Old 04-17-2014, 12:42 AM   #1
mollybloom
Human being with feelings

Default Shortcircuit questions

Hello all,

I´ve just (re)started my Reaper adventures, trying to build beats with shortcircuit and the sequencer baby steopsequencer. I am not very experienced with this sort of music making and even though the basics seem to work, I have a couple of questions:

1) Following the guide by Tedwood, i have tried grouping different samples within shortcircuit (snare, kicks etc.) to different tracks to be able to control them separatly and add separate effects. I feel like I´m doing everything he writes (sending from the original track to new tracks, disabling master/parent send etc.), but i just can´t get the different samples to go to different channels.

2) The plugin structure I´m using on the track is first sequencer baby to create the beat and then shortcircuit afterwards to add the samples. Is this the right way to do it? Or is there a better way?

3) When i play a sample in mediaplayer or in shortcircuit with my midikeyboard it "rings out" whereas, when i have made it a part of my general beat in sequencer, it sort gets chopped off. How to make it ring out here as well? The sounds come out quite amputated as for now :-)

4) A more general question: what is a decent latency for Reaper? I´m getting 3,3/9,9 right now with a MOTU microbook and amn i7 quadcore, 8 Ram Lenovo ideabook. Is this okay or should i tweak something for better results? And should I do anything to make Reaper take advantage of the quadcore-thingy (as you can here, I´m definintely no computer expert)or does i automatically use everything as efficient as possible?

Guess that´s it for now; any help would be greatly appreciated :-)!
mollybloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2014, 10:25 AM   #2
lowest form

I use Shortcircuit quite a bit, so hopefully I can help at least a little until someone more knowledgable comes along!