Go Back   Cockos Confederated Forums > REAPER Forums > newbieland

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-16-2012, 05:56 AM   #1
neastguy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 7
Default imported wav files from old digital recorder?

once they import into their individual tracks.. how do I name them to what they are? ect. drums, guitar.. can't seem to find how to do this...
neastguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 06:15 AM   #2
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 13,032
Default

Hello neastguy and welcome to these forums. You'll find many helpful people here and a lot of useful information.

Select each imported clip, then press F2, or right-click >> Item properties. "Take name" is the thing to change.

Or you could rename them on disk in Explorer / Finder before you import them into Reaper. That might be better.

Make sure you download the User Guide too. Excellent for reference or for understanding specific activities.
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true.
My top 40 FRs, as voted by you
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 06:22 AM   #3
neastguy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkStar View Post
Hello neastguy and welcome to these forums. You'll find many helpful people here and a lot of useful information.

Select each imported clip, then press F2, or right-click >> Item properties. "Take name" is the thing to change.

Or you could rename them on disk in Explorer / Finder before you import them into Reaper. That might be better.

Make sure you download the User Guide too. Excellent for reference or for understanding specific activities.
thanks.. its a bit overwhelming to say the least .. looking at the manual now.. oh my.. I'm coming from a Korg d1600 all in one unit that is so easy to use..

I tried renaming and it just seemed to rename it on the time line and not on the actual track.. and below on the mixer.. kinda hard to explain.. having a hard time just deleting sections.. lol.. guess I better get to reading.. will be using a zoom r16 w/ it.. mainly recored w/ the r16 and then dump the files into reaper.. at least thats my plan if I can figure it out w/o pulling my hair out..
neastguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 06:25 AM   #4
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 13,032
Default

I would not try to read it all the way through - just look up topics when you need too.

When a media item is imported onto an empty track, the track name is derived form the item name.

To rename the track (and in the Mixer):
-- double-click the track name.

What do you want to delete when you say "section"? Part of an loaded media item? There are several ways - I would probably split it twice:
-- position the edit cursor by clicking in the timeline above the tracks, then press S.
-- repeat as needed.
-- select the part you don't want and press Delete.

You can turn off Snap for precise position of the edit cursor and zoom in to make sure you position at a zero-crossing.
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true.
My top 40 FRs, as voted by you

Last edited by DarkStar; 04-16-2012 at 06:31 AM.
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 08:10 AM   #5
neastguy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkStar View Post
I would not try to read it all the way through - just look up topics when you need too.

When a media item is imported onto an empty track, the track name is derived form the item name.

To rename the track (and in the Mixer):
-- double-click the track name.

What do you want to delete when you say "section"? Part of an loaded media item? There are several ways - I would probably split it twice:
-- position the edit cursor by clicking in the timeline above the tracks, then press S.
-- repeat as needed.
-- select the part you don't want and press Delete.

You can turn off Snap for precise position of the edit cursor and zoom in to make sure you position at a zero-crossing.

thanks I was able to delete a section after I grouped all the tracks.. it was a silent section at the beginning.. but even though I deleted the section.. I cant slide all the tracks to the beginning 0.00 .. its acts as there is data/music still there.. not sure if that makes sense.. still digging via manual and looking for free vids... I hope there is a way to set up scenes w/ each song.. sorry just trying to wrap my head around so much info ..
neastguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.