Old 12-30-2014, 08:37 AM   #1
MRT
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 125
Default Request for a Note Latch

I like to request a midi note latch and I was unable to find anything that could do this.

example: notes c1 to b1, if one note in this octave is pressed it will remain pressed until another note in the octave is pressed, then that note will remain on until the next key press. Any note outside the defined octave will release any held note, but not pass that note thru to the output.

This would be really handy for loading a selection of loops in a sampler and auditioning them in real time. Creating a sort of beat box.

If I've missed anything let me know.
Thanks
MRT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2014, 11:29 AM   #2
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 19,677
Default

... on the workbench:

__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...

Last edited by DarkStar; 12-31-2014 at 04:58 AM. Reason: new version
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2014, 04:09 AM   #3
MRT
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 125
Default

Wow, that's really a lot more than I was expecting. But it looks way cool.
Thanks for taking the time.
MRT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2014, 04:56 AM   #4
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 19,677
Default

Try the attached (rough and ready). it's programmed to use trigger keys 24-35 (C0 to B0 here)

(Post #4)How to install a JS FX
Attached Files
File Type: txt Note_Latch_DS.txt (8.4 KB, 201 views)
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2014, 04:45 PM   #5
MRT
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 125
Default

Thank You and all the best in the new year.
Just had a play with your latch and it's working like a charm, and it's good looking!

Thanks again for your efforts, and I do find it odd that no had done this before as popular as loops are these days.
MRT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2015, 07:01 AM   #6
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 5,247
Default

Great stuff Darkstar, thx a million !
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2015, 07:41 AM   #7
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 24,790
Default

This is neat!

However, I feel that a proper note latch plugin should work a bit differently. Factory JS is on the right path, but it's missing all-notes-off button.

Your plugin blocks all incoming notes except those defined by the pads. Which is fine for some, but IMHO the factory JS has the proper behaviour. Perhaps this could be switchable somehow?


Options that could be useful (and would make your v0.2 to v1.0, I suppose ):

* polyphonic latch mode (each key gets its own latch)
* toggle latch mode (press once to latch, press again to release the latch - can and must work with polyphonic latch mode)
* instead of pads, perhaps a better idea would be to sketch the keyboard instead? I know it's a lot more work!
* octave offset control (range -2 to +1 is enough I think)
* ???
* PROFIT!
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2015, 07:57 AM   #8
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 19,677
Default

^^^^
like this?



(still pad shapes as I cannot fit the names on piano keys)
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2015, 08:03 AM   #9
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 24,790
Default

That's ridiculous.


I was actually thinking about a single strip with all keys shown. Things don't have to be huge pads (I don't care about clickable pads - but visual feedback is important). So, just a keyboard-like strip, with octave Cs denoted below (check out Kontakt's MIDI latch script).

Also, found a slight bug in your script. Line 179, should probably be:

Code:
print_note_name((row_idx * noof_columns) + col_idx + FIRST_C);
instead of:

Code:
print_note_name(row_idx * 6 + col_idx + FIRST_C);
so that note names scale properly when one increases the column number.


Also, you need some better logic for determining how many rows to fit according to GUI height ("dynamic number of pads" section)... Current fixed values you have don't quite work once you change the constants for pad size and padding/offset etc...

Last edited by EvilDragon; 02-02-2015 at 08:11 AM.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2015, 08:31 AM   #10
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 19,677
Default

Buglet - Oops, as you have seen I fixed it elsewhere and missed that one.

Dynamic number of pads- yep, that was brute force coding.

Still, it must mean that my code is (relatively) easy to read.
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2015, 10:05 AM   #11
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 19,677
Default

?
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2015, 10:22 AM   #12
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 24,790
Default

Holy crap YES!


Black keys a bit taller though Arrows to change octaves. Almost there!


I need more time to become proficient with JS. Someday... But for now I'm amazed.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2015, 03:28 AM   #13
MRT
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 125
Default

I just ran across a js MIDI latch that I was unaware of.

https://stash.reaper.fm/v/1422/IX%20M...Utils%20II.zip

It functions a little differently from Darkstar's Latch .2,but has some pretty cool additional features. It does not look anywhere as nice
Thought you may be interested in taking a look at it.

It's part of an effects bundle, I guess that why I didn't find it before making my initial request.
MRT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2015, 12:37 PM   #14
IXix
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: mcr:uk
Posts: 3,889
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MRT View Post
It does not look anywhere as nice
How very dare you?!
IXix is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.