Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Compatibility

Old 08-13-2012, 01:23 PM   #1
toronado
Human being with feelings

Default new build - how much $ for CPU/board?

I'm considering three possible budget/scenarios for CPU/board combos in my next build. I just need help deciding how much I want to spend. I plan to use the Intel integrated graphics with dual monitors. All three combos officially support that but I don't know what performance to expect in REAPER depending on the different generations of iGPUs:

1. $115 = Pentium G630 (HD Graphics) + ASRock H61M/U3S3
2. $240 = Core i3 2125 (HD 3000 Graphics) + GIGABYTE GA-Z68A-D3H-B3
3. $310 = Core i5 3570K (HD 4000 Graphics) + GIGABYTE GA-Z77-D3H

(All CPU prices are per MicroCenter and the boards are per NewEgg and rounded.)
toronado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2012, 02:11 PM   #2
ObiK

I'd usually stay away from integrated graphics but I have no experience with the latest Intel processors with improved performance in the graphics department. I'd always opt for the best you can afford with computer parts for your own build.
Old 08-13-2012, 02:21 PM   #3
Viente

Just build microITX DAW with Core i3-2120 (3.3Ghz) with integrated graphics

Super quiet, super cold, super compact, super stable and only for $300 (total)

Last edited by Viente; 08-13-2012 at 02:27 PM.
Viente is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2012, 02:23 PM   #4
Cosmic

I'm very successfullly running two monitors off my asrock h67m/i7 machine.

beast.
Old 08-13-2012, 08:44 PM   #5
toronado

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cosmic View Post
I'm very successfullly running two monitors off my asrock h67m/i7 machine.

beast.
Which i7? 1st gen or 2nd gen?
Old 08-14-2012, 07:27 PM   #6
toronado

Will 16GB RAM be enough?
Old 08-14-2012, 07:47 PM   #7
Breeder

Quote:
Originally Posted by toronado View Post
Will 16GB RAM be enough?