Old 01-23-2016, 04:29 PM   #1
fatharock
Human being with feelings
 
fatharock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Arizona
Posts: 72
Default How to convert Midi to Audio

I'm using the latest version of Reaper v 5.12/x64 and now I cannot easily convert a midi file to audio within the program, like I used to be able to do.

It was a snap. Just create a send to any different track, press the record button and whammo; a converted midi to audio file that can be manipulated any way I want without the struggle of program changes etc.

Now,sigh; this is not happening anymore. Is there some other way of doing this in the newest version of Reaper?

Lost,
fatharock
fatharock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2016, 05:15 PM   #2
serr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5,989
Default

It sounds like you mean to say that the instrument plugin you were using is no longer working with the newer version of REAPER. (Obviously there's no converting MIDI to audio... MIDI is used to trigger an instrument plugin that then produces audio.)

What plugin?
Does it work normally if you roll REAPER back to the previous version you were using?
__________________
Mac Pro 8x3.33GHz i7, 16GB, 256GB SSD(OS, apps), 3x2TB 7200 HD(data); MacBook Pro 2.8GHz, 6GB, 128GB SSD HD(OS, apps), 750GB 7200 HD(data); 2xTrue Precision 8; Apogee AD-16; 2xMOTU 828mk3, Evolution UC-33e; Faderport; WiRanger, iPad & the analog mixer has retired
serr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2016, 06:44 PM   #3
J Reverb
Human being with feelings
 
J Reverb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 445
Default

If your using vst you can use an action.
SWS/AW Render tracks to mono/stereo stem tracks obeying time selection.
__________________
I've been imitated so well I've heard people copy my mistakes. - Jimi Hendrix
J Reverb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2016, 01:59 AM   #4
RobertP
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Norfolk UK
Posts: 582
Default

Hello
you are recording the OUTPUT on the track you want the audio?
__________________
Windows 7 Pro. Intel i7 3400ghz. 16GB Ram. Focusrite Scarlett 8i6.
Up to date Reaper 64.
RobertP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2016, 04:15 PM   #5
fatharock
Human being with feelings
 
fatharock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Arizona
Posts: 72
Default

yeah, I want to output the midi track to an audio track creating a wave file.

thanks for your help !
fatharock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2016, 04:33 PM   #6
fatharock
Human being with feelings
 
fatharock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Arizona
Posts: 72
Default

Hey !!

Just tried the sws/aw suggestion. Fantastic tip brother thanks!!!

kudos to all
fatharock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2016, 02:58 AM   #7
RobertP
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Norfolk UK
Posts: 582
Default

You said - "Just create a send to any different track, press the record button"

It was always more than this I think and its recording the midi that is being played not converting - semantics

This is what I do:
Create the send from midi track to audio track by dragging the i/o button on midi track to i/o button on audio track.
Close the little pop up box showing the send.
Right click in the little input box (for audio it will say Mic 1 or Analog IN A or B) choose 'Record output -> Mono / stereo latency compensated'.
Arm audio track and record.

Sorry I was not as explicit in my first post.
I do use SWs but not for this.
__________________
Windows 7 Pro. Intel i7 3400ghz. 16GB Ram. Focusrite Scarlett 8i6.
Up to date Reaper 64.
RobertP is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.