Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > newbieland

Old 05-24-2017, 11:16 AM   #1
RMO
Human being with feelings

Default Piano MIDI recording including voices

Hi!
I am new to Reaper and this forum.
I have "studied" Reaper for some months now, trying to learn the basics. My goal at this time is to be able to record my P-105 Yamaha piano. Both as a piano and as a "Wood Bass" on another track. I have done this in Reaper using music tracks (wave) and succeded. But I want to be able to do it in MIDI so I can edit (erase errors and misstakes done while playing).
I am not interested in trying to build music in clean MIDI, at least not for now - I want my music recordings to be "handmade" piano and breathing, non-perfect jazzmusic + the possibility of editing.
I have tried to record the piano as MIDI in Reaper. The piano voice "Grand Piano 1" was used. It recorded ok. I could play it back from Reaper and I heard a piano-sound. The sound came out from under the piano, because I had made this setting under MIDI in Preferences (and deaktivated the soundcard of the computer, a HP Elite Book). Under the recording process I had no Fx / VSTi activated, because I wanted to get the "Grand Piano 1" sound from the Yamaha into my recording.
I then recorded a track2 with the "Wood Bass" voice, in exactly the same way as track1.
Problem:
The voices seem to not be recorded to the tracks. I just hear "a piano" (can't say what voice) and the same piano sound in stead of the "Wodd Bass" sound. So no wood bass.
I have followed the Yamaha Manual's recommendations to define the channels (pressing 2 buttons and some key on the piano).
Am I supposed to tell Reaper in some way, that the two voices should be "copied over" to my MIDI-recording in Reaper? If so, how do I do this?
Any help will be very much appreciated.
RMO
Sweden
RMO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2017, 11:44 AM   #2
DVDdoug