Old 02-10-2009, 10:30 PM   #1
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 10,048
Default Headphones speaker simulation on the Master

What about Speaker simulation controls on the Master for work with headphones? I know there are plugins for this but you always need to disable those when rendering the master.


Thus my request (inspired by SPL Phonitor: http://www.soundperformancelab.com/f..._2730_BA_E.pdf)



Basically we would need

- one button (speaker simulation on/off switch)
- three knobs (Crossfeed, Speaker Angle, Center Level)




Good request? Just another small gimmick
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2009, 07:45 PM   #2
trifecta
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: North of Antartica
Posts: 200
Default

you know what? I am surprised this was overlooked.

I +++1 this all the way.

Music is different now than years past. People, more and more, LISTEN on headphones...not on the big home stereo systems that seemed so ever popular in the 80's. How many people have ipods? you know? Mixing on headphones, while it is discouraged DOES give you a point of view that IS relative...I mix a lot on headphones. I cross check on my monitors, but I prefer the intimate nature of cans, and do 80% of my work there...a lot of others do this because of environmental factors. I think having this would be more useful and NOT a gimmick feature.
trifecta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2009, 03:09 AM   #3
Spyrow
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 522
Default

Dstruct do this:

- Use 112db Redline Monitor. It rocks. Certainly.
http://www.112db.com/redline/monitor/?demo
(I don't think it so easy to design a very good speakers emulator plugin).
- Set 4 channels in your Master.
- Set the inputs of Redline as 1/2, the outputs to 3/4.
- Route Reaper so the outputs 3/4 go to your headphone amp.
- The on/off button is the bypass/unbypass of the Redline plugin.

Now when you render the 1/2 channels in the master you don't have to worry about disabling the monitor.
Spyrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2009, 03:17 AM   #4
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 10,048
Default

I don't have dedicated headphone outputs. So I need a solution on 1+2 Master channels. Would be much better if this would be integrated rather than using a plugin for this. I'm pretty sure that schwa could do something in good quality
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2009, 03:21 AM   #5
Spyrow
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 522
Default

If you don't have dedicate outputs just route the 3/4 channels of the Master to your outputs and leave the 1/2 unrouted (so they go to no real outputs).
Use the bypass as your on/off button for monitors.

I think schwa is really busy right now so I'm just trying to help you. The Redline Monitor is really good, much better than anything I've tried before.
Spyrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2009, 03:31 AM   #6
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 10,048
Default

Yeah, but I don't think I want spend 69 Euro for such a simple plugin
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2009, 03:42 AM   #7
Spyrow
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 522
Default

Then good luck with your FR.
Spyrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.