Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > newbieland

Old 06-20-2016, 11:36 AM   #1
pietro79
Human being with feelings

Default Advise: Switch from Pro Tools/Macbook to Reaper/PC?

Hello!

First post to this forum. Wasn't sure if this was the right place to post this, or perhaps the compatibility forum. So, let me know if I should put this elsewhere.

I'm going to be purchasing a new computer (I've had my current one for 9 years now!). And at while I'm at it, I'm planning to transition from Pro Tools to Reaper (I have been using Reaper at my workplace and am blown away by it).

I'm just starting to figure out all the things I need to consider so as to do both--new computer, switch to Reaper--as best as possible.

Apologies in advance if my query is not more specific, but I'm just beginning to wrap my head around the transition and things I should be considering. Any guidance you can offer will help me ask better questions as I zero in on what I need to do.

- I record bands, and I do music and sound design for film.

- I would like to continue using my Digi002R interface, for the time being. It uses FireWire 400. So, considering FireWire 400 is an old connection format, I'll need some sort of adapter? And a driver to use the DIgi002R with Reaper?

- I am not attached to Apple computers, so switching to PC is fine (though not having to deal with antivirus stuff is nice, and other things I'm not expecting about PC). Is Lenovo the only PC brand to consider? Which series? I don't dislike Macs, they're just more expensive. Then again, Lenovo's are perhaps the same price? If which case it would maybe be safer for me to just stick with Mac.

- I would like a computer that I can keep for a long time (in an age where they're built to be thrown out in a couple of years, long means 8+ years to me). Anything with a reputation for longevity is appealing to me (of course we can never predict obsolescence by software).