Old 05-27-2017, 04:15 PM   #1
jimmygreenwood
Human being with feelings
 
jimmygreenwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New York City
Posts: 41
Default Latency with Reaper virtual keyboard

Hi,
If anyone can point me in the right direction, I would appreciate it.
I was having latency issues with a USB keyboard.

To troubleshoot it I have simplified the signal path. I have turned off the interface, unplugged the keyboard, and quit the monitoring software.

I'm just using the Reaper virtual keyboard and the DSLMusic Device.

And I'm still getting a massive amount of latency.

Block size requested is set at 512.

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks!
__________________
Jimmy
http://www.averagebarband.com/
jimmygreenwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2017, 06:58 PM   #2
rangerx
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Montreal
Posts: 79
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmygreenwood View Post
Hi,
If anyone can point me in the right direction, I would appreciate it.
I was having latency issues with a USB keyboard.

To troubleshoot it I have simplified the signal path. I have turned off the interface, unplugged the keyboard, and quit the monitoring software.

I'm just using the Reaper virtual keyboard and the DSLMusic Device.

And I'm still getting a massive amount of latency.

Block size requested is set at 512.

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks!
whats your audio interface
rangerx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2017, 07:55 PM   #3
jimmygreenwood
Human being with feelings
 
jimmygreenwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New York City
Posts: 41
Default

Presonus Studio 192. But, it's turned off! I'm getting the latency using all the internal default Mac audio inputs and outputs. Nothing is going thru the interface.
__________________
Jimmy
http://www.averagebarband.com/
jimmygreenwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2017, 03:24 AM   #4
rangerx
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Montreal
Posts: 79
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmygreenwood View Post
Presonus Studio 192. But, it's turned off! I'm getting the latency using all the internal default Mac audio inputs and outputs. Nothing is going thru the interface.
use the interface internal is for playiing mp3 , web that kind of thing
rangerx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2017, 04:26 AM   #5
jimmygreenwood
Human being with feelings
 
jimmygreenwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New York City
Posts: 41
Default

There was a lot of latency with the interface on. I turned it off to see if it was the problem. But there is still latency.
__________________
Jimmy
http://www.averagebarband.com/
jimmygreenwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2017, 09:28 AM   #6
rangerx
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Montreal
Posts: 79
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmygreenwood View Post
There was a lot of latency with the interface on. I turned it off to see if it was the problem. But there is still latency.
where are you feeding your audio from
in the midi/audio make sure your interface is the output

the way i read it your're using computer audio

Last edited by rangerx; 05-28-2017 at 09:38 AM.
rangerx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2017, 10:12 AM   #7
jimmygreenwood
Human being with feelings
 
jimmygreenwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New York City
Posts: 41
Default

If I understand your question correctly, I configure the Presonus Studio 192 interface using Preferences>Audio>Device>Audio Device. And I double check it in Apple Menu>System Preferences>Sound.

But it does not make any difference if the output is routed thru the interface or not. I'm getting huge latency using the DLSMusic Device and the virtual keyboard either way, thru the interface, or with the interface disconnected.

If there is latency with the interface disconnected, it's not a D/A-A/D issue, which is where I believe most latency issues come from.

And it happens with or without using the Universal Control monitoring software that comes with the Presonus interface.

On my non-studio 2013 MacBook Pro laptop, I open a blank Reaper session, go to Insert>Virtual Instrument On New Track...>DLSMusicDevice, then View>Virtual MIDI Keyboard, and it works fine, no latency.

On my studio 2011 iMac, I do the same thing, but I get big latency. It doesn't matter if I am using the interface for output or not.
__________________
Jimmy
http://www.averagebarband.com/
jimmygreenwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2017, 03:53 PM   #8
rangerx
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Montreal
Posts: 79
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmygreenwood View Post
If I understand your question correctly, I configure the Presonus Studio 192 interface using Preferences>Audio>Device>Audio Device. And I double check it in Apple Menu>System Preferences>Sound.

But it does not make any difference if the output is routed thru the interface or not. I'm getting huge latency using the DLSMusic Device and the virtual keyboard either way, thru the interface, or with the interface disconnected.

If there is latency with the interface disconnected, it's not a D/A-A/D issue, which is where I believe most latency issues come from.

And it happens with or without using the Universal Control monitoring software that comes with the Presonus interface.

On my non-studio 2013 MacBook Pro laptop, I open a blank Reaper session, go to Insert>Virtual Instrument On New Track...>DLSMusicDevice, then View>Virtual MIDI Keyboard, and it works fine, no latency.

On my studio 2011 iMac, I do the same thing, but I get big latency. It doesn't matter if I am using the interface for output or not.
its not there go to utilities folder / audio midi setup/ show audio devices make your 192 the USE THIS DEVICE FOR SOUND there you can adjust

all we can do is try nothing is straight forward with computers what should work at times doesnt

Last edited by rangerx; 05-28-2017 at 04:03 PM.
rangerx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2017, 03:55 PM   #9
jimmygreenwood
Human being with feelings
 
jimmygreenwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New York City
Posts: 41
Default

I will do that, thanks.
__________________
Jimmy
http://www.averagebarband.com/
jimmygreenwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2017, 05:22 PM   #10
rangerx
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Montreal
Posts: 79
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmygreenwood View Post
I will do that, thanks.
lets me know we'll fix this one one way or another

your imac never worked is this right
i wondering Presonus Studio 192 is usb 3.0 imac 2.0 this should be ok BUT BUT

you can try a usb to firwire adapter i mac has firewire i believe

did you install latest driver for 192

Last edited by rangerx; 05-28-2017 at 05:37 PM.
rangerx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2017, 11:58 PM   #11
EamonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 1
Default

I have the same problem...Even with the interface turned off there is a ton of latency using the Reaper midi keyboard!
Anyone any ideas?
EamonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2017, 12:47 AM   #12
jimmygreenwood
Human being with feelings
 
jimmygreenwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New York City
Posts: 41
Default

Hi RangerX,
EamonE is my friend who actually has the computer I was working on. He's going to take over for me.
Thanks for your help so far!
__________________
Jimmy
http://www.averagebarband.com/

Last edited by jimmygreenwood; 05-29-2017 at 12:48 AM. Reason: spelling
jimmygreenwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.