Old 03-27-2017, 02:25 PM   #41
Pet
Human being with feelings
 
Pet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 787
Default

Hey blumpy,
happy you like it!

I'm actually working on it and am adjusting the MIDI Note colors. I do have these "Separators" prepared and am also working on some track layouts with horizontal meters as well as folder indention in the mixer.

The Colormap is coming soon.
But I'm not sure yet, if I should add the additional layouts to this theme or make a new version called "extended" or so.

My basic idea was to stay as close as possible to the original default theme, with REAPER newcomers in mind. But OTOH, two separators and 2 or 3 more tcp-layouts probably won't overcharge somebody...

Stay tuned!
__________________
If the v5 Default Theme is too bright for you take a gander at my mod of it: Default v5 Dark Theme
Pet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2017, 10:34 AM   #42
blumpy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 36
Default Great!

That's great. Thank you for making that. I can see why you'd it an extended version. Please let me know when you post it!

Cheers!
blumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2017, 01:20 PM   #43
DomiKamu
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 4
Default

Cool theme, I'll test it! thank you very much!

EDIT: now I'm using it, it's better for my old eyes.

Last edited by DomiKamu; 04-06-2017 at 11:40 PM.
DomiKamu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2017, 04:27 PM   #44
edkilp
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 1,103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blumpy View Post
My favorite theme on REAPER. Thank you!

I'd love to see a track and mixer panel that's just blank.... no controls or meters. Something to separate sections in the arrangement window and mixer.
Me too. I just tried this for the first time, and noticed right away there are no separators. The blank one is as close as you get, and it has the white space for the channel name. Almost but not quite. Any way to get rid of the track name and just have it completely empty and blank?
edkilp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2017, 03:58 AM   #45
Pet
Human being with feelings
 
Pet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 787
Default

OK, you all convinced me to add the separators...

I wanted to upload the colormap today, but I'll combine the upload with the separators, there are some tiny fixes to do, stay tuned!

Thanks!

@edkilp: meanwhile delete the name and set the color of the track to 51/51/51
__________________
If the v5 Default Theme is too bright for you take a gander at my mod of it: Default v5 Dark Theme
Pet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2017, 08:41 AM   #46
Pet
Human being with feelings
 
Pet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 787
Default Update with Colormap and separators

Hello all,
here is an Update with a reworked colormap for the MIDI-Editor, some changes in the track list of the ME and also the requested separators for the arrange view and the mixer.

I wanted to modify the colormap cause I like the gradient I've made for the unselected notes and thought I could do something more like that. It took me quite a while to rebuild the default colormap and to find out how the colors and gradients are chosen before I could start tinkering around with it. And my final conclusion was that it is perfect AS IT IS. Finally it ended up with minor tweaks at the frames of the notes and the saturation of one single note... ...and the unselected notes are a little brighter. You probably will not notice that at all.
But at least my Photoshop and Illustrator skills are a bit better now.

I also fixed some ugly things I overlooked like the 3D-Highlighting in the IO-Routing windows.

The separators can have names, I used a bold font which you can change in the theme editor (it's Font 8).
__________________
If the v5 Default Theme is too bright for you take a gander at my mod of it: Default v5 Dark Theme
Pet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2017, 09:29 AM   #47
blumpy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 36
Default Awesome!

This is great. Thank you!
blumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2017, 05:22 AM   #48
Pet
Human being with feelings
 
Pet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 787
Default Update

Hello,
I decided to make two versions, that gives me the option to keep the "Default5Dark" as it is and add more layouts to the "Extended" version. So you can choose which one you want to use.
As mentioned already, I can't stop thinking of new Reaper users just wanting a darker theme, but with the same layout.

So the new "Default 5 Dark Extended" Theme has the separators and will have more layouts in the future. I'm working on some tcp-layouts and folder indention in the mixer.

For the track layouts, here's a little teaser :

__________________
If the v5 Default Theme is too bright for you take a gander at my mod of it: Default v5 Dark Theme

Last edited by Pet; 04-14-2017 at 05:41 AM.
Pet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2017, 09:08 AM   #49
sostenuto
Human being with feelings
 
sostenuto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2,264
Default

Was quite hesitant at first as narrow minded and committed to WT or early Default v5 Themes. Seems you have done a great job and had already started using Default v5 Dark.

Thank-you for impressive work and this new 'Extended' Theme !
sostenuto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2017, 09:37 AM   #50
ReaperMadness
Human being with feelings
 
ReaperMadness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Great Lakes, N. A.
Posts: 1,560
Default

This Niiice...
__________________
Latest Work:

= Pianouveau Sketchbook 2017.1 =
ReaperMadness is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2017, 04:10 PM   #51
Pet
Human being with feelings
 
Pet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 787
Default

Thanks guys, I'm pleased!
@Reapermadness, no toolbar glitches anymore?
__________________
If the v5 Default Theme is too bright for you take a gander at my mod of it: Default v5 Dark Theme
Pet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2017, 06:14 PM   #52
ReaperMadness
Human being with feelings
 
ReaperMadness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Great Lakes, N. A.
Posts: 1,560
Default

Yes...




But I don't care!
__________________
Latest Work:

= Pianouveau Sketchbook 2017.1 =

Last edited by ReaperMadness; 04-14-2017 at 06:21 PM.
ReaperMadness is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2017, 12:32 PM   #53
TDI90
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 28
Default

I am really digging this theme; thanks for all the work in developing it.

A quick question, is it possible to have the backgrounds of inserts and sends on the mixer panel to share a darker tint of the track colour?
TDI90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2017, 03:33 PM   #54
Pet
Human being with feelings
 
Pet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 787
Default

Hi TDI90,
you can do this by modifying the transparency of the grey area in the "mcp_extmixbg.png". But keep the pink lines untouched.

There are some other images you can change for this, like "mcp_fxparm_norm.png", "mcp_fxlist_norm.png" or "mcp_sendlist_norm.png".
For a complete list of the images have a look here: http://www.reaper.fm/sdk/walter/images.php, if you haven't already.

If you need some help to find the images within REAPER, I posted a workaround how to show them in this thread: Change Reaper's Gray Background Color?. That works for the used colors as well as for the images.

HTH
__________________
If the v5 Default Theme is too bright for you take a gander at my mod of it: Default v5 Dark Theme
Pet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2017, 05:14 PM   #55
TDI90
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 28
Default

Fantastic, thanks for that information.

I shall have a gander at what you pointed out.

TDI90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2017, 06:22 PM   #56
TDI90
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 28
Default

I am doing something wrong, it seems.

I am no great Photoshopper, but I did what you said to do using two methods;

1) Create a layer from the grey boxes and then change the opacity of that
2) Select the grey boxes and use the Fill function to change it that way.

On both occasions, when I replaced the file, zipped it, renamed it and put it into REAPER; REAPER just defaulted to its most basic theme. So I must be doing something wrong.

I have attached my file.
Attached Images
File Type: png mcp_fxlist_norm.png (195 Bytes, 36 views)
TDI90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2017, 05:46 AM   #57
Pet
Human being with feelings
 
Pet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 787
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TDI90 View Post
...REAPER just defaulted to its most basic theme...
Heh heh, I know that trap very well ! This happens when REAPER doesn't find the folder with the images. To check that, open the "*.ReaperTheme" (NOT the *.ReaperThemeZip) in a text editor.
  • Scroll down to the bottom and look for these two lines:
    => ui_img=Default_5_Dark_EXTENDED
    this may differ from yours, BUT this tells REAPER the name of the folder with the images
    => ui_img_path=D:\_Programme\MusikProgs\Reaper 5.0 Pre Daten\ColorThemes\- extended
    THIS tells REAPER, where that folder is on your HD (I just copied it from my system as example)
Cause I don't know how and where you unpacked the theme, I can't be more detailed, but I'm sure you understand. For general informations about this, go to this thread: 2. Common tweaks to a REAPER theme to the "Required knowledge : Unpacking a theme" part.
--------------------------------------------------------
The Photoshop-Thingy
I downloaded your attachement and s.th. is indeed wrong with it, I can see the pink lines in the theme.
  • Personally I do it this way:
    => The very first thing I do in PS is to select the pink lines and cut them out to a new layer. They MUST BE RGB 255/0/255 and ZERO transparency. Move this layer above all other layers.
    => Now you can do with the layers below whatever you want without accidently changing the pink lines.
PS: You have changed the "mcp_extmixbg.png" already, haven't you? Otherwise you won't see the opacity changes in the "mcp_fxlist_norm.png", cause it's almost the same color...
__________________
If the v5 Default Theme is too bright for you take a gander at my mod of it: Default v5 Dark Theme
Pet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2017, 07:13 PM   #58
TDI90
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 28
Default

Thanks for the help; I got there in the end!

The next thing I do may be to make the boxes for the inserts and sends a tad darker.
Main objective achieved though!

https://image.ibb.co/dFBesk/Capture.png

Thanks
TDI90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2017, 03:26 AM   #59
Pet
Human being with feelings
 
Pet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 787
Default

Well done, go ahead!
Thanks for the capture! Just ask again, if necessary.
__________________
If the v5 Default Theme is too bright for you take a gander at my mod of it: Default v5 Dark Theme
Pet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2017, 04:33 PM   #60
Juca
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Itajaí - Santa Catarina - Brasil
Posts: 397
Default

Nice work in this theme!
Congrats!!!
Juca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2017, 10:37 AM   #61
Gass n Klang
Human being with feelings
 
Gass n Klang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Cologne - Germany
Posts: 296
Default

nice theme! Standard from now on.
Gass n Klang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2017, 11:29 AM   #62
blumpy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 36
Default Dark Expanded suggestion......

I'm not sure if this is possible but a mixer that puts the track name at the bottom of the channel and the track number above the pan....Effectively swapping the two. As ridiculous as it sounds I can never find the track names where they are and I never reference by track number.

Does anyone else have this person malfunction?
Attached Images
File Type: png Screen Shot 2017-06-25 at 11.26.58 AM.png (14.0 KB, 17 views)
blumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2017, 02:56 PM   #63
madahorn
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blumpy View Post
I'm not sure if this is possible but a mixer that puts the track name at the bottom of the channel and the track number above the pan....Effectively swapping the two. As ridiculous as it sounds I can never find the track names where they are and I never reference by track number.

Does anyone else have this person malfunction?

Oh yes, I need the Track Name in the middle of my screen if possible, not bottom.
madahorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.