Old 06-18-2017, 04:56 PM   #1
Xorcist
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 5
Default Stuck MIDI notes

So as much as I could single out a VST, the rash of stuck notes on various VSTs leads me to believe there is a major issue with Reaper. Anyone got a fix? Is there an option in the preferences to just send a global "MIDI NOTE OFF/PANIC OFF"?
Xorcist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2017, 05:02 PM   #2
cfillion
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 1,147
Default

Action: Send all notes off to all MIDI outputs/plug-ins. It's bound to F3 by default.
cfillion is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2017, 06:04 PM   #3
Gerry P
Human being with feelings
 
Gerry P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,320
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xorcist View Post
... there is a major issue with Reaper..
http://www.reaper.fm/userguide.php
__________________
The future ain't what it used to be. Yogi Berra
Gerry P is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2017, 11:33 PM   #4
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 15,225
Default

Chicken Little: "The sky is falling!!!"

Also that is the politest RTFM I have seen in a long while.

P.S. OP: Welcome to the forums and dont mind us - I am a grumpy old fart of 73 and the others are just downright helpful, but not necessarily in the way you expected.
Maybe consider declaring a Major Issue in Reaper AFTER you are sure the problem isn`t between the seat and the screen next time?
__________________
Today is the anniversary of the death of the famous Irish inventor, Professor Patrick Pending. Not a lot of people know that....
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2017, 04:30 AM   #5
Gerry P
Human being with feelings
 
Gerry P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,320
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ivansc View Post
Also that is the politest RTFM I have seen in a long while.
After all, I am Canadian, Eh!
__________________
The future ain't what it used to be. Yogi Berra
Gerry P is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2017, 05:27 PM   #6
Ulf3000
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 235
Default

install 5.28 ,
since v5 i had the stuck notes ,
5.3 has it again
5.28 doesn´t so i havent upgraded since then
Ulf3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2017, 04:45 AM   #7
Fergler
Human being with feelings
 
Fergler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3,326
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ulf3000 View Post
install 5.28 ,
since v5 i had the stuck notes ,
5.3 has it again
5.28 doesn´t so i havent upgraded since then
I've had stuck notes since v4
__________________
Check out my hip-hop, funk-rock band Theatre Crisp
Fergler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2017, 09:42 AM   #8
Outboarder
Human being with feelings
 
Outboarder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 555
Default

I've had stuck notes in all major DAWs since 1996.
__________________
Hope Sacred Passion Life Night Ache Soft Light
Outboarder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2017, 01:12 PM   #9
Ulf3000
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 235
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fergler View Post
I've had stuck notes since v4
maybe you´re right , i used reaper only since 4.7 or 4.8 .. but 5.28 seems to not have the problem it seems , maybe the devs take note
Ulf3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2017, 02:01 PM   #10
Dr Bob
Human being with feelings
 
Dr Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 675
Default

I think you'll need to let the devs have a midi file which works in one version and exhibits stuck notes in an other version.

The way a midi file is parsed may change over a version release - sometimes a midi note off command can get confused with the wrong note if the timing has gone awry at some point.

Always a good idea to check the event list view to see what's going on around the troublesome stuck note(s). Sometimes you can fix it by editing the data fields.

dB
Dr Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.