Old 08-24-2009, 04:48 AM   #1
jordNZ
Human being with feelings

Default How do I work my UX2?

Haha, I know this may sound stupid but...

I get my new Line 6 POD Studio UX2 (http://line6.com/podstudioux2/) in a couple of days and before I get it I want to know exactly how to use it, thus saving my frustration on the day.

I understand that it's a 'VST Plug-in' so how do I record it through REAPER? Do I need to set the input to the USB interface of the UX2 or do I just make a new track and hit 'fx' and choose the POD Farm software VST and arm and record through REAPER without setting an input?

I just want to know exactly how it all works. Sorry if it's a stupid question - I'm just really new to this all still, haha.

Cheers,
Jordan.
jordNZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 11:04 AM   #2
nfpotter

Quote:
Originally Posted by jordNZ View Post
Haha, I know this may sound stupid but...

I get my new Line 6 POD Studio UX2 (http://line6.com/podstudioux2/) in a couple of days and before I get it I want to know exactly how to use it, thus saving my frustration on the day.

I understand that it's a 'VST Plug-in' so how do I record it through REAPER? Do I need to set the input to the USB interface of the UX2 or do I just make a new track and hit 'fx' and choose the POD Farm software VST and arm and record through REAPER without setting an input?

I just want to know exactly how it all works. Sorry if it's a stupid question - I'm just really new to this all still, haha.

Cheers,
Jordan.
"It" is not a plugin, "it" is hardware. It will come with USB drivers for ASIO, follow the instructions to install. Once you've got it set up, it will become your "soundcard". You will set your inputs and outputs up in Reaper to use the UX2's ASIO driver.

As far as the software, yes, I believe it comes as a plugin? As well as a front end, stand-alone interface (I have a UX2, but mine was before Pod Farm, I have the Gearbox program, which didn't come as a plugin at the time).