Old 12-23-2013, 10:20 PM   #1
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 15,737
Default v4.59pre3 - December 23 2013

v4.59pre3 - December 23 2013
  • JS: safer file_string() in @serialize for unexpected data
  • JS: fixed syntax highlight for old char syntax
  • JS: gfx_printf \r handled better
  • Render: VU meter display up to 16 channels for multichannel renders
  • JS: improved string support (fixed certain escape sequences, etc)
  • JS: big EEL frontend parsing overhaul, better error messages

The JS updates in this build represent a large overhaul of the frontend of the language compiler -- previously (last year, I forget?) we had improved the code generation and added optimization.. This updates the parser to be more modern and maintainable. I tested it against most of the code in the JS library thread, and there were only three plugins which were affected: IX MIDI_latch, Jonas DrumReaplacer, and SerialKiller. In each case, there was the following:
Code:
 status == statNoteOn || status = statNoteOff ?
This is an obvious typo, the "status = statNoteOff" should be "status == statNoteOff". Previously this was parsed as:
Code:
(status == statNoteOn || (status = statNoteOff)) ? ( ... )
and now it is parsed as:
Code:
(status == statNoteOn) || status = (statNoteOff ? ( ...))
...which is a big change, however the old parsing was incredibly inconsistent and really has no use, and is just plain wrong, and the fact that it only occurs in this typo is a pretty comforting change. These affected plug-ins likely did not function as intended as a result, but their behaviors may change from this update and they should be updated accordingly.

If you have other unreleased code that is affected, please let me know! Or if you want to know if your code is affected, I can test it (via verification code) for you.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2013, 11:19 PM   #2
jm duchenne
Human being with feelings
 
jm duchenne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: France
Posts: 915
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
v4.59pre3 - December 23 2013[list][*] Render: VU meter display up to 16 channels for multichannel renders
Gooood !
I suppose that it will be extended to the full used channels number later ?

(EDIT) Perhaps could you use vertical meters when more than 16 ?
And a little number together each channel would also help.
__________________
Acousmodules: multichannel / spatial audio plugins http://acousmodules.free.fr

Last edited by jm duchenne; 12-24-2013 at 03:19 AM.
jm duchenne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2013, 11:21 PM   #3
off&on
Human being with feelings
 
off&on's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 117
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
  • JS: big EEL frontend parsing overhaul, better error messages
Hallelujah! Control flaw (sic) was indeed hairy. Testing.
off&on is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2013, 01:41 AM   #4
RobinGShore
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 781
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Render: VU meter display up to 16 channels for multichannel renders
Awesome! While you're on this can we also get separate sets of meters for when we're rendering multiple stems
RobinGShore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2013, 03:39 AM   #5
plamuk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3,221
Default

question, how does this impact ReaJS?

i need to remember to update SerialKiller, but it's only used externally in bidule via reajs
plamuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2013, 05:07 AM   #6
beatbybit
Human being with feelings
 
beatbybit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Hungary
Posts: 3,129
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jm duchenne View Post
Gooood !
I suppose that it will be extended to the full used channels number later ?
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobinGShore View Post
Awesome! While you're on this can we also get separate sets of meters for when we're rendering multiple stems
+1, please

and if i may.. :
http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=132434
__________________
panda in the desert
beatbybit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2013, 08:27 AM   #7
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 4,685
Default

RMS metering por favor ?
Sexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2013, 08:47 AM   #8
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South, UK
Posts: 14,218
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
RMS metering por favor ?
that would put the christ back in christmas for me for sure!
__________________
subproject FRs click here
note: don't search for my pseudonym on the web. The "musicbynumbers" you find is not me or the name I use for my own music.
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2013, 09:41 AM   #9
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 19,680
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkStar View Post
(a) Blood red colour for text strings does not look good here

(b) Backslash in the string is not parsed correctly, breaking several of my JSFX.
Try
label[3] =$'d'; label[4] =$'\'; label[5] =$'Z';
\ are now parsed OK.
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2013, 10:57 AM   #10
IXix
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: mcr:uk
Posts: 3,891
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
This is an obvious typo, the "status = statNoteOff" should be "status == statNoteOff".
Ooops! My bad! Funny how errors can propagate like that.
IXix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2013, 11:14 AM   #11
heda
Human being with feelings
 
heda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 7,268
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicbynumbers View Post
that would put the christ back in christmas for me for sure!
+11111
let's all pray! lol
heda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2013, 02:07 PM   #12
Sigilus
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,763
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
v4.59pre3 - December 23 2013
  • Render: VU meter display up to 16 channels for multichannel renders
Merry Christmas! Thanks!
Sigilus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2013, 06:17 PM   #13
krahosk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,375
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by heda View Post
+11111
let's all pray! lol
In the beginning was the word... JesuSonic.
krahosk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2013, 12:27 AM   #14
Doc Shay
Human being with feelings
 
Doc Shay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 126
Default

I get crashes with some js plugins included, on this pre(4.59pre3) on x64 I get a instant crash when inserting fairlychildish2. The plugin doesn't crash the 32 bit version of this pre though. I also get crashes randomly while moving js plugin parameters and even after pressing stop pause or play sometimes, but it's hard to reproduce 100%.
__________________
My music https://soundcloud.com/docshay

My twitter https://twitter.com/_DocShay
Doc Shay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2013, 02:20 AM   #15
jnif
Human being with feelings
 
jnif's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,111
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Shay View Post
I get crashes with some js plugins included, on this pre(4.59pre3) on x64 I get a instant crash when inserting fairlychildish2. The plugin doesn't crash the 32 bit version of this pre though.
That seems to be a divide by zero bug in fairlychildish2.
It crashes also in Reaper 4.581 x64. And it does not crash if fairlychildish2 is used alone, but for example with Poise VSTi it will crash immediately.

I have fixed similar bugs in Sequencer baby.

Justin, could you explain why divide by zero in JS plugins will produce crashes only in Reaper x64?

jnif
jnif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2013, 07:10 AM   #16
Doc Shay
Human being with feelings
 
Doc Shay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 126
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jnif View Post
That seems to be a divide by zero bug in fairlychildish2.
It crashes also in Reaper 4.581 x64. And it does not crash if fairlychildish2 is used alone, but for example with Poise VSTi it will crash immediately.

I have fixed similar bugs in Sequencer baby.

Justin, could you explain why divide by zero in JS plugins will produce crashes only in Reaper x64?

jnif
I'm glad you mentioned that because I am also using poise in combination.
__________________
My music https://soundcloud.com/docshay

My twitter https://twitter.com/_DocShay
Doc Shay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2013, 07:54 AM   #17
Vendetta V
Human being with feelings
 
Vendetta V's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Currently in Armenia
Posts: 1,114
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
RMS metering por favor ?
What i came here for.


Not disappointed.


+1230981340983243 for that!
__________________
Vendetta V @ VMS studio
Check my music here : Avant-Garde Psycho Metal
Check my studio here : Video and Audio services
Vendetta V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2013, 11:17 AM   #18
urednik
Human being with feelings
 
urednik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,247
Default

BUG in this version:
Always when I click render for the first time the render dialogue just disappears, second time it works.
__________________
W10 (64) Lenovo E540 - SSD; Lenovo B590; W7 (32), Compaq 610 (2.1Ghz core 2 duo, L2 cache, 2GB RAM); DPA 4018, Schoeps MK2, Schoeps MTSC 64, Neumann mk184, AEA Ribbon 88mk, AKG SolidTUBE; Focusrite Scarlett 18i20, recording merely live acoustic music.
urednik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2013, 09:12 PM   #19
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 15,737
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jnif View Post
That seems to be a divide by zero bug in fairlychildish2.
It crashes also in Reaper 4.581 x64. And it does not crash if fairlychildish2 is used alone, but for example with Poise VSTi it will crash immediately.

I have fixed similar bugs in Sequencer baby.

Justin, could you explain why divide by zero in JS plugins will produce crashes only in Reaper x64?

jnif
Got it, my guess is Poise is leaving divide by 0 exceptions on in the FPU flags, ugh. Fixing.

Last edited by Justin; 12-27-2013 at 09:17 PM.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2013, 08:24 AM   #20
Dannii
Human being with feelings
 
Dannii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Adelaide, South Australia (originally from Geelong)
Posts: 5,598
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Got it, my guess is Poise is leaving divide by 0 exceptions on in the FPU flags, ugh. Fixing.
Not sure if you've seen this topic Justin (something I discovered in the previous pre where peaks subfolders were introduced) but hoping it is an easy fix.... http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=132854
__________________
Dannii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2013, 07:39 PM   #21
Argitoth
Human being with feelings
 
Argitoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 2,057
Default



uhh... yeahh... no else one tested this?
-I do not click cancel, my mouse just happened to hover over it, revealing it
-the output is correct
-reaper becomes unresponsive after exporting completes.

Edit: for being an exciting feature, not sure how no one bothered to test!

Quote:
Originally Posted by urednik View Post
BUG in this version:
Always when I click render for the first time the render dialogue just disappears, second time it works.
Edit: oh someone did catch it.
__________________
Soundemote - Home of the chaosfly and pretty oscilloscope.
MyReaperPlugin - Easy-to-use cross-platform C++ REAPER extension template

Last edited by Argitoth; 12-29-2013 at 09:46 AM.
Argitoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2013, 08:45 PM   #22
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 15,815
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Argitoth View Post
for being an exciting feature, not sure how no one bothered to test!
The bug only affects region renders. Fixed for the next build.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.