COCKOS
CONFEDERATED FORUMS
Cockos : REAPER : NINJAM : Forums
Forum Home : Register : FAQ : Members List : Search :
Old 09-18-2014, 03:19 PM   #1
brighteningeyes
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: on our house
Posts: 14
Default compiling wdl with MinGW

hi all,
i'm using MinGW and i want to port WDL to it
how can i compile VST3 SDK?
it give's many errors and wornings
have you did that?
thanks
brighteningeyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2014, 04:25 PM   #2
antto
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 108
Default

i'm not sure if you really have to "compile" the vst3 sdk
i think you just have to copy a few files from it into a specific folder within WDL

as for the errors - what kind of errors do you get?
i use wdl with mingw and it works (after some modifications)
antto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2014, 06:07 PM   #3
brighteningeyes
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: on our house
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antto View Post
i'm not sure if you really have to "compile" the vst3 sdk
i think you just have to copy a few files from it into a specific folder within WDL

as for the errors - what kind of errors do you get?
i use wdl with mingw and it works (after some modifications)
what files have you copyed there?
i've copyed everything
and i have to mention, i want to add VST host feature in WDL
thanks
brighteningeyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2014, 02:42 AM   #4
antto
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 108
Default

in \WDL\VST_SDK\ there is a readme file, it tells you what to copy
so i have just 2 files there: aeffect.h and aeffectx.h
that's for vst2.. there are similar instructions for vst3
antto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2014, 05:29 AM   #5
brighteningeyes
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: on our house
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antto View Post
in \WDL\VST_SDK\ there is a readme file, it tells you what to copy
so i have just 2 files there: aeffect.h and aeffectx.h
that's for vst2.. there are similar instructions for vst3
ok, but it says copy everything and i've copyed the files there
and, for VST2, it dont give any errors, i've got the errors from VST3
brighteningeyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2014, 08:00 AM   #6
antto
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 108
Default

for the second time, what kind of "errors" do you get?
antto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2014, 09:43 AM   #7
olilarkin
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 1,248
Default

i would highly recommend using Visual Studio on windows for WDL-OL. You're in for a world of pain trying to use it with MingGW
__________________
VirtualCZ | Endless Series | iPlug2 | Linkedin | Facebook
olilarkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2014, 06:49 PM   #8
brighteningeyes
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: on our house
Posts: 14
Default

these are the errors that i've got:
Code:
Build started on: 21-09-2014 at 06:09.06
 Build ended on: 21-09-2014 at 06:09.07
 -------------- Build: Debug in WDL (compiler: GNU GCC Compiler)---------------
 g++.exe -std=gnu++11 -fpermissive -DUNICODE=1 -D_NATIVE_WCHAR_T_DEFINED -D__wchar_t=wchar_t -fpermissive -Wall -g -DNDEBUG -IWDL\VST3_SDK -c F:\projects\cpp\WDL\WDL\VST3_SDK\base\source\istreamwrapper.cpp -o obj\Debug\WDL\VST3_SDK\base\source\istreamwrapper.o
 In file included from WDL\VST3_SDK/pluginterfaces/base/ftypes.h:37:0,
 from WDL\VST3_SDK/pluginterfaces/base/funknown.h:38,
 from WDL\VST3_SDK/pluginterfaces/base/ibstream.h:37,
 from WDL\VST3_SDK/base/source/istreamwrapper.h:38,
 from F:\projects\cpp\WDL\WDL\VST3_SDK\base\source\istreamwrapper.cpp:35:
WDL\VST3_SDK/pluginterfaces/base/fplatform.h:47:0: warning: ignoring #pragma warning [-Wunknown-pragmas]
 #pragma warning (disable : 4996) // deprecated insecure calls (strcpy, memset etc)
 ^
WDL\VST3_SDK/pluginterfaces/base/fplatform.h:48:0: warning: ignoring #pragma warning [-Wunknown-pragmas]
 #pragma warning (disable : 4244) // Conversion from 'type1' to 'type2', possible loss of data.
 ^
WDL\VST3_SDK/pluginterfaces/base/fplatform.h:50:0: warning: ignoring #pragma warning [-Wunknown-pragmas]
 #pragma warning (3 : 4189) // local variable is initialized but not referenced
 ^
WDL\VST3_SDK/pluginterfaces/base/fplatform.h:51:0: warning: ignoring #pragma warning [-Wunknown-pragmas]
 #pragma warning (3 : 4238) // nonstandard extension used : class rvalue used as lvalue
 ^
 In file included from c:\dev-cpp\include\windows.h:114:0,
 from c:\dev-cpp\include\oleidl.h:10,
 from WDL\VST3_SDK/base/source/istreamwrapper.h:42,
 from F:\projects\cpp\WDL\WDL\VST3_SDK\base\source\istreamwrapper.cpp:35:
c:\dev-cpp\include\ole2.h:52:55: error: 'LPOLECLIENTSITE' has not been declared
 WINOLEAPI OleCreate(REFCLSID,REFIID,DWORD,LPFORMATETC,LPOLECLIENTSITE,LPSTORAGE,PVOID*);
 ^
c:\dev-cpp\include\ole2.h:53:67: error: 'LPOLECLIENTSITE' has not been declared
 WINOLEAPI OleCreateFromData(LPDATAOBJECT,REFIID,DWORD,LPFORMATETC,LPOLECLIENTSITE,LPSTORAGE,PVOID*);
 ^
c:\dev-cpp\include\ole2.h:54:71: error: 'LPOLECLIENTSITE' has not been declared
 WINOLEAPI OleCreateLinkFromData(LPDATAOBJECT,REFIID,DWORD,LPFORMATETC,LPOLECLIENTSITE,LPSTORAGE,PVOID*);
 ^
c:\dev-cpp\include\ole2.h:55:73: error: 'LPOLECLIENTSITE' has not been declared
 WINOLEAPI OleCreateStaticFromData(LPDATAOBJECT,REFIID,DWORD,LPFORMATETC,LPOLECLIENTSITE,LPSTORAGE,PVOID*);
 ^
c:\dev-cpp\include\ole2.h:56:60: error: 'LPOLECLIENTSITE' has not been declared
 WINOLEAPI OleCreateLink(LPMONIKER,REFIID,DWORD,LPFORMATETC,LPOLECLIENTSITE,LPSTORAGE,PVOID*);
 ^
c:\dev-cpp\include\ole2.h:57:66: error: 'LPOLECLIENTSITE' has not been declared
 WINOLEAPI OleCreateLinkToFile(LPCOLESTR,REFIID,DWORD,LPFORMATETC,LPOLECLIENTSITE,LPSTORAGE,PVOID*);
 ^
c:\dev-cpp\include\ole2.h:58:73: error: 'LPOLECLIENTSITE' has not been declared
 WINOLEAPI OleCreateFromFile(REFCLSID,LPCOLESTR,REFIID,DWORD,LPFORMATETC,LPOLECLIENTSITE,LPSTORAGE,PVOID*);
 ^
c:\dev-cpp\include\ole2.h:59:36: error: 'LPOLECLIENTSITE' has not been declared
 WINOLEAPI OleLoad(LPSTORAGE,REFIID,LPOLECLIENTSITE,PVOID*);
 ^
c:\dev-cpp\include\ole2.h:65:33: error: 'LPDROPTARGET' has not been declared
 WINOLEAPI RegisterDragDrop(HWND,LPDROPTARGET);
 ^
c:\dev-cpp\include\ole2.h:67:35: error: 'LPDROPSOURCE' has not been declared
 WINOLEAPI DoDragDrop(LPDATAOBJECT,LPDROPSOURCE,DWORD,PDWORD);
 ^
 In file included from c:\dev-cpp\include\rpcdce.h:10:0,
 from c:\dev-cpp\include\rpc.h:40,
 from c:\dev-cpp\include\windows.h:82,
 from c:\dev-cpp\include\oleidl.h:10,
 from WDL\VST3_SDK/base/source/istreamwrapper.h:42,
 from F:\projects\cpp\WDL\WDL\VST3_SDK\base\source\istreamwrapper.cpp:35:
c:\dev-cpp\include\ole2.h:72:1: error: 'HOLEMENU' does not name a type
 WINOLEAPI_(HOLEMENU) OleCreateMenuDescriptor(HMENU,LPOLEMENUGROUPWIDTHS);
 ^
 In file included from c:\dev-cpp\include\windows.h:114:0,
 from c:\dev-cpp\include\oleidl.h:10,
 from WDL\VST3_SDK/base/source/istreamwrapper.h:42,
 from F:\projects\cpp\WDL\WDL\VST3_SDK\base\source\istreamwrapper.cpp:35:
c:\dev-cpp\include\ole2.h:73:32: error: 'HOLEMENU' was not declared in this scope
 WINOLEAPI OleSetMenuDescriptor(HOLEMENU,HWND,HWND,LPOLEINPLACEFRAME,LPOLEINPLACEACTIVEOBJECT);
 ^
c:\dev-cpp\include\ole2.h:73:45: error: expected primary-expression before ',' token
 WINOLEAPI OleSetMenuDescriptor(HOLEMENU,HWND,HWND,LPOLEINPLACEFRAME,LPOLEINPLACEACTIVEOBJECT);
 ^
c:\dev-cpp\include\ole2.h:73:50: error: expected primary-expression before ',' token
 WINOLEAPI OleSetMenuDescriptor(HOLEMENU,HWND,HWND,LPOLEINPLACEFRAME,LPOLEINPLACEACTIVEOBJECT);
 ^
c:\dev-cpp\include\ole2.h:73:51: error: 'LPOLEINPLACEFRAME' was not declared in this scope
 WINOLEAPI OleSetMenuDescriptor(HOLEMENU,HWND,HWND,LPOLEINPLACEFRAME,LPOLEINPLACEACTIVEOBJECT);
 ^
c:\dev-cpp\include\ole2.h:73:69: error: 'LPOLEINPLACEACTIVEOBJECT' was not declared in this scope
 WINOLEAPI OleSetMenuDescriptor(HOLEMENU,HWND,HWND,LPOLEINPLACEFRAME,LPOLEINPLACEACTIVEOBJECT);
 ^
c:\dev-cpp\include\ole2.h:74:36: error: 'HOLEMENU' was not declared in this scope
 WINOLEAPI OleDestroyMenuDescriptor(HOLEMENU);
 ^
c:\dev-cpp\include\ole2.h:75:35: error: 'LPOLEINPLACEFRAME' was not declared in this scope
 WINOLEAPI OleTranslateAccelerator(LPOLEINPLACEFRAME,LPOLEINPLACEFRAMEINFO,LPMSG);
 ^
c:\dev-cpp\include\ole2.h:75:53: error: 'LPOLEINPLACEFRAMEINFO' was not declared in this scope
 WINOLEAPI OleTranslateAccelerator(LPOLEINPLACEFRAME,LPOLEINPLACEFRAMEINFO,LPMSG);
 ^
c:\dev-cpp\include\ole2.h:75:80: error: expected primary-expression before ')' token
 WINOLEAPI OleTranslateAccelerator(LPOLEINPLACEFRAME,LPOLEINPLACEFRAMEINFO,LPMSG);
 ^
c:\dev-cpp\include\ole2.h:79:31: error: 'LPOLEOBJECT' was not declared in this scope
 WINOLEAPI_(BOOL) OleIsRunning(LPOLEOBJECT);
 ^
c:\dev-cpp\include\ole2.h:82:33: error: 'LPOLEADVISEHOLDER' was not declared in this scope
 WINOLEAPI CreateOleAdviseHolder(LPOLEADVISEHOLDER*);
 ^
c:\dev-cpp\include\ole2.h:82:51: error: expected primary-expression before ')' token
 WINOLEAPI CreateOleAdviseHolder(LPOLEADVISEHOLDER*);
 ^
c:\dev-cpp\include\ole2.h:92:37: error: 'LPENUMOLEVERB' has not been declared
 WINOLEAPI OleRegEnumVerbs (REFCLSID,LPENUMOLEVERB*);
 ^
Process terminated with status 1 (0 minute(s), 1 second(s))
24 error(s), 4 warning(s) (0 minute(s), 1 second(s))
now, what should i do?
these are from w32API and i dont know
when i compile other programs and libraries, they dont give errors like these, but this gave some errors
brighteningeyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2014, 12:44 AM   #9
olilarkin
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 1,248
Default

if you just want to compile a VST2 plugin, then just put the two files aeffect.h and aeffectx.h in the VST2SDK folder. This is mostly working with MingGW i think.

VST3 has not been tested with MinGW and it sounds like the VST3 sdk itself is not compatible. So you'd be better off asking steinberg about that.
__________________
VirtualCZ | Endless Series | iPlug2 | Linkedin | Facebook
olilarkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2014, 02:30 AM   #10
brighteningeyes
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: on our house
Posts: 14
Default

well, VST2 doesnt give any errors or wornings, but i'm thinking about VST3
brighteningeyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.