Old 05-21-2017, 02:37 AM   #1
osflaa
Human being with feelings
 
osflaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 369
Default Don't want to see docker at startup

When I launch Reaper, the docker is open even if it was closed when I closed Reaper. Is it possible to change this? I use screensets and ideally one of them should open at startup, however this is not a must as long as the docker is closed.
osflaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2017, 06:53 AM   #2
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 12,243
Default

you can try this

set up reaper as you want it
then go to the project settings, make sure those are as you want them, then while still in that window save it as the default project...
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2017, 01:09 PM   #3
osflaa
Human being with feelings
 
osflaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 369
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hopi View Post
you can try this

set up reaper as you want it
then go to the project settings, make sure those are as you want them, then while still in that window save it as the default project...
Thank you for your reply! I tried this but although Reaper opens the project I specified it still opens the dock window. This is of course not a big problem, just a little bit annoying.
osflaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2017, 02:03 PM   #4
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 87
Default

By default Reaper remembers many of the window/view settings when closed and restores them when you launch Reaper the next time.

FWIW, I have Reaper to start new project on launch. I always close the floating Mixer and bottom docker before exiting Reaper, and they are never shown when I launch Reaper. There may an automated way of selecting which screenset to use at start up or something, Reaper has many options!

Last edited by Edgemeal; 05-21-2017 at 02:10 PM.
Edgemeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2017, 12:52 AM   #5
osflaa
Human being with feelings
 
osflaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 369
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgemeal View Post
By default Reaper remembers many of the window/view settings when closed and restores them when you launch Reaper the next time.
Thank you for your reply!

I found a solution on this. I always close Reaper when a specific screenset i active. This screenset only shows me the arrange window and not the docker. However I found in the view-meny that docker was ticket even if all windows that can be shown inside the docker was unticket. When I saved the screenset with docker unticked in the view-meny, Reaper opens with the docker closed. So now everything is fine.

(However I find it strange that Reaper opened the docker with the media explorer inside even if media explorer was unticket in the view-meny when I closed Reaper.)
osflaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2017, 08:44 AM   #6
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 15,244
Default

You told reaper to show it by leaving the box ticked. Computers are useless! The do what you tell them to, not what you WANT them to.
__________________
Today is the anniversary of the death of the famous Irish inventor, Professor Patrick Pending. Not a lot of people know that....
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2017, 09:37 AM   #7
osflaa
Human being with feelings
 
osflaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 369
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ivansc View Post
You told reaper to show it by leaving the box ticked.
Well, not exactly :-)

I had a screenset active where only the arrange view was visible and not the docker. Then I closed and opened Reaper and the media explorer was opened inside the docker.

I found that when the screenset was active the docker was ticked in the view menu, but nothing that could open in the docker (mixer, media explorer etc). Hence the docker was not visible. But when I closed and opened Reaper, it showed the media explorer inside the docker. It must have been something strange with the screenset because now I am not able to tick the docker in the view menu without ticking what should be showed inside the docker at the same time. The solution was to make a new screenset that looked identical but where the docker was not ticked in the view menu. I don't know if you understand what I mean but this behaviour don't make sense to me (at this point at least).
osflaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2017, 03:56 AM   #8
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 15,244
Default

If nothing else you are entertaining me stuck in hospital on a Lovely sunny day. . Hope to go home tomorrow will try to reproduce yr issue
__________________
Today is the anniversary of the death of the famous Irish inventor, Professor Patrick Pending. Not a lot of people know that....
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2017, 04:49 AM   #9
osflaa
Human being with feelings
 
osflaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 369
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ivansc View Post
If nothing else you are entertaining me stuck in hospital on a Lovely sunny day. . Hope to go home tomorrow will try to reproduce yr issue
Thank you for being helpful and kind. You are really a good contributor to make people feel welcome in newbieland. I don't know why you have such great need to ridicule other people, but if you don't feel done you still have a chance to ridicule my bad english.
osflaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.