Old 04-27-2017, 08:31 AM   #1641
danboid
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 36
Default good sport

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4duhwinnn View Post
Wowsers...feels like
I'm watching the Masters 18th green leaderboard at Augusta National,
and the birdies and eagles keep on dazzling the crowd.
Sportscasters would say, 'They're putting on a clinic, now.'
Time to fit Justin for a champions Green Jacket.
That is my fave non-Justin-fixing-stuff post in this thread yet. Where's Will Ferrell when you need him?
danboid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2017, 09:45 AM   #1642
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,125
Default

Aha, duplicated that docking crash. Looks like it's some non-trivial memory corruption, installing valgrind now...

Edit: valgrind is awesome! Fix is in this patch:

http://1014.org/_/menu-fix.txt

(coming soon to git)

Last edited by Justin; 04-27-2017 at 10:28 AM.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2017, 11:39 AM   #1643
Veto
Human being with feelings
 
Veto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 613
Default

It's totally fixed, great work!

This bug seems to be fixed too!
(alas that old Gtk3.10 bug not. Anyway..)

Need to check out valgrind someday too (played a bit with it on codeblocks right now).
Veto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2017, 02:55 PM   #1644
4duhwinnn
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 35
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Winter View Post
Not quite sure what click-to-front is, but the behaviour of reaper ought to be configurable no matter what the window manager does by configuring gdk_options=x (bitmap) found in the [.swell] section in ~/.REAPER/reaper.ini.
Open reaper, load a plugin with a large gui, click reaper gui,
it moves to the front, click the plugin gui, and that moves to the front.

That works in windows reaper 5.40, it works with linux reaper
when using E17 window manager, but not with cinnamon or lxde
window managers.

I'm not seeing anything in the .ini that relates to that.
Setting the flag=2 (2=raise owned windows) didn't change that.
If there are some config options available, but not listed,
it would be nice to have them listed, but commented out.
Cheers

(A side effect of testing, is to concoct useful ways of using
native linux reaper with the wine version)
I'm gonna install a newer E21 in Mint18 for more testing,
as the E17 is on Mint17.
Cheers
4duhwinnn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2017, 11:16 PM   #1645
Sami
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Aha, duplicated that docking crash. Looks like it's some non-trivial memory corruption, installing valgrind now...

Edit: valgrind is awesome! Fix is in this patch:

http://1014.org/_/menu-fix.txt

(coming soon to git)
Does libSwell qualify for coverity scans?

https://scan.coverity.com/
Sami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2017, 12:58 AM   #1646
4duhwinnn
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 35
Default

Installed the E21 window manager, with great satisfaction,
if not elation, at using the most configurable DAW
in the most configurable linux environment, it is hard to express
the effect that has. What a joy to work where the tools and workspace
are not in conflict, not subverting one's productivity,
and are even an artwork to enjoy, when at leisure.

Add to that using the great linux effects apps/plugins with
a wide range of fine windows vsts working via Airwave,
or Lin-Vst, and even a blind squirrel will be in harvest mode,
filberts and pecans and walnuts just begging to be discovered.

There is a pre-configured Enlightenment based audio/video
distribution, I haven't tried it yet, but it's had a few new releases,
and it should be great fun, and has several useful boot options
to cover a variety of needs/wishes:

http://io.gnu.linux.free.fr/

Bodhi Linux also uses Enlightenment, but is a barebones distro,
for people who like to add only what they use.

http://www.bodhilinux.com/

Cheers
4duhwinnn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2017, 03:59 AM   #1647
David Else
Human being with feelings
 
David Else's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Near London, UK
Posts: 374
Default

Quick question for osxmidi, how 'experimental' is the LinVst-Embed version? Is it likely to crash more or cause any problems? I have not tried it yet as I am so happy with the normal LinVst.

I assume the embed version will let me keep the focus on the Reaper application rather than Wine, then I can keep using the spacebar for start/stop without having to click back onto the main Reaper application window from the Wine processes running the VST?
__________________
----------> Fedora Linux Distribution = Computing Joy & Freedom <----------
Learn Digital Audio Home | 'Nebula Explained' Course Out Now! | YouTube Channel | Facebook | Twitter
David Else is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2017, 05:23 AM   #1648
osxmidi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 150
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Else View Post
Quick question for osxmidi, how 'experimental' is the LinVst-Embed version? Is it likely to crash more or cause any problems? I have not tried it yet as I am so happy with the normal LinVst.

I assume the embed version will let me keep the focus on the Reaper application rather than Wine, then I can keep using the spacebar for start/stop without having to click back onto the main Reaper application window from the Wine processes running the VST?
The Embed version is named experimental because of Wines strange embedding ways, that hardly anyone documents.

The embedding version actually works pretty well, it's just that I'm not totally sure it's foolproof and it generates a Wine fixme printout warning but that doesn't seem to matter, so I'm just not totally sure of it due to Wines strange embedding support and the lack of info about it, but it does work ok as far as I know in my tests at least.

I think you mentioned latency some post back.

I've been playing around with LinVst on the Mac and I'm getting very low latency even on one of my very old 32 bit only Macs (Snow Leopard dual core MacBook).

It surprised me how low latency LinVst was on the Mac, easy to get less than 5ms latency and I couldn't pick up on any latency difference between the native OSX Podolski and the Windows Podolski running with LinVst.

Macs and OSX/MacOS are known for pretty low latency.

On Linux I'm using a low latency kernel on Ubuntu Studio but that's not a real time kernel and the latency is pretty average for something like the Windows Podolski running under LinVst.

So I switched to a real time kernel to compare and now I'm getting latency similar to the Mac, so a real time RT kernel is the way to go for audio in general I think.

Last edited by osxmidi; 04-28-2017 at 05:39 AM.
osxmidi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2017, 05:25 AM   #1649
Finnish
Human being with feelings
 
Finnish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Finland, Kuopio
Posts: 828
Default

How hard it is to install SWS extensions in linux reaper? Mixer snapshots would've saved me 1-2 hours this morning..
__________________
REGISTERED USER
My music, studio and bands
Finnish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2017, 03:05 PM   #1650
Jack Winter
Human being with feelings
 
Jack Winter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 750
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by osxmidi View Post
On Linux I'm using a low latency kernel on Ubuntu Studio but that's not a real time kernel and the latency is pretty average for something like the Windows Podolski running under LinVst.

So I switched to a real time kernel to compare and now I'm getting latency similar to the Mac, so a real time RT kernel is the way to go for audio in general I think.
I don't see that it hurts at all to use a RT kernel, but IMO if you can't get one easily and you're happy with larger buffer sizes then the so called low latency one is ok. But if you want really low latencies without any audio dropouts, then RT is more or less required, and maybe some trouble shooting as wifi, bluetooth or other devices with badly written drivers can mess it up
__________________
Software: Archlinux/KDE/Wine, Reaper64, Komplete8, IK Multimedia, Toontrack and various other plugs. Gear: i7-2600k, 16gb ram, RME Multiface, RME Babyface, Behringer X32, Genelec 8040, and much more :)
Jack Winter is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2017, 03:07 PM   #1651
Jack Winter
Human being with feelings
 
Jack Winter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 750
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Finnish View Post
How hard it is to install SWS extensions in linux reaper? Mixer snapshots would've saved me 1-2 hours this morning..
Not all that hard. You have to get the source code, copy some header files into it, run "make" and finally copy (or symlink) the shared library. Instructions are in a readme file.
__________________
Software: Archlinux/KDE/Wine, Reaper64, Komplete8, IK Multimedia, Toontrack and various other plugs. Gear: i7-2600k, 16gb ram, RME Multiface, RME Babyface, Behringer X32, Genelec 8040, and much more :)
Jack Winter is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2017, 06:25 PM   #1652
Thuneau
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 235
Default

I got my Raspberry Pi and Audio Injector Octo ( http://audioinjector.net/ ) today and with very little effort I got it to pass audio to all 8 outputs and do ReaEQ and ReaDelay on all outputs. All it took was installing Jack and the drivers for the Octo Card. CPU use under 30%.

This will be my DSP crossover for my party speakers. Just about $100.00 all included- Raspberry Pi, SD Card, power supply and the 6-in 8-out sound card.

Can Reaper be installed in Raspbian OS like other apps, to appear in the programs menu? Right now I'm running it from the unzipped folder.
Thuneau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2017, 06:35 PM   #1653
Jack Winter
Human being with feelings
 
Jack Winter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 750
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thuneau View Post
I got my Raspberry Pi and Audio Injector Octo ( http://audioinjector.net/ ) today and with very little effort I got it to pass audio to all 8 outputs and do ReaEQ and ReaDelay on all outputs. All it took was installing Jack and the drivers for the Octo Card. CPU use under 30%.

This will be my DSP crossover for my party speakers. Just about $100.00 all included- Raspberry Pi, SD Card, power supply and the 6-in 8-out sound card.

Can Reaper be installed in Raspbian OS like other apps, to appear in the programs menu? Right now I'm running it from the unzipped folder.
That's really cool! Yesterday I started working on writing definitions to give reaper a sub menu entry for itself (similar to the windows one) and to create mime types so that clicking on a related file would start reaper.

Give me a day or two and I think it will be decent. Biggest problem is how to install it so that's it's painless for the user..

Maybe the js:eventhorizon would be a good addition to your chain.
__________________
Software: Archlinux/KDE/Wine, Reaper64, Komplete8, IK Multimedia, Toontrack and various other plugs. Gear: i7-2600k, 16gb ram, RME Multiface, RME Babyface, Behringer X32, Genelec 8040, and much more :)
Jack Winter is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2017, 06:53 PM   #1654
Thuneau
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 235
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Winter View Post
That's really cool! Yesterday I started working on writing definitions to give reaper a sub menu entry for itself (similar to the windows one) and to create mime types so that clicking on a related file would start reaper.

Give me a day or two and I think it will be decent. Biggest problem is how to install it so that's it's painless for the user..

Maybe the js:eventhorizon would be a good addition to your chain.
Yes, I will add limiters to the outputs to protect the drivers. Event Horizon might be overkill, but if it doesn't use more CPU than the ReaComp why not?

The one thing I need to set up is auto starting Reaper on reboot and making sure the inputs are record enabled and in monitoring mode.

Also, I would like to use the GPIO pins to whip up a master volume control on a 10k pot. I know they need to be scripted to send continuous controls to software, but I don't know how to hook into individual faders in Reaper. Some sort of GPIO to MIDI control bridge will be needed.
Thuneau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2017, 09:03 PM   #1655
magicchord
Human being with feelings
 
magicchord's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: L.A. Cahleefornia
Posts: 273
Default

I notice when running ReaperLinux on Mint 18.1/64 and my mobo's internal sound, when I try to change the project sample rate, Reaper's sample rate doesn't change. It's 48K and that's that. Something I need to go to the command line and change?
magicchord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 06:18 AM   #1656
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,125
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by magicchord View Post
I notice when running ReaperLinux on Mint 18.1/64 and my mobo's internal sound, when I try to change the project sample rate, Reaper's sample rate doesn't change. It's 48K and that's that. Something I need to go to the command line and change?
I think you need to change samplerate for jackd
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 08:23 AM   #1657
osxmidi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 150
Default

I came across an interesting optimisation for Ubuntu Studio 16.x.

It's a script that configures real time optimisations without using a real time kernel and from my tests it appears to work very well.

I'm getting similar latency performance as a real time kernel.

It eliminates the Reaper yellow flashes on my old Dell (struggles a bit at 10ms latency) using the same Jack settings.

https://bitbucket.org/thismaechler/u...dio/downloads/

and run the optimize-realtime script.

It stops some services like the network manager, so if someone wants to keep their net connection then edit rtaudio-mode.conf in the cfg directory and remove the network-manager line.

Last edited by osxmidi; Today at 05:45 AM.
osxmidi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 01:08 PM   #1658
David Else
Human being with feelings
 
David Else's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Near London, UK
Posts: 374
Default

Are .eel scripts meant to work yet? This one seems to open with an empty black window:

https://raw.githubusercontent.com/EU...%20Deesser.eel

I also got another full system crash on starting Reaper (5.407, all as downloaded, with SWS I compiled myself). The only way I could regain control of the computer was ctrl-alt-f3 to open another system terminal and type 'shutdown'.

It just froze when I tried to open a recent project from the opening screen, not sure I was doing anything different to normal, and no idea how to send any crash data?
__________________
----------> Fedora Linux Distribution = Computing Joy & Freedom <----------
Learn Digital Audio Home | 'Nebula Explained' Course Out Now! | YouTube Channel | Facebook | Twitter
David Else is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 03:56 PM   #1659
4duhwinnn
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 35
Default

While testing Airwave modded plugins, I notice sometimes when I remove
a plugin, if I leave the plugin panel as-is, the replacement
plugin is not drawn correctly, and hangs the system.
It's better if I dismiss that panel, and reopen by clicking
the FX button. Even then sometimes the new plugin also draws incorrectly,
and I have to remove the track itself, before loading a new plugin.
That's in Mint 17, with crummy Intel 2nd gen video chip
and wine 1.8 (not exactly the Ruth, Gehrig and DiMaggio of DAW displays!)
Certainly not the highest priority, but maybe coincides with other issues later.

For those interested, these airwave mods are working in 5.407

Abakos (from Hercs)
Absynth 5
Alchemy player
Angelina (from BigTick)
Augur
BarChimes (by quikquak)
CMFuzz (great distortion/compressor/filter combo)
CumulusVST
Curve2CM
Firebird
Massive
Oatmeal 3.8 (with alternate skin)
Poulin Solo_C_Fullstack (great soldano ampsim)
RG-Muted_CM
Reaktor 5
SQ8L
Synth1
Voyager (with Asseca skin setup)
Wusikstation 5
z3ta+ 1.5

Some serious preset, randomization, and creation tonage among them!
Add in the tonage from the vast U-he collection, discoDSP, and a few dozen
other native linux vsts...well, how that effects your day-job,
is strictly up to you!
Cheers

Last edited by 4duhwinnn; Yesterday at 03:57 PM. Reason: clearness
4duhwinnn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 08:57 PM   #1660
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,125
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Else View Post
Are .eel scripts meant to work yet? This one seems to open with an empty black window:

https://raw.githubusercontent.com/EU...%20Deesser.eel
Hmm it works here, maybe some font issue or something... try the latest swell from today?
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 11:03 PM   #1661
avoca
Human being with feelings
 
avoca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ireland
Posts: 150
Default

Drag 'n' drop is working now (from Media Explorer to timeline).
Xubuntu 17.04 (Xfce)

And <tab> to cycle through yes/no/cancel on the 'Save project before closing' is a nice addition.

Ta!!

avoca
avoca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 11:20 PM   #1662
avoca
Human being with feelings
 
avoca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ireland
Posts: 150
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Else View Post
Are .eel scripts meant to work yet? This one seems to open with an empty black window:

https://raw.githubusercontent.com/EU...%20Deesser.eel
The same happens here: just an empty black window.

avoca
avoca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 02:57 AM   #1663
David Else
Human being with feelings
 
David Else's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Near London, UK
Posts: 374
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Hmm it works here, maybe some font issue or something... try the latest swell from today?
I compiled today's swell (Apr 30, 2017) and it is still blank.

I saw there is some update in git that talks about choosing fonts, but i can't find it... is that working yet? Cheers!
__________________
----------> Fedora Linux Distribution = Computing Joy & Freedom <----------
Learn Digital Audio Home | 'Nebula Explained' Course Out Now! | YouTube Channel | Facebook | Twitter
David Else is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 03:21 AM   #1664
David Else
Human being with feelings
 
David Else's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Near London, UK
Posts: 374
Default

(5.407 with downloaded swell file)

I don't know if this is a bug, but there are large delays when clicking on help > about reaper > changelog

It might take a few seconds to open the about dialog, then a few seconds 'freeze' before displaying the changelog. If you click around between the dialogs there is a noticeable delay.

With all the crazy power of Reaper I can't believe it is meant to take that amount of time to open a text file
__________________
----------> Fedora Linux Distribution = Computing Joy & Freedom <----------
Learn Digital Audio Home | 'Nebula Explained' Course Out Now! | YouTube Channel | Facebook | Twitter
David Else is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 08:21 AM   #1665
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,125
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Else View Post
(5.407 with downloaded swell file)

I don't know if this is a bug, but there are large delays when clicking on help > about reaper > changelog

It might take a few seconds to open the about dialog, then a few seconds 'freeze' before displaying the changelog. If you click around between the dialogs there is a noticeable delay.

With all the crazy power of Reaper I can't believe it is meant to take that amount of time to open a text file
Word-wrapping code is slow, fixing!

Re: the de-esser .eel, fixing too (seems gfx_clear messes things up for some reason).
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 08:28 AM   #1666
David Else
Human being with feelings
 
David Else's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Near London, UK
Posts: 374
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Word-wrapping code is slow, fixing!

Re: the de-esser .eel, fixing too (seems gfx_clear messes things up for some reason).
Awesome!
__________________
----------> Fedora Linux Distribution = Computing Joy & Freedom <----------
Learn Digital Audio Home | 'Nebula Explained' Course Out Now! | YouTube Channel | Facebook | Twitter
David Else is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 09:28 AM   #1667
osxmidi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 150
Default

Real Time kernels for Ubuntu, Ubuntu Studio, Debian.

These are somewhat hard to find especially for Ubuntu, so I thought I'd post the links.

Rolling your own real time kernel is not that easy for everyone.

Ubuntu, Ubuntu Studio http://simosnet.com/debian/packages/...ubuntu/kernel/

Debian http://snapshot.debian.org/binary/?cat=l

Look for -rt headers and matching -rt kernels (amd64, i386)

Do a uname -a in the Terminal and get the current kernel version and try to get a near matching real time headers and matching real time kernel version.

Install the kernel headers first and then the matching kernel image.

The script I posted https://bitbucket.org/thismaechler/u...dio/downloads/ cuts down on latency very well by itself (probably works on Ubuntu and maybe even Debian as well as Ubuntu Studio).
The script stops some services that could interfere with latency and controls the cpu power scaling.
It stops some services like the network manager, so if someone wants to keep their net connection then edit rtaudio-mode.conf in the cfg directory and remove the network-manager line.

The real time kernels are another option.

I'm running the script and the real time kernel with no conflicts on Nvidia based quad core systems and my latency has gone way down very near to my Macs I'd say.

10ms latency using a low latency kernel wasn't happening in a steady way on my old Dell, but it's all steady with a real time kernel and maybe I can go lower than 10ms but I don't care too much because it's just a test system.

Last edited by osxmidi; Today at 10:02 AM.
osxmidi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.