Old 12-19-2016, 10:11 AM   #1
planetnine
Human being with feelings
 
planetnine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln, UK
Posts: 7,924
Default v5.30 - December 19 2016

v5.30 - December 19 2016

+ API: treat volume as dB rather than 1% of fader range in CSurf_OnVolumeChange relative mode
+ API: add SetTrackMIDILyrics, GetTrackMIDILyrics, GetTrackName
+ API: add MIDI_GetAllEvts, MIDI_SetAllEvts [p=1761049]
+ API: make APIExists() only return true for functions accessible via script (not C++-only APIs)
+ Action list: add context menu item to copy action text [t=139984]
+ Actions: add actions to insert or extend MIDI to fill time selection
+ Actions: add actions to import or export track MIDI lyrics
+ Big Clock: improve count-in beats-only display at negative times
+ Control surfaces: add customizable Web Interface, easily accessed via http://rc.reaper.fm
+ Control surfaces: do not prompt when recording via surface and no tracks armed
+ Control surfaces: bring project media online when inactive and starting playback/record
+ Development IDEs: add support for shift+click text selection
+ Development IDEs: support load/save of color presets in theme tweaker
+ Development IDEs: open ReaScript help directly to the language currently being edited
+ FX: support on-the-fly Audio Units PDC changes [t=184278]
+ FX: avoid close/re-open of FX UIs in certain instances (fixes potential macOS Melda crash)
+ LTC/MTC sync: add options to automatically stop recording on timecode loss and/or discontinuity
+ Lyrics: update Lyrics.lua to support lyric input and editing as well as display
+ MIDI: prevent re-selecting CC and text events when moving notes via action [p=1767700]
+ MIDI: fix selection/editing of selected velocity and CC events when intermixed with unselected events [t=184204]
+ MIDI: prevent drawing note names/velocity when notes are too close together [t=184595]
+ MIDI: set default shift+alt+drag mouse modifier to no action (to avoid conflict with default shift+alt+click to select all notes in measure)
+ MIDI: update editor display when recording into secondary items [t=184736]
+ MIDI: chase notation messages when seeking
+ Mixer: fix FX copy/paste menu items sometimes inserting FX instead [t=184632]
+ Notation: add Note Properties to note context menu
+ Notation: add support for double and triple dotted notes
+ Notation: add support for tremolo ornament
+ Notation: make all visible tracks editable by default [p=1763657]
+ Notation: enable various mouse cursors (copy, move horizontally/vertically, etc)
+ Notation: fix lost notation data when editing while using MIDI filter [p=1763923]
+ Notation: fix mouse editing of manually positioned tuplet brackets
+ Notation: implement arpeggiate mouse modifiers (same behavior as piano roll)
+ Notation: improve default tuplet bracket positioning for quarter and half notes
+ Notation: make it slightly easier to enter a note at the start of a measure
+ Peaks: allow bringing media project online while building peaks
+ Preferences: combine volume handle range preference with handle/knob preference
+ Project tabs: respect 'offline background project media' when restoring application focus
+ Project tabs: add default option to force project tabs visible when monitoring FX are in use
+ ReaPlugs: improve analyzer display in ReaEQ/ReaXcomp (increased range, better integration behavior, interpolation bugs fixed)
+ ReaPlugs: resize ReaEQ/ReaFir/ReaXcomp to parent window
+ ReaPlugs: optionally log MIDI meta-messages in ReaControlMIDI
+ ReaScript/JSFX: Extend gfx.drawstr() to support text justifying and clipping
+ ReaScript: add joystick API
+ ReaScript: optimize execution API functions added by extension plug-ins
+ ReaScript: improve function prototypes/documentation in watch list
+ ReaScript: make Lua/Python known-function detection/documentation case sensitive
+ ReaScript: run __startup.eel/__startup.lua on startup (hold shift to disable)
+ ReaScript: update Lua from 5.3.0 to 5.3.3
+ ReaScript: fix graphics overflow when scaling very large bitmaps [t=184258]
+ Video: improve reverse item playback performance


Some of you are really going to like some of the new stuff...




>
__________________
Nathan, Lincoln, UK. | Item Marker Tool. (happily retired) | Source Time Position Tool. | CD Track Marker Tool. | Timer Recording Tool. | dB marks on MCP faders FR.
planetnine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2016, 12:02 PM   #2
Plazma
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 293
Default

This:

+ ReaPlugs: improve analyzer display in ReaEQ/ReaXcomp (increased range, better integration behavior, interpolation bugs fixed)

makes me very happy. Always struggled to see what's happening in ReaEQ. Thanks devs!
__________________
url]www.pennysound.co.za[/url] (Free & commercial Omnisphere patches)
Plazma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2016, 12:58 PM   #3
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 7,416
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Plazma View Post
This:

+ ReaPlugs: improve analyzer display in ReaEQ/ReaXcomp (increased range, better integration behavior, interpolation bugs fixed)

makes me very happy. Always struggled to see what's happening in ReaEQ. Thanks devs!
YES!
This makes those plugins so much more useful.
Great. Thanks, Devs.
__________________
// MVHMF
I never always did the right thing, but all I did wasn't wrong...
Fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2016, 01:29 PM   #4
DenDerty
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 4
Default

So f*cking great! I love you, the developers!!
DenDerty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2016, 02:01 PM   #5
Borodog
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 153
Default

Quote:
+ ReaPlugs: improve analyzer display in ReaEQ/ReaXcomp (increased range,
I'm not going to lie. I peed a little.
Borodog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2016, 10:29 PM   #6
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,551
Default

A few bugs in Lyrics.lua for you guys:

1. Line 45 has a typo, "wndq" should be "wndw".

2. On first run, the window opens as a tiny jumble in the corner of the screen:


I think reaper.GetExtState returns a blank string rather than nil if the key isn't there, so the logic isn't rolling over to the default values. Changing all of the GetExtState lines to this form makes everything behave:
Code:
tonumber(reaper.GetExtState("lyrics","wndw")) or _gfxw,
3. Dragging the window smaller horizontally ends up drawing the Export / Import / Edit buttons over top of the Track and Beat boxes.

4. The script never quits because there's no check in runloop to see if the window was closed.

Cheers. Love the scrollbar.
__________________
I'm no longer using Reaper or working on scripts for it. Sorry. :(
Default 5.0 Nitpicky Edition / GUI library for Lua scripts / Theory Helper / Radial Menu / Donate
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2016, 11:08 PM   #7
Tommy V
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: New York USA
Posts: 284
Default ReaSizable ReaEQ and ReaX-Comp

ReaSizable ReaEQ and ReaX-Comp to full screen, or across 2 screens, or even 3 screens (if ya got 'em) ... squash to an inch high vertical and 16" horizontal, or squish to a 10" vertical and 6" horizontal .... all with an unlimited number of center points.

Thank You Dev's for this Christmas present !!! ReaEQ will now be getting some more love from me



Tommy V
__________________
"You Can Observe A Lot Just By Watching"
~ Yogi Berra ~
Tommy V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2016, 12:06 AM   #8
stephane
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: France
Posts: 97
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by planetnine View Post
v5.30 - December 19 2016
+ ReaScript: run __startup.eel/__startup.lua on startup (hold shift to disable)
YES !!!
Tested, works like a charm. Very useful
stephane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2016, 02:52 AM   #9
planetnine
Human being with feelings
 
planetnine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln, UK
Posts: 7,924
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lokasenna View Post
A few bugs in Lyrics.lua for you guys:

...

Might be an idea to mirror this in the BR forum, Lokasenna, in case it's missed here...



>
__________________
Nathan, Lincoln, UK. | Item Marker Tool. (happily retired) | Source Time Position Tool. | CD Track Marker Tool. | Timer Recording Tool. | dB marks on MCP faders FR.
planetnine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2016, 03:45 AM   #10
chumbo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Posts: 704
Default

Improvements to ReaEQ & ReaComp is all fine and welcome but, what about this...

Quote:
Originally Posted by planetnine View Post
v5.30 - December 19 2016 + Control surfaces: add customizable Web Interface, easily accessed via http://rc.reaper.fm>

Why aren't people going gaga over this! It's so awesome!!
chumbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2016, 03:47 AM   #11
nicholas
Scribe
 
nicholas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Van Diemen's Land
Posts: 12,166
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chumbo View Post
Why aren't people going gaga over this! It's so awesome!!
Well I am!

And I think more people when when it sinks in. Meanwhile, it's buried in the changelog under a long list of items.
__________________
Learning Manuals and Reaper Books
REAPER Unleashed - ReaMix - REAPER User Guide
http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/glazfolk
nicholas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2016, 03:53 AM   #12
Otonal
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 6
Default Resize ReaEQ/ReaFir/ReaXcomp to parent window

• improve analyzer display in ReaEQ/ReaXcomp
• resize ReaEQ/ReaFir/ReaXcomp to parent window

Excellent - many thanks for these enhancements!

[Hoping that they will eventually manifest in the ReaPlugs VST FX Suite versions too.]
Otonal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2016, 04:45 AM   #13
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 15,747
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lokasenna View Post
A few bugs in Lyrics.lua for you guys:
Fixing, thanks!

(the reaper.GetExtState issue is macOS-specific)

Last edited by schwa; 12-20-2016 at 05:04 AM.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2016, 04:54 AM   #14
Outboarder
Human being with feelings
 
Outboarder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 834
Default

You Guyz nailed it again.

• add customizable Web Interface, easily accessed via http://rc.reaper.fm [WOW]
• improve analyzer display
• resize ReaEQ/ReaFir/ReaXcomp to parent window
• add joystick API
• optimize execution API functions added by extension plug-ins
• run __startup.eel/__startup.lua on startup (hold shift to disable)
• update Lua from 5.3.0 to 5.3.3
• make Lua/Python known-function detection/documentation case sensitive
• open ReaScript help directly to the language currently being edited
• add context menu item to copy action text
• treat volume as dB rather than 1% of fader range in CSurf_OnVolumeChange relative mode
• And....

I'm exploding with joy.

Thanks team.
__________________
Outboarder Scripts

Last edited by Outboarder; 12-20-2016 at 05:06 AM.
Outboarder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2016, 05:20 AM   #15
phonofranz
Human being with feelings
 
phonofranz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Padova, Italy
Posts: 471
Default

I'm playing a little with the Web interface and its blowing me away already with the default pages available... so much potential.
__________________
Franz[.]Suono - Studio di Registrazione
http://www.franzsuono.com https://www.facebook.com/franzpuntosuono
phonofranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2016, 05:46 AM   #16
chumbo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Posts: 704
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phonofranz View Post
I'm playing a little with the Web interface and its blowing me away already with the default pages available... so much potential.
Totally! I just feel frustrated I have no skills to customize it myself. I can only wait and hope that someone else does and also does it the way I'd like to have it.
chumbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2016, 05:49 AM   #17
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,551
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
Fixing, thanks!

(the reaper.GetExtState issue is macOS-specific)
Windows 8 here, actually.
__________________
I'm no longer using Reaper or working on scripts for it. Sorry. :(
Default 5.0 Nitpicky Edition / GUI library for Lua scripts / Theory Helper / Radial Menu / Donate
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2016, 05:58 AM   #18
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,714
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by planetnine View Post
+ API: add MIDI_GetAllEvts, MIDI_SetAllEvts [p=1761049]
v5.30 is also a breakthrough version for users of MIDI scripts and extensions.

Previously, scripts and extensions were notoriously slow when working on large takes with many thousands of events. An action such as SWS/BR: Copy selected CC events in active item to last clicked lane could take several minutes to complete.

Now, the new API functions GetAllEvts and SetAllEvts will allow near-native speed. As a demonstration, here I am using a Lua script to either deselect or delete thousands of events in the blink of an eye:

juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2016, 11:37 AM   #19
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 7,416
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phonofranz View Post
I'm playing a little with the Web interface and its blowing me away already with the default pages available... so much potential.
Yes, definitely. SO COOL!
Great idea, and great implementation!
Thanks for this devs.

One thing... The manual says "You can store any interfaces that you create or download yourself in the User pages folder". Does this mean that we can create a "User pages" folder and add our own pages there? Currently there is no "User pages" folder in my portable installation, so I guess the "index.html" and "basic.html" pages are built into Reaper. Or...?
__________________
// MVHMF
I never always did the right thing, but all I did wasn't wrong...
Fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2016, 02:12 PM   #20
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7,568
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fabian View Post

One thing... The manual says "You can store any interfaces that you create or download yourself in the User pages folder". Does this mean that we can create a "User pages" folder and add our own pages there? Currently there is no "User pages" folder in my portable installation, so I guess the "index.html" and "basic.html" pages are built into Reaper. Or...?
The built-in ones are templates. The user folder is called "reaper_www_root"
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2016, 02:41 PM   #21
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 7,416
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EpicSounds View Post
The built-in ones are templates. The user folder is called "reaper_www_root"
Can these templates be found somewhere so we can use them as... well, templates?

Here my reaper_www_root folder is empty.

EDIT: I found them! They are in the "Plugins" folder (that is, Reapers "Plugins" folder, not my VST plugin folder) More specifically in Plugins\reaper_www_root.
__________________
// MVHMF
I never always did the right thing, but all I did wasn't wrong...
Fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2016, 02:53 PM   #22
Kenny Gioia
Human being with feelings
 
Kenny Gioia's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 4,105
Default

They should all be easily found right here:



The reason for having a separate one for the user is that if REAPER changes the default options on new versions and you upgrade, you will lose your custom pages.

So just duplicate the "Built in pages" into the "User pages" and work on those.
Kenny Gioia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2016, 09:19 PM   #23
avocadomix
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 444
Default

Nice progress on several fronts!

P.s. A no-midi, no-video audio recording and mixing dinosaur such as myself would love to see a greater portion of the changelog devoted to implementing features and squashing bugs in the UI and audio engine realm. For a few ideas, Reaplugs could use some more bug-squashing love; high DPI support (vector graphics, you name it); reliability improvements to the audio engine, especially in relation to PDC, anticipative FX processing etc; UI custmizability "wizard" such as discussed here:
http://forum.cockos.com/showpost.php...4&postcount=29

P.p.s. I purchased a license for v4 and Reaper has improved a lot since then, so overall I'm a happy customer, just a little jealous to see all the midi folks rejoicing all the time! Yet the midi improvements make it easier to recommend Reaper to people.

Last edited by avocadomix; 12-20-2016 at 09:27 PM.
avocadomix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2016, 09:43 PM   #24
drichard
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 584
Default

Please help it sink in for me. I don't understand the implications. What does this do?


Quote:
Originally Posted by nicholas View Post
Well I am!

And I think more people when when it sinks in. Meanwhile, it's buried in the changelog under a long list of items.
drichard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2016, 11:47 PM   #25
nicholas
Scribe
 
nicholas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Van Diemen's Land
Posts: 12,166
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by drichard View Post
Please help it sink in for me. I don't understand the implications. What does this do?
It lets you use your mobile phone as a control surface. So for example you can set up your computer then sit down in front of your mics away from the computer and from there record and play back your guitar and vocals, etc. That's just a simple example, by the way.
__________________
Learning Manuals and Reaper Books
REAPER Unleashed - ReaMix - REAPER User Guide
http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/glazfolk
nicholas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2016, 02:35 AM   #26
Luster
Human being with feelings
 
Luster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 642
Default

The new web interface feature looks promising and IMHO is a smart way to implement some "app-connectivity".
My question is: where is the limit? Right now it's young and the examples are quite minimalistic (I am totally okay with it . In the future can we control VST Parameters with this? See a meter bridge? Or even see something of the arranger? I have the impressive iPad apps for Ableton Live in mind for example.
Maybe you guys can give us a visionary glimpse at what is coming...
Luster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2016, 02:44 AM   #27
nicholas
Scribe
 
nicholas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Van Diemen's Land
Posts: 12,166
Default

Given the development team's track record, I'd say there's no doubt it will grow in its capabilities. One important point is that this interface is done with scripting, so those clever folks who can do scripting (of whom I am NOT one! ) will be able to produce interfaces tailored to their own needs (or indeed the needs of others).
__________________
Learning Manuals and Reaper Books
REAPER Unleashed - ReaMix - REAPER User Guide
http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/glazfolk
nicholas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2016, 02:46 AM   #28
martifingers
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2,694
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luster View Post
The new web interface feature looks promising and IMHO is a smart way to implement some "app-connectivity".
My question is: where is the limit? Right now it's young and the examples are quite minimalistic (I am totally okay with it . In the future can we control VST Parameters with this? See a meter bridge? Or even see something of the arranger? I have the impressive iPad apps for Ableton Live in mind for example.
Maybe you guys can give us a visionary glimpse at what is coming...
I use one of these regularly for live sound:
https://www.thomann.de/gb/soundcraft...FQrjGwodfMEJhg

Are we saying REAPER may reach this sort of functionality?
martifingers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2016, 05:19 AM   #29
drichard
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 584
Default

I just set it up, and am instantly able to remote control Reaper from my iPhone. I'm still not sure how much I will use this feature initially, but the potential is amazing.

Wicked cool! Thanks for the heads up.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nicholas View Post
It lets you use your mobile phone as a control surface. So for example you can set up your computer then sit down in front of your mics away from the computer and from there record and play back your guitar and vocals, etc. That's just a simple example, by the way.
drichard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2016, 06:11 AM   #30
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13,333
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nicholas View Post
It lets you use your mobile phone...
Not only phone
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2016, 06:18 AM   #31
nicholas
Scribe
 
nicholas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Van Diemen's Land
Posts: 12,166
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
Not only phone
Indeed! Tablet, etc!
__________________
Learning Manuals and Reaper Books
REAPER Unleashed - ReaMix - REAPER User Guide
http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/glazfolk
nicholas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2016, 07:20 AM   #32
europa_man
Human being with feelings
 
europa_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Musquodoboit Harbour, Nova Scotia
Posts: 338
Default add customizable Web Interface, easily accessed via http://rc.reaper.fm

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenny Gioia View Post
They should all be easily found right here:



The reason for having a separate one for the user is that if REAPER changes the default options on new versions and you upgrade, you will lose your custom pages.

So just duplicate the "Built in pages" into the "User pages" and work on those.
Kenny - you know deep down in your soul - we need a video on this feature!

:-)

Eric
europa_man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2016, 10:17 AM   #33
horn
Human being with feelings
 
horn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Cologne
Posts: 26
Default web browser interface access

Quote:
Originally Posted by nicholas View Post
It lets you use your mobile phone as a control surface. So for example you can set up your computer then sit down in front of your mics away from the computer and from there record and play back your guitar and vocals, etc. That's just a simple example, by the way.
Nice feature. I tried it, and got an error on my mobile phone: "The ID xxx was not found for your network. Either the ID is incorrect, o this device is not connected to the same local network as the computer running REAPER." I think, because I use one broadband connection for accessing the internet with the computer running Reaper and another for my mobile device. Do you know, if I could use the browser interface anyhow or is it absolutely necessary to access via the same LAN?
horn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2016, 11:15 AM   #34
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 15,747
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by horn View Post
Nice feature. I tried it, and got an error on my mobile phone: "The ID xxx was not found for your network. Either the ID is incorrect, o this device is not connected to the same local network as the computer running REAPER." I think, because I use one broadband connection for accessing the internet with the computer running Reaper and another for my mobile device. Do you know, if I could use the browser interface anyhow or is it absolutely necessary to access via the same LAN?
To use the rc.reaper.fm feature you do have to be on the same local network. You can still use the web interface without rc.reaper.fm, but you'd have to forward a port on the REAPER computer network, and connect to it from your phone using the IP and port directly. Also the latency would be terrible because it would be going over the internet.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2016, 12:45 PM   #35
horn
Human being with feelings
 
horn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Cologne
Posts: 26
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
To use the rc.reaper.fm feature you do have to be on the same local network. You can still use the web interface without rc.reaper.fm, but you'd have to forward a port on the REAPER computer network, and connect to it from your phone using the IP and port directly. Also the latency would be terrible because it would be going over the internet.
Ok, I thought so. Anyhow an interesting new feature. Thank for the info.
__________________
Käptn Horn
horn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2016, 12:51 PM   #36
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7,568
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
To use the rc.reaper.fm feature you do have to be on the same local network. You can still use the web interface without rc.reaper.fm, but you'd have to forward a port on the REAPER computer network, and connect to it from your phone using the IP and port directly. Also the latency would be terrible because it would be going over the internet.
Schwa can you clarify - is there a benefit to using rc.reaper.fm over typing in the ip address, besides being easier to type? When I tried it last week it just seemed to redirect to the same ip address and do nothing else.
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2016, 12:54 PM   #37
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 15,747
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EpicSounds View Post
Schwa can you clarify - is there a benefit to using rc.reaper.fm over typing in the ip address, besides being easier to type? When I tried it last week it just seemed to redirect to the same ip address and do nothing else.
The advantage is that you can bookmark it and it will always work, even if the local IP changes after a reboot, router reset, lease expiry etc. it will always redirect to whatever the computer's current local IP is.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2016, 02:24 PM   #38
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7,568
Default

makes sense. thank you
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2016, 02:48 PM   #39
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7,568
Default

The tutorial is up now!

What's new in REAPER v 5.30

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TMZZvk4x93o

__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2016, 09:12 PM   #40
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 15,721
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EpicSounds View Post
The tutorial is up now!

What's new in REAPER v 5.30

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TMZZvk4x93o

btw in case you didn't realize, you can use http://youriport/click.html /basic.html etc etc rather than having to run multiple instances of the web control surface... the only reason you are able to add multiple instances of the web control is because it's consistent with the other control surface types

oh also: the option to stop recording when timecode lost/drift are not because that the recordings would be unusable (The timecode sync has little to do with the audio quality), it's so that if you have REAPER slaved to another device that sends timecode, it will automatically stop when your other device stops. It's more of a remote control feature than anything else (it was something requested by the BBC, I imagine most people would never use it .
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.