Old 06-18-2017, 01:32 AM   #1
wakodoha
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 63
Default Windows 10 for a live show use

I happened to buy a laptop for live performance (backing tracks, Vsts, guitar processing, vocal processing..) that came with windows 10 home.

This is fine for a home use and I have no problem with reaper.

However for a live show situation it feels like there's a bully next to me on stage:
the antivirus can be turned off but windows 10 tells me "if the antivirus is on for too long, don't worry we will turn it back automatically"!
How long is too long? The middle of my set? And why are you acting like I'm a child?
Any solution to this? Or the bully can start some disk access anytime to make your audio pop and click all over the venue?

Also the internet is full of (forced) update stories that suddenly disable your peripherals (an usb audio interface for example). What can be done to avoid this except sealing the laptop in an aluminum case until the tour starts?

How many windows 10 performers out here?
wakodoha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2017, 01:35 AM   #2
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 18,567
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wakodoha View Post
Also the internet is full of (forced) update stories that suddenly disable your peripherals (an usb audio interface for example). What can be done to avoid this except sealing the laptop in an aluminum case until the tour starts?
Don't have it connected online during the show? If you connect your laptop through Wi-Fi, set that network as Metered connection, then updates won't be downloaded at all.


You can disable the Windows Defender services (Win+R, type services.msc).
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2017, 01:42 AM   #3
heda
Human being with feelings
 
heda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 4,031
Default

I would disable all networks and wifi during the show. On many laptops, wifi introduces latency spikes. Disable antivirus, and Windows update service from services control panel.
__________________
HeDaScripts for REAPER | VIP Donations
heda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2017, 03:31 AM   #4
wakodoha
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 63
Default

Thanks guys.

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
Don't have it connected online during the show? If you connect your laptop through Wi-Fi, set that network as Metered connection, then updates won't be downloaded at all.
It's not connected to internet during the show. What I'm afraid is that an update some days before the show disables something just to bully me. Of course there's also a back up (a old XP machine nicely optimized).

I set my network as a metered connection and windows 10 is still updating once in a while and even forcing restarts (cannot it treat me as an adult and waits for me to turn off the machine at the end of the day?)!!

Quote:
You can disable the Windows Defender services (Win+R, type services.msc).
No it won't let me disable it on home edition! Maybe you need some "super responsible corporate adult" edition to be allowed that

Quote:
I would disable all networks and wifi during the show. On many laptops, wifi introduces latency spikes. Disable antivirus, and Windows update service from services control panel.
Antivirus and updates cannot be disabled in 'home' edition.
wakodoha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2017, 03:35 AM   #5
wakodoha
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 63
Default

Well now I understand there's a big difference between windows editions when it comes to control.

For the home edition there's apparently a trick for the antivirus: you can install another antivirus and windows defender will stay off. Then the new antivirus would obviously have an off button..
(going to try that right now!)
wakodoha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2017, 03:40 AM   #6
heda
Human being with feelings
 
heda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 4,031
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wakodoha View Post
Antivirus and updates cannot be disabled in 'home' edition.
Run services.msc, search for "Windows Update" service. and stop it and set it to disabled.

It works for me with my laptop which has Windows 10 home.

however, about Windows defender.. I haven't managed to disable it.
__________________
HeDaScripts for REAPER | VIP Donations
heda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2017, 09:40 AM   #7
serr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 6,003
Default

For any OS for live use:

Test the system with max inputs at home thoroughly! It isn't ready for live use until there are no surprises at home.

Don't allow ANYTHING on your computer to be a mystery to you. No exceptions. There sure shouldn't be anything running in the background that you are unaware of or any network activity allowed without intention.

Keep a master backup clone of your system drive on an external drive.

Keep a redundant 2nd hard drive in the same machine that is a clone of the primary.


Screw something up on the primary? Boot from the secondary and run your show like nothing ever happened. You could have your computer completely destroyed, purchase a new one on the road on the other side of the country, clone from your backup drive to the primary on the new machine and be right back where you left off. No complicated installs and you're running your show again tonight.
__________________
Mac Pro 8x3.33GHz i7, 16GB, 256GB SSD(OS, apps), 3x2TB 7200 HD(data); MacBook Pro 2.8GHz, 6GB, 128GB SSD HD(OS, apps), 750GB 7200 HD(data); 2xTrue Precision 8; Apogee AD-16; 2xMOTU 828mk3, Evolution UC-33e; Faderport; WiRanger, iPad & the analog mixer has retired
serr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2017, 08:30 PM   #8
wakodoha
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 63
Default

Thanks Heda for the tip!

Serr is very right, using a laptop for live you should be prepared to anything like your drunk roadie tripping on the cable power, falling with your laptop on the floor and his beer pouring through your keyboard. So you have to be certain something will happen and know of a back up plan..

But this sentence:
Quote:
Don't allow ANYTHING on your computer to be a mystery to you. No exceptions. There sure shouldn't be anything running in the background that you are unaware of or any network activity allowed without intention.
Is basically saying Windows 10 is not compatible for live show use right?
wakodoha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2017, 11:39 PM   #9
planetnine
Human being with feelings
 
planetnine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln, UK
Posts: 7,512
Default

I'm still on Win7. It works well on the machines I use, so I've not "upgraded". I realise I can't stay like this forever, though.

Is there a version of Win10 that can be told not to do its own thing? Where you put it in "don't connect, download or change things unless given permission" mode?



>
planetnine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2017, 10:12 AM   #10
serr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 6,003
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wakodoha View Post
Thanks Heda for the tip!

Serr is very right, using a laptop for live you should be prepared to anything like your drunk roadie tripping on the cable power, falling with your laptop on the floor and his beer pouring through your keyboard. So you have to be certain something will happen and know of a back up plan..

But this sentence:
Quote:
Don't allow ANYTHING on your computer to be a mystery to you. No exceptions. There sure shouldn't be anything running in the background that you are unaware of or any network activity allowed without intention.
Is basically saying Windows 10 is not compatible for live show use right?
Well, if it is really truly impossible to have root access with Windows 10, then that would follow. Is Windows 10 like the watered down iOS that restricts root access or something? (Then they use charged terms like "jail break" to create a narrative that such a basic and expected thing as root level access to your machine is somehow unusual.)


Anywho...

Whatever OS you choose, know your system and don't leave yourself surprises. Test everything.

Then learn how to make 1:1 clone backups (I still like the convenience of Carbon Copy Cloner for this.)

You'll know that at the end of the day you can take a computer off the shelf from any store, install your favorite SSD, clone your system to said SSD, and you're doing your gig tonight with no surprises.


The ONLY exception that can come up is with any software authorizations that read the unique serial numbers burnt into the physical chips in hard drives and logic boards. (They do this to prevent swapping a hard drive as a workaround to copy protection.) Keep a record of all software authorization codes as a simple text file that you keep adding to. Keep contact info here too because some of the overzealous copy protection disables the codes for one time use or does some math against a serial number.
__________________
Mac Pro 8x3.33GHz i7, 16GB, 256GB SSD(OS, apps), 3x2TB 7200 HD(data); MacBook Pro 2.8GHz, 6GB, 128GB SSD HD(OS, apps), 750GB 7200 HD(data); 2xTrue Precision 8; Apogee AD-16; 2xMOTU 828mk3, Evolution UC-33e; Faderport; WiRanger, iPad & the analog mixer has retired
serr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2017, 11:14 AM   #11
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 18,567
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by planetnine View Post
Is there a version of Win10 that can be told not to do its own thing? Where you put it in "don't connect, download or change things unless given permission" mode?
Yes, the Enterprise version (LTSB). Kinda hard to get to it.

W10 Pro is also very good since you can tell it to defer any updates for up to a year. That is good enough for me. Also, everything mentioned is not a problem if you simply disconnect your laptop from the network while running the live gig... Which is what I would recommend with any computer anyways, PC or Mac regardless.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2017, 11:52 AM   #12
serr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 6,003
Default

Yep, only allow your own network (if you use one for wireless control) and don't announce it.
__________________
Mac Pro 8x3.33GHz i7, 16GB, 256GB SSD(OS, apps), 3x2TB 7200 HD(data); MacBook Pro 2.8GHz, 6GB, 128GB SSD HD(OS, apps), 750GB 7200 HD(data); 2xTrue Precision 8; Apogee AD-16; 2xMOTU 828mk3, Evolution UC-33e; Faderport; WiRanger, iPad & the analog mixer has retired
serr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2017, 01:05 PM   #13
Rick O'Shay
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Pacifica, CA
Posts: 117
Default

The guys at Sweetwater always have good info for optimizing computers.
https://www.sweetwater.com/sweetcare...or-windows-10/
Rick O'Shay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.