short bows.)

2.)
Slider 1 to send a CC straight to Mind Control.

3.) Slider 2 to send a CC to a JS, convert the CC to a Program Change Message, sending the Program Change message into Mind Control.

Additional uses:

Anyone needing to send Program Change messages to a synth/sampler/whatever from a MIDI keyboard with only Pitch & Modwheel (and maybe a few sliders for CCs.)

Thanks!
__________________
Do you use MIDI in REAPER?
Please check out these MIDI requests: http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=85251
Thanks.

Last edited by mikeroephonics; 01-07-2013 at 11:27 PM.
mikeroephonics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 09:46 PM   #2
Anton9
Human being with feelings
 
Anton9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,258
Default

The Insert Piz Here midi collection has a couple of plugins that can convert CC to PC one is called midiConverter3 and the other is midiProgramChange.

They just have a generic interface, but for the midProgramChange there is an alternate version with a GUI here http://thepiz.org/plugins/?p=midiPCGUI

I do recommend getting the Piz MIDI plugin collection though because it has a lot of useful plugs.., it can be found here http://thepiz.org/plugins/?p=pizmidi
Anton9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 09:50 PM   #3
Mr. Data
Human being with feelings
 
Mr. Data's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Location
Posts: 5,026
Default

I'd recommend them as well, They're really helpful in solving many MIDI problems.


-Data
__________________
Advanced MIDI filtering? have a look here and for detailed description here.
Mr. Data is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 02:10 AM   #4
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 12,688
Default

^^^^
+1

or - see the attached. One selects the next program, the other uses the CC data value as the Program number.
Attached Files
File Type: txt DS_MIDI_CC_to_PC.txt (1.7 KB, 125 views)
File Type: txt DS_MIDI_CC_to_PC_01.txt (1.5 KB, 82 views)
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true.
My top 40 FRs, as voted by you
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 04:31 AM   #5
mikeroephonics
Human being with feelings
 
mikeroephonics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,024
Default

Thanks, everyone! It turns out I have the whole Insert Piz MIDI collection already. I'll check it out today.

I'll also test your JS, Darkstar. Thanks for the DL links!

Mike
__________________
Do you use MIDI in REAPER?
Please check out these MIDI requests: http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=85251
Thanks.
mikeroephonics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 11:47 AM   #6
Xane002
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 73
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkStar View Post
^^^^
+1

or - see the attached. One selects the next program, the other uses the CC data value as the Program number.
How do I use your scripts?
Xane002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 11:58 AM   #7
gofer
-blänk-
 
gofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 10,211
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xane002 View Post
How do I use your scripts?
Just drop them into [Reaper's resource directory]/Effects, or a subfolder of that directory. That's where the JS plugins live. You can (but don't necessarily need to) delete the file extension .txt (DarkStar needed to add the file extension to be able to attach the files to his post)
In Reaper they show up in the "Add FX" dialog as JS plugins.

To find Reaper's resource directory on your system, go into Reaper's Options menu and click "Show Reaper resource path in explorer/finder...".
gofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 05:39 PM   #8
Guido
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 674
Default

Hi,

Have a look at this........

Quote:
Originally Posted by XITE-1/4LIVE View Post
http://www.bewaryprods.com/software/...TransMIDIfier/
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Etp8V...layer_embedded

Here's an unknown product that sample playback guys are all worked up about too.
Sry for the dup....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guido View Post
Hi,

I always learn something from ur posts Mr Vegas^^....and this one is
HUGE for me!!!

I been looking for a replacement for some of logics enviorment
objects...Like the Mapped Instrument and stuff, since 2007 ..and WHAM
this looks like it! I cant thank u,Xite, enuff. THX!.....heres a
screenshot in action.



Thx again,and BIG THX to Brian!

Guido
I think it might do the trick also for the op,

Guido
Guido is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 08:34 AM   #9
mikeroephonics
Human being with feelings
 
mikeroephonics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,024
Default

Thanks, XITE-1/4LIVE & Guido! This looks like a great tool for non-Kontakt samplers.
I use the Kontakt script 'Mind Control' to accomplish this stuff in K5,
but something like GigaStudio and Giga Virtual Instrument will benefit
from this for sure. Any VSTi, really. Thanks again.
__________________
Do you use MIDI in REAPER?
Please check out these MIDI requests: http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=85251
Thanks.
mikeroephonics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 09:42 AM   #10
Guido
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 674
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeroephonics View Post
Thanks, XITE-1/4LIVE & Guido! This looks like a great tool for non-Kontakt samplers.
I use the Kontakt script 'Mind Control' to accomplish this stuff in K5,
but something like GigaStudio and Giga Virtual Instrument will benefit
from this for sure. Any VSTi, really. Thanks again.
Hi,

And any external midi also. I use it to do per note midi routing/massaging from my E drumkit to any piece or midi hw in my rig. Its ALMOST like a baby logic environment. Funny, just reminds me of of how flexible, powerful and musician friendly logics environment was/is!^^

Guido
Guido is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.