Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-22-2017, 03:41 AM   #1
made
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 14
Default Glue doesn't work on more than 2 channel poly wav

Glue Items doesn't work on poly wavs containing more than 2 channels.
Reaper reports:
"Error creating output media"
Since Reaper is a great tool for working with multichannel audio, the "glue items" action should also work for multichannel items.

or should that be posted in Feature Requests?
made is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2017, 04:02 AM   #2
heda
Human being with feelings
 
heda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 4,030
Default

What is a poly wav?

glue works perfectly for me with multichannel wavs. what is your project settings for Media glue format?
__________________
HeDaScripts for REAPER | VIP Donations
heda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2017, 06:08 AM   #3
made
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 14
Default

Poly .wav is a term used by Sounddevices for an embedded multichannel wave file.
Interleaved is another term...
So glue works for you with interleaved wave files that have more than two channels?
I tried the default Automatic.wav (recommended) as glue settings.
made is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2017, 02:44 PM   #4
made
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 14
Default

HeDa,
can you confirm you can glue multichannel interleaved wavs with more than 2 channels on your system?
Maybe I'm doing something wrong...

Thanks!
Attached Images
File Type: png error.png (33.9 KB, 20 views)
made is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2017, 09:30 AM   #5
heda
Human being with feelings
 
heda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 4,030
Default

Yes I don't have problems gluing multichannel wav files. I don't know what multichannel interleaved wavs are you using. Could you provide a small example file you are trying to glue?
__________________
HeDaScripts for REAPER | VIP Donations
heda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2017, 11:13 AM   #6
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 15,225
Default

Are you prepping the files with Wave Agent before trying to work on them in Reaper?
__________________
Today is the anniversary of the death of the famous Irish inventor, Professor Patrick Pending. Not a lot of people know that....
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2017, 11:53 AM   #7
made
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 14
Default

I've tried interleaved 4 channel files coming directly from Sounddevices 744 recorder, Interleaved 10 channels from Boom Recorder and I attached a sample created with Twisted Wave editor.
I also rendered a 4 channel mix as interleaved wav with Reaper and tried to glue it. No luck...
I think I might be doing something wrong...
Attached Files
File Type: zip Untitled.wav.zip (542.1 KB, 11 views)
made is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2017, 12:04 PM   #8
ReaDave
Human being with feelings
 
ReaDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Adelaide, South Australia (originally from Geelong)
Posts: 4,668
Default

I have a Sound Devices 744T here as well and can't recall having issues gluing multichannel wav files from it in REAPER. I'll do some tests over the next day or so and get back to you.

Fantastic recorder too. Great for Ambisonic recording. Very clean and transparent mic preamps, rock solid timecode, great metering, reliable and built like a tank.
ReaDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2017, 07:26 AM   #9
made
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 14
Default

Hi again,

did anyone find the time to glue my test interleaved 4 channel wav file?
It's quite an issue for me... I need to find a workaround or troubleshoot my system, if it's working on other systems...

Thanks!
made is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2017, 12:30 PM   #10
heda
Human being with feelings
 
heda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 4,030
Default

No problem gluing your file. I don't know what can be wrong in your settings. Try a new portable installation.
__________________
HeDaScripts for REAPER | VIP Donations
heda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2017, 01:31 PM   #11
made
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 14
Default

Thank you so much...
Are you on Mac or Windows?
I'm on MacOS 10.10.5
made is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.