Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > newbieland

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-01-2017, 11:04 AM   #1
sjs94704
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Berkeley, CA USA
Posts: 56
Default Question about putting effects of a part of a track

I am a singer and at the moment I am working on recording the song "Wind Beneath My Wings" by Bette Midler.

If you are familiar with the song there is the one part that goes "Fly, Fly so high against the sky". What I want to do there is just that phrase I want to put a little bit of an echo to it. Do I have to do that on a separate track or is there a way to apply a sound effect on just a small portion of a track?
sjs94704 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2017, 11:13 AM   #2
lowerbout
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 239
Default

http://www.reaper.fm/userguide.php
http://www.reaper.fm/videos.php
lowerbout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2017, 11:27 AM   #3
Fran Guidry
Human being with feelings
 
Fran Guidry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Walnut Creek, CA
Posts: 742
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sjs94704 View Post
I am a singer and at the moment I am working on recording the song "Wind Beneath My Wings" by Bette Midler.

If you are familiar with the song there is the one part that goes "Fly, Fly so high against the sky". What I want to do there is just that phrase I want to put a little bit of an echo to it. Do I have to do that on a separate track or is there a way to apply a sound effect on just a small portion of a track?
It's possible to enable track automation for the echo plugin and control it that way, but I think it's a bit simpler to duplicate the track, trim it to just the section in question, and apply the effect to that section.

Fran
Fran Guidry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2017, 12:09 PM   #4
zeekat
Human being with feelings
 
zeekat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Polandia
Posts: 1,660
Default

Or just use a take/item FX on the same track after splitting the bit you need processed.
__________________
Double tracking means fat fingering the same flubs twice
soundclouds|youtubes
zeekat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2017, 02:09 PM   #5
sjs94704
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Berkeley, CA USA
Posts: 56
Default Thanks for your advice.

Hey Lowebout!

Whenever you respond, all you do is refer people to the user guide. If that is all your going to do then you are wasting your time responding! I do appreciate the other people who at least have something to offer.

I decided to do a Google search and found this:

https://www.homebrewaudio.com/adding...ack-in-reaper/
sjs94704 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2017, 03:32 PM   #6
haervo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 481
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sjs94704 View Post
Hey Lowebout!

Whenever you respond, all you do is refer people to the user guide. If that is all your going to do then you are wasting your time responding! I do appreciate the other people who at least have something to offer.

I decided to do a Google search and found this:

https://www.homebrewaudio.com/adding...ack-in-reaper/
You are too lazy to read and use the user guide, demand answers to your questions from other people - that have surely better things to do than put their time and effort in answering your questions you could easily answer yourself - and then go rather search and read on Google what you could have had in the first place by reading the user guide??

Are you serious? I find that not that bright... And your tone is inadequate. To say the least.
__________________
"Dear Americans... I told you so. Sincerely, your Aldous Huxley"
haervo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2017, 07:19 AM   #7
lachrimae
Human being with feelings
 
lachrimae's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 728
Default

It's not like OP asked how to create a new track.
What exactly is the threshold for a question so that the response isn't: "http://www.reaper.fm/userguide.php"?

In the very least you should point to a specific page... (or just don't respond)
lachrimae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2017, 03:44 AM   #8
g8torcliff
Human being with feelings
 
g8torcliff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,476
Default

The simplest way for me is to split (ctrl-s) the front and back portions of the part of the track on which you want the effect. Open the FX window and grab the one you want and drag it to the split portion of the track.


cliff
g8torcliff is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.