Old 07-29-2014, 06:40 AM   #1
sseeland
Human being with feelings

Default Midi Routing Problem

Hello everybody!

I'm pretty new to Reaper but I already love it to bits! The amount of customization one can do is absolutely amazing!

My current "project" is to set up a nice way to work with multi-articulation soundfonts. The Sonatina Soundfont has different sfz files for each articulation so I need to load them in seperate instances of the sfz-plugin. What I want to do is this:

Set up a parent track (folder) with three children. The children are for the articulations of the soundfont, each containing a sfz-plugin with one articulation of the desired instrument (legato, staccato, pizzicato). The parent track is supposed to receive midi events from a midi keyboard and send this midi data to the child tracks. I've made a keyboard shortcut that will "solo" a certain send on the selected track (mute all sends, unmute desired send) so the midi data should always go to one child only and I can switch the "active" child with the press of a button.
The "active" child will then record the incoming midi and send the audio output from the sfz-plugin to the parent track. So much for the theory. I hope this makes sense.

Unfortunately it doesn't work.
When I set the child input to "Midi: All Channels" it will receive all midi events, not just the ones sent by the parent. Therefore all articulations are active all the time. That's not what I want. If I set the input to "none" it will receive nothing at all. So nothing is recorded, no sounds are made. All four tracks are armed of course and are set to record monitoring. Whether I mute or unmute the send on the parent track doesn't seem to make any difference. How can I make sure that a child track will only receive the midi events from explicit sends and not all incoming events?
sseeland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2014, 08:01 AM   #2
vanhaze

Hi !