Old 05-20-2017, 02:25 AM   #1
puremusic
Human being with feelings

Default Speeding up Note Fade Out

Hey, beginner here, got a question about note fade out. Here I am playing my piano VST in Reaper, and when I hit the keys, and keep 'em down, the notes sustain but don't fade out to nothing as quickly as I want.

Is there a way for me to adjust the speed of the note fade out, so that while it sustains when I hold the key, it fades out quicker or slower?

A MIDI effect plugin or setting I can set?

To be clear I want something real time and global here for when I am playing, not to have to go and after I'm done start applying individual fader effects to each note.
puremusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2017, 02:50 AM   #2
slipstick

That's the sort of thing that's normally done within the VST itself. If you say what VST you're using someone will probably know it. Look for controls called "Decay", "Release" or something similar and try adjusting them.

Steve
slipstick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2017, 03:38 AM   #3
puremusic

This is really too bad, as the VSTs don't have it.

I have three different piano VSTs I normally use and none of them have it.
Old 05-20-2017, 04:34 AM   #4
uncleswede

Quote:
Originally Posted by puremusic View Post
This is really too bad, as the VSTs don't have it.

I have three different piano VSTs I normally use and none of them have it.
What are the names of your three piano VSTs?
uncleswede is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2017, 06:02 AM   #5
puremusic

Sonivox EightyEight, Fazioli Concert Grand, Braunschweig Upright.

The former has a knob labeled "Release" but it does nothing whatsoever that I can tell, maxed or minned.

The latter uses ISP's player since I don't have Kontakt, and that only comes with a volume knob.
Old 05-20-2017, 09:30 AM   #6
slipstick