Old 04-16-2012, 05:09 AM   #1
Geo524
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: UpState, NY
Posts: 110
Default Peak Files and Clean current project directory??

Hey Guys,

Couple of questions...

What is the best way to manage those little peak files that Reaper seems to put all over my hard drive?

Also, is there an easy way to set up the "clean current project directory" so I can safely get rid of the files that aren't being used anymore?

I love Reaper but these 2 things really bug me.

Thanks!
__________________
Registered Reaper User: Win 7 Pro x64; Sonar X3e Pro; Reaper 4.62; AMD FX4100 3.8GHz; DDR3 1600 24GB Ram; Focusrite Scarlett 18i20; 3 x 1TB and 1 x 640 GB HDD;Mackie HR 624; KRK RP5 G2 Rokit Monitors

Last edited by Geo524; 04-16-2012 at 05:21 AM.
Geo524 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 07:54 AM   #2
bigwoody
Human being with feelings
 
bigwoody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 1,676
Default

For the peak files, Reaper lets you create an alternative path so all the peak files from all your projects can be stored in single directory. Everything else (audio files, midi etc stay in your project directory. To set this up, first go to Options/Preferences/General/Paths and create a directory under "Alternate waveform peak cache path", name it temp or reaperpeaks. Now go to Options/Preferences/Media and click the check box for 'Store all peak caches in alternate path.

The cool thing about this is it will leave your project directory much cleaner with just your important stuff. You can also occasionally empty the alternative directory and all that means is the next time you open your project it will just take a minute to re-build the peaks. You won't loose anything important. (I only clean this out about once a month or after I finish a significant project.)

To effectively use "Clean current project directory' first you need good basic project management. What I do is every song (project) has its own directory. The way clean works is if there is any sliver of any file being used in your project it will keep that entire file. If you have several takes for example but you only use slivers from 3 or 4 takes it will keep all 3 or 4 files. If you have something like this the best thing to do is glue the entire track with all the pieces when you are done with your edits. This will create a new single file and then when you clean the directory you can remove all the other ones. Be careful, like any delete, once you empty your recycle bin they are gone.

Hope this helps.
__________________
ACER AMD 64x2 Dual Core 4200+ 2.21 GHz 3GRam XP Media SP3, Delta 1010LT
Solo www.soundclick.com/timdwyer or Irish Rock http://www.facebook.com/pages/Chance...46452718715173
bigwoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 08:52 AM   #3
Geo524
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: UpState, NY
Posts: 110
Default

Thanks for the reply BigWoody. I'll give this a shot.
__________________
Registered Reaper User: Win 7 Pro x64; Sonar X3e Pro; Reaper 4.62; AMD FX4100 3.8GHz; DDR3 1600 24GB Ram; Focusrite Scarlett 18i20; 3 x 1TB and 1 x 640 GB HDD;Mackie HR 624; KRK RP5 G2 Rokit Monitors
Geo524 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 12:19 PM   #4
SpecialRich
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Bath, UK
Posts: 209
Default

funnily enough i'm just trying to sort out the same thing!

The other problem I have is that when inspiration strikes i haven't always created a save file / directory before i started getting dirty with audio and end up with loads of audio files in a default location rather than in a defined project folder.
Is the only way to move all files to the new location the "consolidate" function? it seems to render everything again rather than just shift the source files and you loose all your edit points/splits.
I remember in cubase there used to be a function that would export a project to a new folder as an exact duplicate.

cheers
SpecialRich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 12:45 PM   #5
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 4,699
Default

I have Reaper set to store the peak files on a 512 MB RAM drive. Works great. Reaper has to re-create them when I load a project in a session, but it does that quite quickly and nicely in the background. The peak files haven't bothered me since...
__________________
// MVHMF
Vote for the Starter Marker FR here http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?issueid=4371
Let's finally get rid of those ugly odd time measures.
Fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 12:49 PM   #6
bigwoody
Human being with feelings
 
bigwoody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 1,676
Default

Answering Rich's question...

Under File/Save As there is a check box to move all the media into the new project directory.

I would also recommend setting "prompt to save on new project" under Options/Preferences/Project. It only takes a second and starting off with good file/project management just makes life (at least mine) so much easier.
__________________
ACER AMD 64x2 Dual Core 4200+ 2.21 GHz 3GRam XP Media SP3, Delta 1010LT
Solo www.soundclick.com/timdwyer or Irish Rock http://www.facebook.com/pages/Chance...46452718715173
bigwoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 12:58 PM   #7
SpecialRich
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Bath, UK
Posts: 209
Default

Brilliant, thanks woody!
That prompt save on new project is an awesome idea, in complete agreement that organisation from the get go is a major time saver in the long run!

thanks
Rich
SpecialRich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 01:00 PM   #8
planetnine
Human being with feelings
 
planetnine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln, UK
Posts: 4,774
Default

I have my media files saved in a relative path -a subfolder of my project file (called "audio files", predictably) and all the peak files are stored there with all the wav files.

I like to leave my peak files intact for loading speed reasons (my projects are audio heavy and will take several minutes to regenerate peaks). I don't often have to go digging in the "audio files" folder for wavs (esp since the project bay was introduced) and I just leave the peak files with them, where they are supposed to be.

I have nice clean, organised project folders; the fiddly stuff is tucked out of sight, but intact.


>
__________________
Nathan, Lincoln, UK.

dB marks on MCP faders FR: http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?issueid=3059
planetnine is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 02:15 PM   #9
Katsu
Human being with feelings
 
Katsu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: North Wales
Posts: 30
Default

I choose the option to have my reapeaks sent to a specific destination folder, then use ccleaner to delete that folders contents when it is run. (you can set it to run when you're boot up, but I prefer to manually execute it) plus its a brilliant tool to have for your comps general maintenance

http://www.piriform.com/ccleaner

I also use Mediasweeper for cleaning out my projects. Start to use this only when you are positive you know how it works.

http://www.mediasweeper.com.au/

Being anal with your project folders in the first place helps with keeping the mess down, mostly.
__________________
Reaper v.4.25|Commodore 64(fudge)|LoadIt Tape System|Wing & A Prayer.
soundcloud.com/auskeur
Katsu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 03:15 PM   #10
Geo524
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: UpState, NY
Posts: 110
Default

CCleaner and Defraggler are my "go-to's" for PC maintenance. I was using ASC Pro (advanced system care) for awhile but it became alittle bloated over the years. Also(from a post I read here) Auslogics registry cleaner is another great tool.

I haven't figured out how to use mediasweeper yet and I might not have to now. It's downloaded and installed but that's as far as I got with it.

You guys are great. Many thanks again for all the help.
__________________
Registered Reaper User: Win 7 Pro x64; Sonar X3e Pro; Reaper 4.62; AMD FX4100 3.8GHz; DDR3 1600 24GB Ram; Focusrite Scarlett 18i20; 3 x 1TB and 1 x 640 GB HDD;Mackie HR 624; KRK RP5 G2 Rokit Monitors
Geo524 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 07:46 PM   #11
Runaway
Human being with feelings
 
Runaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,986
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Katsu View Post
I also use Mediasweeper for cleaning out my projects. Start to use this only when you are positive you know how it works.

http://www.mediasweeper.com.au/

Being anal with your project folders in the first place helps with keeping the mess down, mostly.
Just remember thatMediaSweeper actually doesn't permanently delete anything - it moves the 'unused' files to another location of your choice where you can choose to delete them or not.
__________________
AATranslator
Runaway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 09:08 PM   #12
themixtape
Human being with feelings
 
themixtape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 285
Default

"store all peak caches in alternate path" - this option isn't in Reaper 4.21's preferences. Can anyone help? I hate these reapeaks files, and want them out of my sample loops folders when I audition loops.

Thanks!
themixtape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2012, 04:15 AM   #13
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 3,531
Default

That's from premature recordulation ! It really only takes 15 seconds to save a new project so just do it. You can also have reaper open with your default template if you like so your tracks are ready.



Quote:
Originally Posted by SpecialRich View Post
funnily enough i'm just trying to sort out the same thing!

The other problem I have is that when inspiration strikes i haven't always created a save file / directory before i started getting dirty with audio and end up with loads of audio files in a default location rather than in a defined project folder.
Is the only way to move all files to the new location the "consolidate" function? it seems to render everything again rather than just shift the source files and you loose all your edit points/splits.
I remember in cubase there used to be a function that would export a project to a new folder as an exact duplicate.

cheers
Coachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2012, 09:39 AM   #14
themixtape
Human being with feelings
 
themixtape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 285
Default

Nevermind, I found it... under the main "Media" tab. Yay, finally all my reapeaks files are appearing in this temp folder I created!
themixtape is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.