Old 03-08-2015, 01:06 PM   #321
TD1
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 6
Default

Hi Banned,

I would appreciate it very much, and of course I have a couple of days. In the meantime I'll try to get a hold on the problem myself.

Best,
TD1
TD1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2015, 09:11 AM   #322
Banned
Human being with feelings
 
Banned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Unwired (probably in the proximity of Amsterdam)
Posts: 4,868
Default

I think we need a bit more extensive I/O logging here; so could you also try running this "MonitorMIDI+OSC-IO.txt" script simultaneously with the StudioMix+REAPER.txt script, then post some results?

To prevent some duplicate messages, please also edit this line in the StudioMix+REAPER.txt script:
Code:
osc_log_input = 0; // (0 = OFF; 1 = ON)
__________________
˙lɐd 'ʎɐʍ ƃuoɹʍ ǝɥʇ ǝɔıʌǝp ʇɐɥʇ ƃuıploɥ ǝɹ,noʎ
Banned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2015, 11:36 AM   #323
TD1
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 6
Default

Hi Banned,

I tried your script, the log upon startup of OSCII-bot is attached. I played a bit around with the Studiomix+Reaper_v91.txt script and to me it seemed that the cc-variable might receive other values from the Studiomix then it does for you... but of course I might be wrong since EEL2 is new to me.
So just to make sure, when I move any fader the numbers 0 to 8 are assigned to cc (fader1: 0, fader2: 1, etc..) When I move the first fader in Reaper, this is the output:

TIME: 92.807 [OSC input] /track/1/volume [f] 0.261000
TIME: 92.807 [OSC input] /track/name [s] Grp Drums
TIME: 92.807 [OSC input] /track/number/str [s] 1
TIME: 92.807 [OSC input] /fx/name [s] ReaEQ (Cockos)
TIME: 92.807 [OSC input] /fx/preset [s] Drums Grp
TIME: 92.807 [OSC input] /fx/1/name [s] ReaEQ (Cockos)
TIME: 92.807 [OSC input] /fx/2/name [s] ReaComp (Cockos)
TIME: 92.807 [OSC input] /fx/3/name [s] ReaVerb (Cockos)
TIME: 92.807 [OSC input] /fx/4/name [s] Utility/limiter
TIME: 92.807 [OSC input] /fx/4/number/str [s] 4
TIME: 92.807 [OSC input] /fxparam/1/name [s] 1-Freq (Band)
TIME: 92.807 [OSC input] /fxparam/1/value [f] 0.160408
TIME: 92.807 [OSC input] /fxparam/1/value/str [s] 116.9
TIME: 92.807 [OSC input] /fxparam/2/name [s] 1-Gain (Band)
TIME: 92.807 [OSC input] /fxparam/2/value [f] 0.629713
TIME: 92.807 [OSC input] /fxparam/2/value/str [s] 5.0
TIME: 92.807 [OSC input] /fxparam/3/name [s] 1-Q (Band)
TIME: 92.807 [OSC input] /fxparam/3/value [f] 0.500000
TIME: 92.807 [OSC input] /fxparam/3/value/str [s] 2.00
TIME: 92.807 [OSC input] /fxparam/4/name [s] 2-Freq (Band)
TIME: 92.807 [OSC input] /fxparam/4/value [f] 0.316528
TIME: 92.807 [OSC input] /fxparam/4/value/str [s] 359.8
TIME: 92.807 [OSC input] /fxparam/5/name [s] 2-Gain (Band)
TIME: 92.807 [OSC input] /fxparam/5/value [f] 0.250594
TIME: 92.807 [OSC input] /fxparam/5/value/str [s] -6.0
TIME: 92.807 [OSC input] /fxparam/6/name [s] 2-Q (Band)
TIME: 92.807 [OSC input] /fxparam/6/value [f] 0.535750
TIME: 92.807 [OSC input] /fxparam/6/value/str [s] 2.14
TIME: 92.807 [OSC input] /fxparam/7/name [s] 3-Freq (Band)
TIME: 92.807 [OSC input] /fxparam/7/value [f] 0.855475
TIME: 92.807 [OSC input] /fxparam/7/value/str [s] 10069.2
TIME: 92.807 [OSC input] /fxparam/8/name [s] 3-Gain (Band)
TIME: 92.807 [OSC input] /fxparam/8/value [f] 0.338041
TIME: 92.807 [OSC input] /fxparam/8/value/str [s] -3.4
TIME: 92.876 [MIDI output] [BF|63|1B] Ch.16 CC# 99 value: 27
TIME: 92.876 [MIDI output] [BF|62|2C] Ch.16 CC# 98 value: 44
TIME: 92.876 [MIDI output] [BF|06|2F] Ch.16 CC# 6 value: 47
TIME: 92.876 [MIDI output] [BF|26|3C] Ch.16 CC# 38 value: 60


I hope that helps. Let me know if you need something else.

Thank you! TD1
Attached Files
File Type: txt OSCII-botLog2.txt (15.2 KB, 48 views)
TD1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2015, 02:40 PM   #324
Banned
Human being with feelings
 
Banned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Unwired (probably in the proximity of Amsterdam)
Posts: 4,868
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TD1 View Post
[...] to me it seemed that the cc-variable might receive other values from the Studiomix then it does for you... but of course I might be wrong since EEL2 is new to me.
The CC# values should be similar, but not exactly the same, as their values depend on the value for parameters (e.g. track volume, panning, etc.).

Each MIDI message to the StudioMix is a so-called NRPN message, which consists of 4 parts: CC99+CC98+CC6+CC38. The first two are the NRPN number (split between MSB/LSB), the last two stand for the actual parameter values (also split between MSB+LSB).

So, CC99+98 should be the same (since these stand for MIDI address used by the StudioMix controls, which can't be configured differently afaik), while the CC6+38 values are typically different.
Quote:
Originally Posted by TD1 View Post
So just to make sure, when I move any fader the numbers 0 to 8 are assigned to cc (fader1: 0, fader2: 1, etc..)
Almost correct; track number 0 always stands for the master track; while numbers 1-8 stand for tracks 1-8 (in the currently selected 'bank' of tracks).

Quote:
Originally Posted by TD1 View Post
When I move the first fader in Reaper, this is the output:

[...]
That seems to be just fine...
Quote:
Originally Posted by TD1 View Post
I hope that helps. Let me know if you need something else.
Can you please also post a little log of what happens when you adjust different faders / buttons on the StudioMix?
__________________
˙lɐd 'ʎɐʍ ƃuoɹʍ ǝɥʇ ǝɔıʌǝp ʇɐɥʇ ƃuıploɥ ǝɹ,noʎ

Last edited by Banned; 03-14-2015 at 12:30 PM. Reason: fixed quote tags
Banned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2015, 11:13 AM   #325
TD1
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 6
Default

Hi Banned,

so now I created a little ExcelSheet with the control messages that appear in the log when I move faders/buttons/knobs. In the columns you'll find the channels, rows are the top rotary knob-row, lower rotary knob-row, the knob row and the fader. All controls on the right side of the StudioMix are listed in the first column.

Best,
TD1
Attached Files
File Type: zip StudioMixControlMessages.zip (4.7 KB, 56 views)
TD1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2015, 12:55 PM   #326
Banned
Human being with feelings
 
Banned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Unwired (probably in the proximity of Amsterdam)
Posts: 4,868
Default

Ah, now we're getting somewhere!

It looks like your StudioMix device sends completely different MIDI messages than for other users: it doesn't seem to be sending any NRPN messages at 14-bit resolution (see post #3 and #4 at the beginning of this thread for the StudioMix configuration that this script expects), but note numbers and 'plain' 7-bit CC#s. That's quite different, and explains why you didn't have much luck using it yet.

Perhaps what I said above was wrong: maybe the StudioMix device *can* be configured to use different MIDI messages after all?
__________________
˙lɐd 'ʎɐʍ ƃuoɹʍ ǝɥʇ ǝɔıʌǝp ʇɐɥʇ ƃuıploɥ ǝɹ,noʎ
Banned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2015, 02:10 PM   #327
TD1
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 6
Default

Hi Banned,

this is what I thought though after I played a bit around with the script... I got the StudioMix second hand so I do not know if there was ever any software to re-program the controller. So basically that suggests that the script would have to be re-written regarding the input-value conversion to OSC and conversion from OSC to MIDI (I was afraid of that ). Or is there, now that the StudioMix seems to understand plain MIDI notes a different way of sending MIDI events to the StudioMix?

Best,
TD1
TD1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2015, 02:57 PM   #328
Banned
Human being with feelings
 
Banned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Unwired (probably in the proximity of Amsterdam)
Posts: 4,868
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TD1 View Post
[...] this is what I thought though after I played a bit around with the script... I got the StudioMix second hand so I do not know if there was ever any software to re-program the controller. So basically that suggests that the script would have to be re-written regarding the input-value conversion to OSC and conversion from OSC to MIDI (I was afraid of that ). Or is there, now that the StudioMix seems to understand plain MIDI notes a different way of sending MIDI events to the StudioMix?
Yes, that's correct - either the StudioMix or the script needs to be reconfigured. The latter seems to involve way more work, of course. Rewriting the entire script seems possible, but especially for the motorized faders, I'm not sure whether 7-bit resolution would suffice.

So, I'd suggest trying to find out how to reconfigure the StudioMix device - perhaps one of the other StudioMix owners here can help you with that?
__________________
˙lɐd 'ʎɐʍ ƃuoɹʍ ǝɥʇ ǝɔıʌǝp ʇɐɥʇ ƃuıploɥ ǝɹ,noʎ
Banned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2015, 08:57 AM   #329
N2NPro
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: SD Cali
Posts: 112
Default

Sounds to me like TD1 may have a SM with a modded eprom. I have 3 SM's and all work with Banned's script. I wish I could help but this one is well beyond me.
check this:
http://www.sonicware.de/studiomix/studiomix_en.html

Sorry I'm no help at all.

N2N
N2NPro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2015, 11:37 AM   #330
Banned
Human being with feelings
 
Banned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Unwired (probably in the proximity of Amsterdam)
Posts: 4,868
Default

That sounds like a very plausible explanation, N2NPo!

TD1, perhaps download the editor software there and try chaning the StudioMix's configuration?
__________________
˙lɐd 'ʎɐʍ ƃuoɹʍ ǝɥʇ ǝɔıʌǝp ʇɐɥʇ ƃuıploɥ ǝɹ,noʎ
Banned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2015, 07:44 AM   #331
jico27
Human being with feelings
 
jico27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Paris / France
Posts: 372
Wink

Hi Banned & N2NPro,

I can see that your programming work has made a few more adepts of late.
This is very encouraging.

Just a few words to keep you informed that i recently could resize N2NPro's video demo so that it is easier to visualize now.
It is on my youtube channel and you can visualize and download it here:
https://youtu.be/x7PB3hS5A8Y

I hope you will forgive me the liberty i took in this occasion N2NPro!

Also, to make this video more accessible to french speaking people, i made a french version of your commentary that i integrated to it and the result is also on my channel at the following address:
http://youtu.be/HbJA8mTQ2UI

Please tell me what you think about them. I hope you will enjoy in both cases.

I'm also planning to make a second video referring to Banned's programming method. I would like it to be incitative for french readers to take up a bit of programming in this context. But this is not for a very close future.

I'll keep you informed.

Best regards
jico27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2017, 10:51 AM   #332
DrownedInTrance
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 3
Default

Hey guys !

I just bought a StudioMix on Ebay for 61€ and I am still sceptic if it was a good idea to buy such an old piece of gear.. However, I saw how much work and effort you put into making this thing communicate with Reaper, thumbs up !!
Is there any chance to obtain the necessary files ? The dropbox links are all 404

Thanks in advance !
DrownedInTrance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2017, 02:24 PM   #333
goldenarpharazon
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 37
Default

Hello DrownedInTrance - the Peavey StudioMix files are still available linked from this post

http://forum.cockos.com/showpost.php...&postcount=284
goldenarpharazon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2017, 03:31 PM   #334
DrownedInTrance
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by goldenarpharazon View Post
Hello DrownedInTrance - the Peavey StudioMix files are still available linked from this post

http://forum.cockos.com/showpost.php...&postcount=284
Ohh I guess I missed that post, thank you so much !!
DrownedInTrance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2017, 05:08 AM   #335
jico27
Human being with feelings
 
jico27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Paris / France
Posts: 372
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrownedInTrance View Post
Hey guys !

I just bought a StudioMix on Ebay for 61€ and I am still sceptic if it was a good idea to buy such an old piece of gear...
Thanks in advance !
You won't regret it!
jico27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2017, 11:39 AM   #336
DrownedInTrance
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jico27 View Post
You won't regret it!
Awesome ! Are you still using yours ?
DrownedInTrance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2017, 04:10 AM   #337
jico27
Human being with feelings
 
jico27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Paris / France
Posts: 372
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrownedInTrance View Post
Awesome ! Are you still using yours ?
I do! Everytime i use reaper.
jico27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.