Old 08-02-2015, 07:21 AM   #1
siddhu
Human being with feelings
 
siddhu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Paris
Posts: 58
Default Question CC Mapping Min & Max Values

In Live it’s easy to set max and min values when mapping a parameter to a controller. I’ve spent the last 20 minute digging through the menus to try to find out how this is done in Reaper but to no avail!

How do is this accomplished in Reaper?

Thanks!
__________________
Kama Sutra Lovers
siddhu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2015, 09:11 AM   #2
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 19,677
Default

Stop digging. it is not implemented in Reaper. Many people have requested it.

You might be able to achieve something kludging around with Parameter Modulation.
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2015, 10:18 AM   #3
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 22,754
Default

Yep - I miss that too.
I would hope that it is something one of our fabulous scripter chaps could deal with if sufficiently motivated, though.

This would be SO nice - a nice little optio where we could either click on a +/- button, or similar.
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2015, 02:20 PM   #4
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 14,690
Default

Do you mean midi CC to a VST ? Using sliders for defining min and max values.

Seems like five lines of code in a JSFX. Maybe such a JSFX already comes with Reaper.

-Michael
mschnell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2015, 02:21 AM   #5
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 19,677
Default

22 lines actually, but you do get 4 parameters:


  • place the JS FX in front of the FX you want to control.
  • twiddle a control in the FX, click [Param] then 'Parameter Modulation' then 'Link from parameter' and select one of the JS FX 'Out' parameters
  • on env_ranger, drag the parameter 'In' slider until you see the desired minimum and maximum values in your FX,
  • set those slider values on the parameter 'Min' and 'Max' sliders
  • (optionally) 'MIDI Learn' the 'In sliders to your MIDI controller or draw Automation envelopes for them.

Here is env_ranger before setting the ranges:

>>> https://i.imgur.com/zCQ87Zf.gif

And after:

>>> https://i.imgur.com/YPPrTIx.gif
Attached Files
File Type: zip env_ranger_01.zip (1.8 KB, 361 views)
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2015, 04:42 AM   #6
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 22,754
Default

DS - looks impressive, but as one of the hard of thinking when it comes to extrapolating from the generic to the specific, how would I use this if for instance I wanted to limit the overall range of the velocity of notes within a selected range?

Or is that indeed one of the ways this could be used?
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2015, 05:38 AM   #7
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 19,677
Default

It's not designed for that. From memory, IXix's MIDI Tool II will do what you want

This JS FX enables you to map the full range 0f a MIDI CC controller knob / slider to a partial range of an FX parameter (which is what I think the OP was after).
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2015, 06:34 AM   #8
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 22,754
Default

Ah! I was afraid of that - I will check out XiXic's midi tool 2.
Thanks
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2015, 04:52 PM   #9
siddhu
Human being with feelings
 
siddhu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Paris
Posts: 58
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkStar View Post
It's not designed for that. From memory, IXix's MIDI Tool II will do what you want

This JS FX enables you to map the full range 0f a MIDI CC controller knob / slider to a partial range of an FX parameter (which is what I think the OP was after).
Thanks DS! I'll have to try this out. I think you understand what I was trying to do.
__________________
Kama Sutra Lovers
siddhu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2015, 04:57 PM   #10
siddhu
Human being with feelings
 
siddhu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Paris
Posts: 58
Default

@DS, can you post a link to download the JSFX? It's not in the Reaper file I downloaded.

EDIT - Found it my bad.

Thanks!!!
__________________
Kama Sutra Lovers

Last edited by siddhu; 08-21-2015 at 05:04 PM.
siddhu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2015, 12:04 AM   #11
rmm
Human being with feelings
 
rmm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: in the cellar
Posts: 351
Default

there is a js plugin included in reaper that will enable you to set min and max values.
rmm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2015, 08:43 AM   #12
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 19,677
Default

Here's another demo- you can see the P1 envelope modulating the Alpha Free / Cutoff envelope (between 998 and 2503 Hz) and the Cutoff knob move accordingly.



To set the target range:
-- set the JS FX parameter IN to 0,
-- change the parameter Min value until you see the desired minimum value in target envelope
-- set the JS FX parameter IN to 999 (the max),
-- change the parameter Max value until you see the desired maximum value in target envelope
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...

Last edited by DarkStar; 06-16-2016 at 09:06 AM.
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 10:36 PM   #13
ProFête
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 56
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rmm View Post
there is a js plugin included in reaper that will enable you to set min and max values.
what is the name of this plugin please ?
ProFête is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2018, 06:21 PM   #14
ProFête
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 56
Default

thank you, very usefull

i edited the script to have 16384 value and limit the range to 4096 to control external hardware with nrpn 4096 range
ProFête is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.