Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER OS X Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-15-2017, 07:19 PM   #1
deepdjdanny
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 10
Default Help; OSX Dock, Reaper icon DISAPPEARS, Changes to ? placeholder, deepdjdanny

Help; OSX Dock, the Reaper application icon DISAPPEARS, with the setting affirmatively to 'Keep in Dock'... sometime after exiting from Reaper, perhaps after a reboot, the Reaper Dock Icon has Changed to '?' icon as a placeholder, deepdjdanny

Does anyone have a fix so that the Reaper App Icon doesn't disappear and doesn't change to a '?' icon in the OSX Dock?
The 'Keep In Dock' doesn't Keep it maintained there in the dock.
I'm thinking that the Reaper application isn't convincing the OSX environment that Reaper is a OSX native application, or, OSX is ever changing it's definition for a native application...
deepdjdanny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2017, 10:27 AM   #2
337is
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1
Default

I don't have a solution to this, but am chiming in to say I'm having the same issue. I've gone as far as clean reinstalling Sierra and installing Reaper first to see if there was something weird in my preferences. There's not. A fresh install suffers from the same issue you describe.
337is is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2017, 10:43 AM   #3
serr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5,992
Default

You guys didn't accidentally drag it into the dock from the INSTALLER IMAGE WINDOW instead of your APPLICATIONS FOLDER (after installing it) did you?

Because that would do that.
Any running app appears in the dock while running even if it isn't pinned there.

Aside:
I'm not sure why I put Reaper in my dock because I always just double-click on the .rpp file I want to open. Someone still does this the long way?
__________________
Mac Pro 8x3.33GHz i7, 16GB, 256GB SSD(OS, apps), 3x2TB 7200 HD(data); MacBook Pro 2.8GHz, 6GB, 128GB SSD HD(OS, apps), 750GB 7200 HD(data); 2xTrue Precision 8; Apogee AD-16; 2xMOTU 828mk3, Evolution UC-33e; Faderport; WiRanger, iPad & the analog mixer has retired
serr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2017, 04:40 PM   #4
deepdjdanny
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 10
Default

To serr: Nah, I did not accidentally or deliberately for that matter

Its always most definitely from my sub-directory of OSX's applications folder.
Why do say 'Always'... because Umm... I got like over 20 or so Reaper64.app apps sitting in there for testing purposes... and just in case the latest version gets broken.

and this serr: 'Someone still does this the longway...'
I typically always work on the last project I was working on, and then when finished (coz I work to get the f**ker finished); then create another new project, or save out the last project (perhaps emptied of its recorded stuff or as just a basic template) as a Different Project filename and in a successive chronological directory...
I have set reaper preferences to load a last worked on project.
I have quadzillions projects... i only navigate finder-wise as a last resort, and only if i want to find and load an older project.
My method, for me, is much quicker... it isn't an 'older way', for me: it is the better way

...cause this sux: open finder, wait for finder to open, side bar, music directory, navigate, click, navigate, click, navigate click, navigate click, repeat, repeat, repeat, ... Ah-huh! there's that bastard project...
SO... Just click on the docked Reaper icon and it's done already: Tuh-DA!

I filename; chronologically (year.month.day,Time) as a prefix in the filename followed by the typical pertinent info...
eg. '2017.02.23,Friday,2pm,ReaperProject5.34,ThatCrapp yBeginnerTeenRockGuitaristWhoCan'tPlayOrSing,2017. 02.24,Saturday,MyRemuxxings,GuitarConvertedToLoops &VoxNowPerfectlyTuned,TropicallyHoused,1990'sVoxLo xSaxo.rpp'
I'm all-for any better way... old or new
Perhaps I'll start using the 'Projects List' as a tab in the Reaper's Dock Window...
I've Just Now Deleted all the Older than Reaper64 v5.34 apps instances.
blah blah blah... hope this helps.

Last edited by deepdjdanny; 02-24-2017 at 05:29 PM.
deepdjdanny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2017, 05:04 PM   #5
grayter1
Human being with feelings
 
grayter1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Saint Paul, MN
Posts: 398
Default

Also chiming in. I've had this behavior as well. I now have to keep the Reaper shortcut icon on my desktop, because it won't stay (or work) in the dock.

tg
__________________
4.01 GHz i7 Hackintosh | 32 GB | GeForce GTX 960 | 4 SSD drives | OSX 10.12.1 | Focusrite 18i8 | Pro Tools 12.6 | Logic Pro X | Studio One 3.3 | Reaper | NI Komplete 10
www.localtvhero.com
grayter1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2017, 08:12 PM   #6
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,970
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by serr View Post

Aside:
I'm not sure why I put Reaper in my dock because I always just double-click on the .rpp file I want to open. Someone still does this the long way?
you never start a new project?
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2017, 02:22 AM   #7
o_e
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 99
Default

Just want to report that it works under OS X 10.9.5 aka 'Mavericks', latest stable Reaper..
o_e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2017, 06:04 AM   #8
serr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5,992
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EpicSounds View Post
you never start a new project?
I use templates to start new projects. I get impatient if I have to redo work or take extra steps.
__________________
Mac Pro 8x3.33GHz i7, 16GB, 256GB SSD(OS, apps), 3x2TB 7200 HD(data); MacBook Pro 2.8GHz, 6GB, 128GB SSD HD(OS, apps), 750GB 7200 HD(data); 2xTrue Precision 8; Apogee AD-16; 2xMOTU 828mk3, Evolution UC-33e; Faderport; WiRanger, iPad & the analog mixer has retired

Last edited by serr; 02-25-2017 at 06:19 AM.
serr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2017, 06:18 AM   #9
serr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5,992
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deepdjdanny View Post
To serr: Nah, I did not accidentally or deliberately for that matter

Its always most definitely from my sub-directory of OSX's applications folder.
Why do say 'Always'... because Umm... I got like over 20 or so Reaper64.app apps sitting in there for testing purposes... and just in case the latest version gets broken.
20 or so!?
Which one(s) have you pinned to the dock? Did you give them unique names? This wasn't a case of running a version other than the one of the ones you have pinned to the dock? Do you have all 20 in the dock?

It's got to be fallout from that.
I think you're just going to have to work a system like that manually if it's critical to your workflow. If it's critical to keep that many unique builds live, maybe it's time to look into writing an Applescript to manage that and give you back dock functionality.

Quote:
Originally Posted by deepdjdanny View Post
...cause this sux: open finder, wait for finder to open,
Something's wrong. A Finder window opens instantly unless something is royally crashed!

Quote:
Originally Posted by deepdjdanny View Post
side bar, music directory, navigate, click, navigate, click, navigate click, navigate click, repeat, repeat, repeat, ... Ah-huh! there's that bastard project...
SO... Just click on the docked Reaper icon and it's done already: Tuh-DA!
Well, get your sidebar shortcuts in order then man!

Hey, I really don't mean to give you a hard time!
Forgive me if it comes across that way but these are my genuine responses to that.

You're going to have to customize the OS a bit for your unique workflow.

The Finder window opening slowly raises an eyebrow! I'd investigate the system based on that.
__________________
Mac Pro 8x3.33GHz i7, 16GB, 256GB SSD(OS, apps), 3x2TB 7200 HD(data); MacBook Pro 2.8GHz, 6GB, 128GB SSD HD(OS, apps), 750GB 7200 HD(data); 2xTrue Precision 8; Apogee AD-16; 2xMOTU 828mk3, Evolution UC-33e; Faderport; WiRanger, iPad & the analog mixer has retired
serr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2017, 11:56 AM   #10
dodobirds
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 22
Default

Did anybody figure this out? I just set up a new computer with Sierra and this behavior is really freaking me out
dodobirds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2017, 08:17 AM   #11
serr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5,992
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dodobirds View Post
Did anybody figure this out? I just set up a new computer with Sierra and this behavior is really freaking me out
Which behavior?

Accidentally dragging Reaper from the disc image installer volume to the dock instead of from your Applications folder? (Operator error #1)

Or running 20 versions of Reaper all with the same name so that you can't associate documents created by them with them with the stock OS feature anymore? (Operator error #2)
__________________
Mac Pro 8x3.33GHz i7, 16GB, 256GB SSD(OS, apps), 3x2TB 7200 HD(data); MacBook Pro 2.8GHz, 6GB, 128GB SSD HD(OS, apps), 750GB 7200 HD(data); 2xTrue Precision 8; Apogee AD-16; 2xMOTU 828mk3, Evolution UC-33e; Faderport; WiRanger, iPad & the analog mixer has retired
serr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2017, 11:44 AM   #12
dodobirds
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by serr View Post
Which behavior?

Accidentally dragging Reaper from the disc image installer volume to the dock instead of from your Applications folder? (Operator error #1)

Or running 20 versions of Reaper all with the same name so that you can't associate documents created by them with them with the stock OS feature anymore? (Operator error #2)
Ooopsss..apologies I forgot to specify.
I meant if anyone has been able to understand why the Reaper icon keeps turning into a question mark on the dock? I usually keep all the major apps I use in the dock for easy access but for some reason Reaper refuses to stay put

I've made sure to install it properly (by dragging to the apps folder) and I also only have one single instance of reaper installed.

Thanks!
dodobirds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2017, 01:54 PM   #13
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,970
Default

this is happening on my macbook too
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2017, 02:13 PM   #14
Robert Randolph
Human being with feelings
 
Robert Randolph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 409
Default

Not happening here, and I have 7 Reaper portable installs on this system, with 3 in the dock.
__________________
http://www.admiralbumblebee.com
Audio/DAW stuff, Woodworking, Programming and more... new posts twice a week or more.
Robert Randolph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2017, 03:20 PM   #15
serr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5,992
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dodobirds View Post
Ooopsss..apologies I forgot to specify.
I meant if anyone has been able to understand why the Reaper icon keeps turning into a question mark on the dock? I usually keep all the major apps I use in the dock for easy access but for some reason Reaper refuses to stay put

I've made sure to install it properly (by dragging to the apps folder) and I also only have one single instance of reaper installed.

Thanks!
Can you state unequivocally that you dragged the Reaper icon from your Applications folder to the dock after you installed it and not from the installer volume window?
__________________
Mac Pro 8x3.33GHz i7, 16GB, 256GB SSD(OS, apps), 3x2TB 7200 HD(data); MacBook Pro 2.8GHz, 6GB, 128GB SSD HD(OS, apps), 750GB 7200 HD(data); 2xTrue Precision 8; Apogee AD-16; 2xMOTU 828mk3, Evolution UC-33e; Faderport; WiRanger, iPad & the analog mixer has retired
serr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2017, 03:39 AM   #16
dodobirds
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by serr View Post
Can you state unequivocally that you dragged the Reaper icon from your Applications folder to the dock after you installed it and not from the installer volume window?
Yes, definitely! Actually, now that I think of it, first I dragged the icon from the installer window to the applications folder. Then as soon as I launched Reaper (by clicking on the icon in the applications folder) I right-clicked on the Reaper icon and selected "keep in dock".
dodobirds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2017, 11:53 PM   #17
oldbrownhat
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Mission, B.C, Canada
Posts: 26
Default

Aha! It looks like I'm not the only person having this problem, then! I have to launch Reaper from the Applications folder, as "Keep in Dock" doesn't work- I just get the "?" place holder. Behaves normally on my iMac under El Capitan, but not my MacBook Air running Sierra.

Guess I can always put a shortut on the Desktop, but... why?

__________________
If it weren't for coffee I'd have
no personality whatsoever.
oldbrownhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2017, 02:05 PM   #18
cyrano
Human being with feelings
 
cyrano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2,459
Default

Have you tried dragging the REAPER icon from the applications folder into the dock instead of using "keep in dock"?
__________________
Next thing on the todo list: introduce your paranoia to your imagination.
cyrano is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.