COCKOS
CONFEDERATED FORUMS
Cockos : REAPER : NINJAM : Forums
Forum Home : Register : FAQ : Members List : Search :

Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > Other Software Discussion > WDL users forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-17-2017, 07:16 AM   #1
Nowhk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 234
Default SaviHost vs IPlug FX - it passes weird values

Hi to everybody!

I've noticed that when I load my (fx) VST plugin inside SaviHost for debugging it (Tracer mode), if I increase the gain I'll hear a huge noise-hiss.
So I've printed the values it get as input:

Code:
void MainIPlug::ProcessDoubleReplacing(double **inputs, double **outputs, int nFrames) {
	// init
	GetTime(&mTimeInfo);
	double *inputLeft = inputs[0];
	double *inputRight = inputs[1];
	double *outputLeft = outputs[0];
	double *outputRight = outputs[1];
	DBGMSG("outputLeft: %.16f\n", *outputLeft);

	// process buffer
	for (int i = 0; i < nFrames; i++) {
		// ...
	}	
}
And I see strange values:

outputLeft: 0.0003523826599121
outputLeft: -0.0002335309982300
outputLeft: -0.0002169609069824
outputLeft: -0.0001403093338013
outputLeft: 0.0002359151840210
outputLeft: 0.0003968477249145
outputLeft: -0.0002576112747192
outputLeft: 0.0008517503738403
outputLeft: -0.0004600286483765
outputLeft: -0.0002851486206055
outputLeft: 0.0000853538513184
outputLeft: -0.0004197359085083
outputLeft: 0.0002214908599854
outputLeft: 0.0004739761352539
outputLeft: 0.0001586675643921
outputLeft: 0.0004465579986572
outputLeft: -0.0001251697540283
outputLeft: 0.0003306865692139
outputLeft: -0.0003303289413452
outputLeft: -0.0004248619079590

Which are not 0.0 (as in the other DAW I've tried, as FL Studio). Hence, that noise it's normal.
Did you ever noticed this? SaviHost problem I guess?

Thanks
Nowhk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2017, 12:29 AM   #2
Tale
Human being with feelings
 
Tale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 3,645
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nowhk View Post
DBGMSG("outputLeft: %.16f\n", *outputLeft);
I guess it's because you are printing the output rather than the input. The output buffer contents are undefind until you fill it.
Tale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2017, 12:43 AM   #3
Nowhk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 234
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tale View Post
I guess it's because you are printing the output rather than the input. The output buffer contents are undefind until you fill it.
Yeah of course. But its the same:

Code:
DBGMSG("inputLeft: %.16f\n", *inputLeft);
Code:
inputLeft: -0.0001889467239380
inputLeft: -0.0006173849105835
inputLeft: -0.0001945495605469
inputLeft: 0.0001558065414429
inputLeft: -0.0001559257507324
inputLeft: 0.0000135898590088
inputLeft: 0.0004479885101318
inputLeft: -0.0001055002212524
inputLeft: 0.0003417730331421
inputLeft: 0.0000208616256714
inputLeft: -0.0001542568206787
inputLeft: 0.0003203153610229
inputLeft: -0.0002903938293457
inputLeft: -0.0000158548355103
inputLeft: -0.0001294612884521
inputLeft: -0.0001879930496216
inputLeft: -0.0001138448715210
inputLeft: -0.0000997781753540
inputLeft: -0.0003021955490112
inputLeft: -0.0000532865524292
Thus, the noise...
Nowhk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2017, 02:19 AM   #4
Tale
Human being with feelings
 
Tale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 3,645
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nowhk View Post
Thus, the noise...
Maybe there is an audio input enabled in Savihost? The noise seems to peak at about -64 dB, so it could simply be static from a line or microphone input.
Tale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2017, 03:23 AM   #5
Nowhk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 234
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tale View Post
Maybe there is an audio input enabled in Savihost? The noise seems to peak at about -64 dB, so it could simply be static from a line or microphone input.
I'm using ASIO4ALL, and these are the settings I've:



In fact if I set both Input to "No channel selections" the background noise vanish (input values become 0.00000). Strange, not sure about the utility of this feature, and it seems I cannot disable it permanently.

But ok, at least I know the origin of the problem
Thanks for the tip!
Nowhk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2017, 11:33 AM   #6
Tale
Human being with feelings
 
Tale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 3,645
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nowhk View Post
Strange, not sure about the utility of this feature
Well, I guess it's for live input?
Tale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2017, 01:43 PM   #7
Nowhk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 234
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tale View Post
Well, I guess it's for live input?
I meant I'm not sure about "Muxedln" feature Didnt hear about it before. Not sure about the utility of it
Nowhk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2017, 12:34 AM   #8
Tale
Human being with feelings
 
Tale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 3,645
Default

Ah I see, hehe... Well, I assumed MuxedIn was just the name of an input of your audio interface, but maybe it's not.
Tale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2017, 02:37 AM   #9
Nowhk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 234
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tale View Post
Ah I see, hehe... Well, I assumed MuxedIn was just the name of an input of your audio interface, but maybe it's not.
Not at all Or at least I dont think so... original ASIO driver never display that name.
Nowhk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.