COCKOS
CONFEDERATED FORUMS
Cockos : REAPER : NINJAM : Forums
Forum Home : Register : FAQ : Members List : Search :
Old 12-24-2014, 02:42 AM   #1
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Axis Mundi
Posts: 3,556
Default Ninjam Rules!

thanks cockos and folks jamming on the net! great first experience.

but this shit seriously needs an update. can't sync to reaper's tempo? wtf. but somehow it just works without a click anyways.

compressed multitrack recording is tits!!
__________________
TwilightMysterySchool
foxAsteria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2014, 10:09 AM   #2
pljones
Human being with feelings
 
pljones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 573
Default

Of course you can't sync everyone else in the world to yourself. That would be pretty selfish, now, wouldn't it?

(The other way around - slaving the VST Host to the VST Plugin - isn't possible due to the VST protocol. At least prior to VST 3 -- I don't know if VST 3 makes a difference but no matter, no one really uses VST 3, so it's irrelevant.)

And you reckon everyone else in the world's internet is fast enough to transmit multichannel lossless audio to you concurrently? Really..?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony Williams
...Playing fast around the drums is one thing. But to play with people for others, to listen to, that's something else. That's a whole other world.

Last edited by pljones; 12-24-2014 at 11:09 AM.
pljones is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2014, 12:10 PM   #3
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Axis Mundi
Posts: 3,556
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pljones View Post
And you reckon everyone else in the world's internet is fast enough to transmit multichannel lossless audio to you concurrently? Really..?
if ninjam is running in reaper, i dont see why it couldnt simply start counting on the beat. i can do it manually by hitting play, but why isnt it automatic? no i dont expect realtime jams over the net. i expect ninjam to count in time with reaper. dont see how thats unreasonable, mr sass.
__________________
TwilightMysterySchool
foxAsteria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2014, 03:02 PM   #4
pljones
Human being with feelings
 
pljones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 573
Default

It's unreasonable if you have your Reaper BPI and BPM different from your NINJAM BPI and BPM for a start. You can't expect everyone else to slave to your Reaper session, which is what you're asking if you expect your Reaper settings to control NINJAM. However, as I say, most of the problem is neither Reaper nor NINJAM but the VST 2.x protocol between the two.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony Williams
...Playing fast around the drums is one thing. But to play with people for others, to listen to, that's something else. That's a whole other world.
pljones is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.