Old 06-20-2017, 05:46 PM   #1
Boss281
Human being with feelings

Default New Windows computer

I've spent the last couple of weeks on my 2011 era Dell laptop with Windows 7, 6MB RAM and fast, large hard drive and Reaper (using Presonus AudioBox iOne and drivers). Slow learning curve but I'll get there. I'm a Windows guys, and always will be, although as a software developer I once wrote programs for Apple (going back to the Apple IIe, prior to the Mac, and then later for the early Macs!). Also, while I've tried many PC vendors over the years, I have always come back to Dell and am looking to buy something exclusively for recording. The laptop is fine for EVERYTHING else I do.

So, question 1: laptop or desktop? Does the expandability and flexibility of the traditional desktop apply for recording (card-based interface vs USB interface). I DO like the idea of getting a monster screen.

Question 2: hardware specs. I can't find minimal requirements for Reaper anywhere on the website (I'm sure I overlooked it) but how much RAM, what processor, what kind of harddrive, etc?

For output, I'm using Mackie CR Series CR3 - 3" Creative Reference Multimedia Monitors and Sony MDR-7506 headphones. I think they're fine but if someone things I can get better sound out of either with something else please chime in.

Thanks in advance.
Boss281 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2017, 06:33 PM   #2
Gurt Tractor

What is your budget?
Gurt Tractor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2017, 07:33 PM   #3
Boss281

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gurt Tractor View Post
What is your budget?
$2k including system, screen, monitors.
Old 06-20-2017, 10:46 PM   #4
reapercurious

i think there is a better price performance ratio on a stationary computer, especially if you build it yourself. any modern computer you can build yourself today using new components will be more than enough to run Reaper well.

if your interface works on your new system, don't change anything.