Old 06-18-2017, 03:20 AM   #1
Nip
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,306
Default Best way to do nested VCA groups?

Still trialing and out of interest look at what headroom there is regarding VCAs.

Samp has a cheapo version not nestable. But Cubase and ProTools can be nested as needed.

I tried one VCAgroup as Both for VCA.
And tried another VCAgroup as Master for above group - but this does not work it seems.

Or should this work?

But doing second group control volume on first VCAgroup - that seem to work.

Otherwise I am immensely impressed by R5.
And abilities to freeze/apply VCA into controlled tracks automation is really nice. Almost cover what Cubase and PT do - well, it covers but does not give the same visibility and control by that.

Things that could be better:
a) trim volume automation also recordable - and full parameter.
Now you can only do manual automation envelopes as I read in manual.
b) VCA and Trim automation overall - would be nice if it made a second relative movement curve above the others that are controlled(including finalized level too). Cubase and ProTools do that - then you can freeze that into final automation. I like the visualized control you have by that. A ghost automation curve kind of beside the regular.

But workaround is to make a temporary VCAgroup to control a group and you see that separately. Really nice in itself and then apply to final automation.

VCAs are really invisible since no faders or anything move - you can just see levels change on meters.

So it becomes a lot of playing through that you don't max out and get overs.

But maybe there are silly performance issues with what I look for. Reaper really is the daw that is lighter on system than any other.

And flexibility is there in Reaper too so I probably missed something.
__________________
----- Windows 7 Pro x64, i7-860 2.8GHz 16G, RME HDSP 9632+Ai4S, Reaper 4.7 x64 -----

Last edited by Nip; 06-18-2017 at 03:30 AM.
Nip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2017, 01:38 PM   #2
planetnine
Human being with feelings
 
planetnine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln, UK
Posts: 7,512
Default

VCAs don't move and nest on consoles, generally.

For "nesting" just assign slave tracks to the group's master track and also the master's master if that makes sense to you. i.e. snare top is in "snare" group, "drums" group and in "band" group -this gives you the tree hierarchy of group-inna-group for tracks, but allows you to opt-out of the tree structure if you want to.

Be good to have some ghost fader indication in REAPER, but we manage without it on live consoles,


>
planetnine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2017, 03:01 PM   #3
Nip
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,306
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by planetnine View Post
VCAs don't move and nest on consoles, generally.

For "nesting" just assign slave tracks to the group's master track and also the master's master if that makes sense to you. i.e. snare top is in "snare" group, "drums" group and in "band" group -this gives you the tree hierarchy of group-inna-group for tracks, but allows you to opt-out of the tree structure if you want to.

Be good to have some ghost fader indication in REAPER, but we manage without it on live consoles,


>
Thanks.

I think I got it now.

Like manual overlapping example - one level normal grouping plus one vca on any tracks control - no more?

Just curious to know the tool as such how it works.

It's easier in your head to do hierarchy as it grows in size - but they did not have nested folders in those days(neither the daws that do nested VCAs).

You come a long way with selfcontained folder tracks.
__________________
----- Windows 7 Pro x64, i7-860 2.8GHz 16G, RME HDSP 9632+Ai4S, Reaper 4.7 x64 -----
Nip is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.