Old 05-30-2017, 08:34 AM   #41
DANIELE
Human being with feelings
 
DANIELE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Florence, Italy
Posts: 104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
I would estimate that the articulation mapping feature is 60% complete at the infrastructure level and 0% complete at the UI level. The work that was done is on hold until we have the development resources to complete it. It will likely be a v6 feature.

Please, do not abandon it.

It's a must have feature that can speed up the workflow a lot!

I'm sad to hear that I will not be able to see it as soon as I had hoped but please keep it up on it!

As an orchestrator I desperately need this so much.
__________________
Audio: AKG-K240 MKII, Steinberg UR22; Piano: Yamaha P-250;
!!DANIELE EPIC ORCHESTRAL MUSIC!! |*| STAR WARS SERIES
DANIELE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2017, 08:35 AM   #42
DANIELE
Human being with feelings
 
DANIELE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Florence, Italy
Posts: 104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicbynumbers View Post
That's definitely better to hear than indefinite phew..

What about releasing it as a feature you can enable (via config text file) as it is so that people who don't mind no ui can still use it and test it?

That might help to save time with later development of it too since the infrastructure side can can get redefined more before the UI sits on top of that.
Yeah, I agree on this.
__________________
Audio: AKG-K240 MKII, Steinberg UR22; Piano: Yamaha P-250;
!!DANIELE EPIC ORCHESTRAL MUSIC!! |*| STAR WARS SERIES
DANIELE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2017, 08:38 AM   #43
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 18,556
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DANIELE View Post
Please, do not abandon it.
schwa did not say it is abandoned. But you will have to be patient.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2017, 09:20 AM   #44
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 10,307
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
I would estimate that the articulation mapping feature is 60% complete at the infrastructure level and 0% complete at the UI level. The work that was done is on hold until we have the development resources to complete it. It will likely be a v6 feature.
Oh oh, heh heh, does that mean V6 is right around the corner.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DANIELE View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by musicbynumbers View Post
That's definitely better to hear than indefinite phew..

What about releasing it as a feature you can enable (via config text file) as it is so that people who don't mind no ui can still use it and test it?

That might help to save time with later development of it too since the infrastructure side can can get redefined more before the UI sits on top of that.
Yeah, I agree on this.
Me too..
Tod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2017, 09:24 AM   #45
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 18,556
Default

Since we're at 5.5, I would say we have quite a bit more to go till v6... like at least a year I would say.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2017, 09:43 AM   #46
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 12,218
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
That sounds more encouraging than "indefinitely on hold"!


(Also, it kinda DOES make sense to make it a major version feature...)
Amen! hurry up and wait
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2017, 10:08 AM   #47
DANIELE
Human being with feelings
 
DANIELE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Florence, Italy
Posts: 104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
schwa did not say it is abandoned. But you will have to be patient.
I know but I want to be sure of it.

It will be a very great feature, as just suggested they can start with a very simple interface to test the core of it, then they can do something about the interface with the help (suggestions) of many talented people here.

I'll be patient (I hope).
__________________
Audio: AKG-K240 MKII, Steinberg UR22; Piano: Yamaha P-250;
!!DANIELE EPIC ORCHESTRAL MUSIC!! |*| STAR WARS SERIES
DANIELE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2017, 12:40 PM   #48
Vagalume
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 188
Default

A pity, this is my worst day in Reaper. Anyway you have been sincere, ty for answering plainly. Honesty is more important than features.

I will have to combine Reaper and Cubase just a little more ...
Vagalume is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2017, 01:13 PM   #49
reddiesel41264
Human being with feelings
 
reddiesel41264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North East UK
Posts: 364
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
I would estimate that the articulation mapping feature is 60% complete at the infrastructure level and 0% complete at the UI level. The work that was done is on hold until we have the development resources to complete it. It will likely be a v6 feature.
I have developed a set of lua and js scripts, and actions that will help until the articulation mapper is complete. These allow you to easily add dynamic markings that input CC data, including crescendos/diminuendos. They can add UACC data - which can also trigger key switches - for articulations and because it's CC data it is chased (I have no idea how people cope without articulation chasing but I come from a Sibelius background).

I'm currently testing the scripts and doing some more work on them but I expect to make them available later this week or early next week.

http://gph.is/2rhpbkO
__________________
David Healey
Purveyor of fine sample libraries (and Kontakt scripting tutorials) - http://xtant-audio.com/

Last edited by reddiesel41264; 05-30-2017 at 02:25 PM.
reddiesel41264 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2017, 04:19 PM   #50
krahosk
Human being with feelings
 
krahosk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,498
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
Since we're at 5.5, I would say we have quite a bit more to go till v6... like at least a year I would say.
From http://www.reaper.fm/whatsnew.txt

v5.0 - August 12 2015
v4.5 - August 29 2013


v4.0 - August 3 2011
v3.5 - May 1 2010

Average ETA: 1.6 year
krahosk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2017, 12:41 AM   #51
DANIELE
Human being with feelings
 
DANIELE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Florence, Italy
Posts: 104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reddiesel41264 View Post
I have developed a set of lua and js scripts, and actions that will help until the articulation mapper is complete. These allow you to easily add dynamic markings that input CC data, including crescendos/diminuendos. They can add UACC data - which can also trigger key switches - for articulations and because it's CC data it is chased (I have no idea how people cope without articulation chasing but I come from a Sibelius background).

I'm currently testing the scripts and doing some more work on them but I expect to make them available later this week or early next week.

http://gph.is/2rhpbkO
Is this the one I tested a few time ago?

Did you solve the random lag problems I had encountered?

Can it be used in both the midi editor and the notation editor?
__________________
Audio: AKG-K240 MKII, Steinberg UR22; Piano: Yamaha P-250;
!!DANIELE EPIC ORCHESTRAL MUSIC!! |*| STAR WARS SERIES
DANIELE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2017, 12:44 AM   #52
reddiesel41264
Human being with feelings
 
reddiesel41264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North East UK
Posts: 364
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DANIELE View Post
Is this the one I tested a few time ago?

Did you solve the random lag problems I had encountered?

Can it be used in both the midi editor and the notation editor?
Nope, only I've tested it. I only wrote it three days ago I have no lag issues. Yes it will work in both editors. I will make a detailed video explaining how it works. Once it's set up with actions it's very intuitive. I tried to make it as smooth as using Sibelius but with the extra flexibility Reaper allows. I'm currently tidying up the code and adding some more scripts - it uses a lot of little scripts but I'll package it into a set of actions to make it easier to use.
__________________
David Healey
Purveyor of fine sample libraries (and Kontakt scripting tutorials) - http://xtant-audio.com/
reddiesel41264 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2017, 02:21 AM   #53
DANIELE
Human being with feelings
 
DANIELE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Florence, Italy
Posts: 104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reddiesel41264 View Post
Nope, only I've tested it. I only wrote it three days ago I have no lag issues. Yes it will work in both editors. I will make a detailed video explaining how it works. Once it's set up with actions it's very intuitive. I tried to make it as smooth as using Sibelius but with the extra flexibility Reaper allows. I'm currently tidying up the code and adding some more scripts - it uses a lot of little scripts but I'll package it into a set of actions to make it easier to use.
Glad to hear this!

Did you try it on multiple tracks at the same time to understand the impact on the cpu?
__________________
Audio: AKG-K240 MKII, Steinberg UR22; Piano: Yamaha P-250;
!!DANIELE EPIC ORCHESTRAL MUSIC!! |*| STAR WARS SERIES
DANIELE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2017, 02:31 AM   #54
reddiesel41264
Human being with feelings
 
reddiesel41264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North East UK
Posts: 364
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DANIELE View Post
Glad to hear this!

Did you try it on multiple tracks at the same time to understand the impact on the cpu?
Yes, the lua scripts are not an issue with CPU because you just run them once and they insert MIDI data (they are to be used with one track at a time). The UACC to key switch translator is a very lightweight JS script that can be used on many tracks. I might be wrong, but I think JS scripts only affect CPU during playback. I also wrote a script to overlap slurred notes slightly to trigger legato transitions in sample libraries. I don't want to derail this thread too much so I'll start a new one when I'm ready to release and give more details and explanation there.
__________________
David Healey
Purveyor of fine sample libraries (and Kontakt scripting tutorials) - http://xtant-audio.com/
reddiesel41264 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2017, 03:10 AM   #55
DANIELE
Human being with feelings
 
DANIELE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Florence, Italy
Posts: 104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reddiesel41264 View Post
Yes, the lua scripts are not an issue with CPU because you just run them once and they insert MIDI data (they are to be used with one track at a time). The UACC to key switch translator is a very lightweight JS script that can be used on many tracks. I might be wrong, but I think JS scripts only affect CPU during playback. I also wrote a script to overlap slurred notes slightly to trigger legato transitions in sample libraries. I don't want to derail this thread too much so I'll start a new one when I'm ready to release and give more details and explanation there.
As far as I know the script has to run in background to keep active this function, am I right?

This function will be very useful, after I have changed my pc I will try to use it with a script that Tod has given me.

Right, we will continue in the new thread, please let me know when you open it.

Thank you.
__________________
Audio: AKG-K240 MKII, Steinberg UR22; Piano: Yamaha P-250;
!!DANIELE EPIC ORCHESTRAL MUSIC!! |*| STAR WARS SERIES
DANIELE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2017, 03:41 AM   #56
reddiesel41264
Human being with feelings
 
reddiesel41264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North East UK
Posts: 364
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DANIELE View Post
As far as I know the script has to run in background to keep active this function, am I right?
Only the JS script to convert UACC data will run in the background during playback and recording, and it's only for libraries that don't support UACC by default - so you won't need it with Spitfire libraries. The other scripts are used as actions and just edit MIDI data so they just do their job and then stop.

Quote:
Right, we will continue in the new thread, please let me know when you open it.
Will do.
__________________
David Healey
Purveyor of fine sample libraries (and Kontakt scripting tutorials) - http://xtant-audio.com/
reddiesel41264 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2017, 07:58 AM   #57
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 18,556
Default

I would say this discussion should be moved to the thread about articulation mapping, now.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2017, 08:20 AM   #58
robgb
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 66
Default

You know, as much as I'd like a native articulation mapper, Blake Robinson's articulation switcher script works quite well. Certainly good enough for my purposes.
robgb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2017, 09:36 AM   #59
reddiesel41264
Human being with feelings
 
reddiesel41264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North East UK
Posts: 364
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by robgb View Post
You know, as much as I'd like a native articulation mapper, Blake Robinson's articulation switcher script works quite well. Certainly good enough for my purposes.
Don't you have to enter notes with the mouse to use that?
__________________
David Healey
Purveyor of fine sample libraries (and Kontakt scripting tutorials) - http://xtant-audio.com/
reddiesel41264 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2017, 04:17 AM   #60
G-Sun
Human being with feelings
 
G-Sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 5,946
Default

Is Automation Items stable yet?
I'd like to use this in production now.
__________________
Reaper x64, win 8.1
G-Sun.no - Music Blog - My music
G-Sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2017, 04:30 AM   #61
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,687
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Sun View Post
Is Automation Items stable yet?
I'd like to use this in production now.
They're quite stable already.
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2017, 05:28 AM   #62
G-Sun
Human being with feelings
 
G-Sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 5,946
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
They're quite stable already.
Thanks!
I'll jump in then. Finger crossed
__________________
Reaper x64, win 8.1
G-Sun.no - Music Blog - My music
G-Sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.