Old 06-24-2017, 07:12 AM   #1
rvrv
Human being with feelings

Default Lets build a better Virtual MIDI keyboard

Hi guys first sorry my english.

This is a bit of energizing / rally speech and i hope some skilled scripting gurus here will be motivated to take on this project or at least navigate me in the right direction.

Its about Virtual MIDI Keyboard in Reaper.

As a mobile laptop musician i try to make my workflow as much keyboard focused as possible because using laptop touchpad on tiny 11" screen slows you down so much and having to hit or drag GUI items on 11" screen with a laptop touchpad wears you out pretty fast.

I can navigate Reaper without mouse using custom shortcuts up to an incredible efficiency - basically recording, cutting, slicing, re-recording MIDI almost like editing text in Microsoft Word using keyboard cursor

THANKS REAPER FOR GIVING US THIS MUCH CUSTOMISATION OPTIONS - all other DAW's customability combined doesnt even hit 50% of Reapers possibilities.

You can be in a creative flow in Reaper even on a tiny laptop screen without external mouse. Until i need to punch in some drums or play a melody or bass line on VMK. Thats where the flow totally hits the ground and grind to halt.

VMK has couple fundamental limits and either way you go about it you will hit a wall:

Option 1) by Default VMK window needs to be focused to send notes to synths, this is worst scenario because if you try to tweak a synth you cant adjust parameters in synth GUI... you cant audition patch using VMK because VMK window is loosing focus... moreover when you record midi in project window or midi editor and you want to use shortcuts to stop, rewind, correct or overdub a note or short passage, you have to constantly switch in and out of VMK window focus... it will DRIVE YOU CRAZY IN 20 MINUTES !!!