Old 04-25-2012, 12:51 AM   #1
mjpatey
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 81
Default Save a group of items as a new .wav file?

Hi, Group-

This is my first time playing with Reaper, and I am floored by how powerful and customizable it is!

I'm evaluating it as a replacement for Adobe Audition, which I use primarily for voiceover recording and editing. Every task I've thrown at Reaper in the last 2 hours, it has handled with ease... but there's one thing I can't figure out how to do.

Is there a way to save a selected group of items as a new audio file? I see how to "render items as new take" but it doesn't seem to create a new audio file that I can save with a new name.

I also tried doing it by rendering a time selection (under File -> Render...), but I need the new .wav file to be tightly trimmed at the top and bottom, and couldn't figure out how to get the time selection to snap to the edges of the first and last item. Since some of my VO projects involve delivering hundreds of individual files, manually dragging to select the top and tail without snapping to the items would be too inefficient.

Any ideas on how to get this done with the slickness I've seen so far from Reaper?

Thanks in advance for any light you can shed!

-Mark
mjpatey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 01:00 AM   #2
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 9,713
Default

if I get your drift...

have all the traks that you want to hear
mute any others

make a time selection as long as just what you want to hear

in the render menu [dialog] select 'render time selection'
set your format as desired and then look down at the bottom and see the check box to 'add to project' ... this will put the rendered output into your project as a new track... which you can solo

...and you can rename it as you wish [item properties]
...and you can hold cntrol and Alt, and left mouse to simpley drag that wav file into any folder on your HD... and then rename it again if you like...

Is that what you wanted to do???
__________________
You don't have to agree with me, but it will go a lot easier on you if you do http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 02:36 AM   #3
gofer
-blänk-
 
gofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 10,136
Default

To position the time selection edges to your item edges you can select the item(s) you want inside the time selection and use the action "Time selection: Set time selection to items"
gofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 07:10 AM   #4
mjpatey
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 81
Default Thanks!

@hopi- That's what I want to do, but without having to manually drag across the items to precisely select them.

@gofer- Thanks, that's exactly what I was looking for! This thing is an impressive piece of software. I now have a custom keyboard shortcut for it.

Thanks, all!

-Mark
mjpatey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
group, items, render

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.