Old 04-09-2017, 03:47 AM   #1
Skrie
Human being with feelings
 
Skrie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 9
Default Workaround for broken pitchbender

The pitch bender unit of my Novation SL MKII has broken, causing
it to send random pitch information. Calibration no longer helped.
(I even tried to uncouple the pitch bend unit from the main-board, but this caused a system failure lol.)

I've already sent a request to Novation to get me a replacement unit.

In the meantime I was wondering. Is there a way to stop Reaper
from sending any pitch bend information to VST's so I can at least continue playing?
I thought it'd be straight forward , but apparently pitch bends are very hard to stop

The range of the plugin I now use the most can't be set below 1.
So... I'm stuck at getting random pitch bends between 0 and 1.
Any way to set the range from Reaper to 0 ? Or blocking pitch bends completely?
Skrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2017, 04:02 AM   #2
Skrie
Human being with feelings
 
Skrie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 9
Default

wups... I already solved it using the midi filter from this thread.
God knows why I couldn't find that before making this topic.

http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=57957

Sorry for befouling your glorious subforum.
Skrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2017, 04:41 AM   #3
mikeroephonics
Human being with feelings
 
mikeroephonics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,308
Default

Check out http://syntaur.com/novation.html for spare parts.
__________________
Please check out these MIDI requests: http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=103192
Thanks.
mikeroephonics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2017, 07:37 AM   #4
Skrie
Human being with feelings
 
Skrie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeroephonics View Post
Check out http://syntaur.com/novation.html for spare parts.
Nothing on the MKII... also, I never got an answer from Novation.
I don't think I'll buy from them again.
Skrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2017, 08:07 AM   #5
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 16,375
Default

^^^
You should let Novation know.
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. Inspired by ...

My top 40 FRs, as voted by you (updated for August 2016)
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2017, 01:36 AM   #6
Skrie
Human being with feelings
 
Skrie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkStar View Post
^^^
You should let Novation know.
Today (2 weeks after my inquiry) I got a reply that I should replace my USB cable and
try their new driver. I feel like I'm in an episode of the IT crowd xD

Anyways... fair enough.. I'll try these things when I get home.
They seem unlikely solutions, since all the other features work fine, including the
modulation wheel which is part of the same module. And I've already gone through
several drivers since the unit stopped working.
Skrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.