Old 05-26-2017, 06:28 PM   #1
Jasipi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 90
Default Hear Reaper track effects on dry line input?

Not even sure how to phrase the title..

I record a POD HD using lines into the front of a Focusrite 2i4. I don't want to use the POD USB (for input availability and latency reasons), and i don't want to record with effects that cannot be changed.

Is there any way to play my guitar using a dry POD amp into the 2i4 and somehow hear how the effects on the reaper track will be affecting the signal while i play?
Jasipi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2017, 07:00 PM   #2
serr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 6,003
Default

Use two tracks. One with no plugins and recording the input (the default). One with your amp sim. Only monitor the amp sim when playing (ie. mute the dry track).

The amp sim track can be set to record the output (post fx) if you wish. If you have your hands on the controls and work things while you play, do this. Otherwise you can simply run the dry track through the fx to recreate the sim. Up to you how to handle that.
__________________
Mac Pro 8x3.33GHz i7, 16GB, 256GB SSD(OS, apps), 3x2TB 7200 HD(data); MacBook Pro 2.8GHz, 6GB, 128GB SSD HD(OS, apps), 750GB 7200 HD(data); 2xTrue Precision 8; Apogee AD-16; 2xMOTU 828mk3, Evolution UC-33e; Faderport; WiRanger, iPad & the analog mixer has retired
serr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2017, 09:29 PM   #3
Jasipi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 90
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by serr View Post
One with your amp sim. Only monitor the amp sim when playing (ie. mute the dry track).

Not sure what you mean by this?
Jasipi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2017, 02:47 AM   #4
Jasipi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 90
Default

Anyone?

I don't want to use the effects on the POD, which is fine except that i have to record the POD amp dry and then can only hear the effects on the Reaper track during playback, which kind of sucks.
Jasipi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2017, 04:41 AM   #5
slipstick
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: UK, near Europe
Posts: 548
Default

Not sure what the problem is. Make two tracks, run the clean signal to one which you record. Create a send to the other track which has the FX on and that's the one you monitor.

Steve
slipstick is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2017, 08:18 AM   #6
serr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 6,003
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasipi View Post
Not sure what you mean by this?
You want to listen to the amp sim when you play right? Not the dry guitar signal? So... mute the dry guitar track. The track being set to 'record input' means you still get the recording as intended. (pre fader, thus pre mute)
__________________
Mac Pro 8x3.33GHz i7, 16GB, 256GB SSD(OS, apps), 3x2TB 7200 HD(data); MacBook Pro 2.8GHz, 6GB, 128GB SSD HD(OS, apps), 750GB 7200 HD(data); 2xTrue Precision 8; Apogee AD-16; 2xMOTU 828mk3, Evolution UC-33e; Faderport; WiRanger, iPad & the analog mixer has retired
serr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2017, 08:19 AM   #7
Jasipi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 90
Default

Ohh, i see. Monitor..

Well that definitely works in a way. Seems like i'm getting some kind of signal buildup though and it sounds like a chorus effect. When i try to do something extreme like use a bit crusher or something it sounds like it's putting a wet signal over a dry signal.

I'm not sure how this works? Basically i just want reverbs and delays to be on the Reaper track and have it all sound like a normal guitar amp type deal, with the POD providing the dry amp tone.
Jasipi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2017, 09:43 AM   #8
serr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 6,003
Default

I think you're not realizing the bit where you can assign the same hardware input to multiple tracks in Reaper. That's what I'm telling you to do.

Assign your guitar input to two tracks.
Dial one up with the sim and whatever other fx you want to play through.
Set up the 2nd track dry and record the input. Mute it because you don't want to listen to this while you play. This is to record the dry guitar for you to reprocess after the fact like you asked.

You can record both tracks of course.
What you choose to listen to while recording (ie not mute) is up to you.

You can set Reaper to record the input to a track (before any fx as well as before the mute). That means anything you do with fx or volume or mute doesn't affect the recording of the input. This is the default setting.

You can set it to record the output from a track. This gets you a recording post any fx and post channel volume/mute. Do this to record the output from the sim track if you wish to keep that too. Understand that the volume and mute affect the recording in post fader.
__________________
Mac Pro 8x3.33GHz i7, 16GB, 256GB SSD(OS, apps), 3x2TB 7200 HD(data); MacBook Pro 2.8GHz, 6GB, 128GB SSD HD(OS, apps), 750GB 7200 HD(data); 2xTrue Precision 8; Apogee AD-16; 2xMOTU 828mk3, Evolution UC-33e; Faderport; WiRanger, iPad & the analog mixer has retired
serr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2017, 01:57 AM   #9
Jasipi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 90
Default

Still can't figure out what you're talking about. To be clear the "amp sim" isn't an effect on the Reaper track like POD Farm or anything but It is actual recorded audio using the line out from the POD HD.

The only way i can figure out how to hear the effects on the Reaper track affecting the POD HD signal is to be monitoring and recording on the same track, but if at any time i use the monitor button i get a phase effect.

Last edited by Jasipi; 06-15-2017 at 07:38 AM.
Jasipi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.