Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > Recording Technologies and Techniques

Old 02-28-2017, 08:51 AM   #1
reapermusic
Human being with feelings

Default Audio interface quality question for direct recording guitar

Hi everyone,

I was thinking about upgrading my audio interface an (OLD M-Audio mobile pre)
I only record one track at a time and do not mic a cab.
I plug straight in to the M-Audio and use Revalver amp/cab plugins in Reaper.
There is nothing wrong with my audio interface but just wondering if upgrading to a better/newer interface will have any advantages or improvements over the one I presently have. I understand that it would if I was micing a cab but I only record direct and using amp cab sims. Another reason I'm considering an upgrade is simply G.A.S lol

I also record in to a Lenovo desktop, 2nd gen i3 cpu with 8GB ram (I know I'll need to upgrade soon LOL)

I'm still a NEWB so my question might be silly.
reapermusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2017, 10:24 AM   #2
jerome_oneil

Quote:
Originally Posted by reapermusic View Post
There is nothing wrong with my audio interface
OK.

Quote:
but just wondering if upgrading to a better/newer interface will have any advantages or improvements over the one I presently have.
There is nothing wrong with the one you have.

Quote:
Another reason I'm considering an upgrade is simply G.A.S lol
And that is totally alright. Go get a new interface, man.
jerome_oneil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2017, 10:46 AM   #3
Lorbakounet

The only thing that would make sense for you currently is to check whether your line input has instrument level impedance (-20db) or not.
Lorbakounet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2017, 10:50 AM   #4
Judders

If you really want to spend some money, how about getting a DI box with a nice transformer in it?

That should make more of an audible difference than replacing your prosumer interface with another prosumer interface.