Old 10-20-2015, 06:53 PM   #1
peter5992
Human being with feelings
 
peter5992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 6,663
Default Screen capture video program

Good evening!

This is my first post here. I am a long time Reaper user (since 2008), commercial license.

I am looking for screen capturing video software, so I can record a Reaper project, video and audio simultaneously.

Is licecap good for that? Just looking for a simple program that can make an accurate recording of what I see on my computer monitors, so I can send it to my film making collaborators.

Thanks!
peter5992 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2015, 08:00 PM   #2
peter5992
Human being with feelings
 
peter5992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 6,663
Question

Well ... I downloaded and installed Licecap, and I recorded my project.

Disillusion ... none of the audio was captured.

I uninstalled licecap from my computer.

Any recommendations as to software that can get a good screen grab, both audio and video, high definition?
peter5992 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2015, 08:31 PM   #3
zyisrad
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 280
Default

http://camstudio.org/

You might have to route the audio from a hardware out back into your motherboard line in.
zyisrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2015, 05:26 AM   #4
Paul99
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 543
Default

I watched the website of Camstudio and it looks guite interesting also because it is free software!
But when I wanted to download the program, my Eset antivirus suite blocked the download website as being malicious. I scanned the setup-program at virustotal.com and there were a lot of well known anti-virus software manufactures warning for potential risc: https://www.virustotal.com/nl/file/a...is/1445423269/
I know sometimes a scanner returns a generic code because the program is rather unknown to the scanner or the program makes changes in the registry. In this case no results are generic codes.
Maybe some more experienced users can chime in on this?
Paul99 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2015, 05:58 AM   #5
unmixed
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 142
Default

BB FlashBack Express is free & lightweight,it can export to AVI,the paid version has more editing options

http://www.bbsoftware.co.uk/BBFlashBack_FreePlayer.aspx

http://www.bbsoftware.co.uk/BBFlashB...eEditions.aspx
unmixed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2015, 05:59 AM   #6
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 17,874
Default

I grabbed bandicam a few years ago, been great ever since. I use lice cap for short animated GIF videos, when I want audio or more fancy features I use bandicam.
__________________
Your whole life people will tell you what you can't do. Getting past them is the first step to actually getting things done.
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2015, 06:02 AM   #7
unmixed
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 142
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by peter5992 View Post

Disillusion ... none of the audio was captured.

Licecap is GIF generator,for webpages,not really made for video
unmixed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2015, 04:29 PM   #8
peter5992
Human being with feelings
 
peter5992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 6,663
Default

Thanks for the feedback guys!
peter5992 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2015, 04:35 PM   #9
heda
Human being with feelings
 
heda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 3,927
Default

Hi Peter, I would recommend you to use Open Broadcaster Software.
It can be used to stream the video live or just save it as a file in your hard drive instead. You can define to capture all monitors or just one region, or program window, and your webcam at the same time if needed etc...
It's free open source and great
https://obsproject.com/
__________________
HeDaScripts for REAPER | VIP Donations
heda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2015, 04:59 PM   #10
derek.john.evans
Human being with feelings
 
derek.john.evans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 217
Default

Im also looking for a decent (small) video/sound capture tool.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul99 View Post
I watched the website of Camstudio and it looks guite interesting also because it is free software!
But when I wanted to download the program, my Eset antivirus suite blocked the download website as being malicious. I scanned the setup-program at virustotal.com and there were a lot of well known anti-virus software manufactures warning for potential risc:
I tried CamStudio (from SourceForge) a few days ago. Yep, Yahoo took over my browsers homepage and search. Even when I uninstalled camstudio and changed settings, I had problems. It installed a exe which kept changing the settings of my browsers. I found the exe by searching for the recently modified *.exe on my system and terminated & deleted it. (it wasn't part of CamStudio)

Unsure what else that it installed, but, I wouldn't go near it again.

I'm currently using Rylstim Screen Recorder. but I dont think it records sound.
http://www.sketchman-studio.com/ryls...reen-recorder/
__________________
http://wascal.net/music/
derek.john.evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2015, 05:14 PM   #11
derek.john.evans
Human being with feelings
 
derek.john.evans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 217
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by unmixed View Post
BB FlashBack Express is free & lightweight,it can export to AVI,the paid version has more editing options

http://www.bbsoftware.co.uk/BBFlashBack_FreePlayer.aspx

http://www.bbsoftware.co.uk/BBFlashB...eEditions.aspx

Cool. Thanks for the tip BBFlashBack works for me.
__________________
http://wascal.net/music/
derek.john.evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2015, 09:01 PM   #12
zyisrad
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 280
Default

My bad on suggesting CamStudio. I used to use it a lot years ago. I forgot that it was on Sourceforge and Sourceforge is basically all malware now.
zyisrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2015, 06:55 AM   #13
unmixed
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 142
Default

Sourceforge & Download.Cnet proudly infesting your computer since 200(?)

Their on my blacklist,sites don't even open with Ublock Origin
unmixed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2015, 08:56 AM   #14
toddhisattva
Human being with feelings
 
toddhisattva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Austin
Posts: 239
Default OBS-ervation

Quote:
Originally Posted by heda View Post
Hi Peter, I would recommend you to use Open Broadcaster Software.
It can be used to stream the video live or just save it as a file in your hard drive instead. You can define to capture all monitors or just one region, or program window, and your webcam at the same time if needed etc...
It's free open source and great
https://obsproject.com/
Another vote for OBS. A little "difficult" to set up but once done it records audio and video in sync and doesn't kill the frame rate.
toddhisattva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2015, 07:36 PM   #15
peter5992
Human being with feelings
 
peter5992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 6,663
Default

Hmm.... no love from OBS.

What am I doing wrong?

Last edited by peter5992; 02-28-2016 at 12:01 PM.
peter5992 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2015, 08:37 AM   #16
LB75
Human being with feelings
 
LB75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 44
Default

I'm also trying to use OBS. Anyone have specifics on the 'difficult' setup part?
LB75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2016, 03:29 PM   #17
Indemuse
Human being with feelings
 
Indemuse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: North Carolina, USA
Posts: 66
Default

Same here on OBS. I think it's a no-go. I tried it with voicemeeter as well and it simply doesn't work. Maybe Reaper will add a screen capture option one day...
Indemuse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2016, 09:23 PM   #18
pipelineaudio
Mortal
 
pipelineaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wickenburg, Arizona
Posts: 11,215
Default

Heda, how can you get OBS to capture a VST window?
__________________
REAPER Shirts are Back! - http://reapermerch.com
pipelineaudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2016, 06:37 AM   #19
heda
Human being with feelings
 
heda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 3,927
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pipelineaudio View Post
Heda, how can you get OBS to capture a VST window?
I think you would have to not move the VST window, and then crop a display capture or window capture to just capture this part of the screen. You can crop by SHIFT+ALT+drag the red circles handles when you select a source.
__________________
HeDaScripts for REAPER | VIP Donations
heda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2016, 08:59 AM   #20
SiKo
Human being with feelings
 
SiKo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: dusty hot place
Posts: 1,465
Default Windows 10 Xbox app

Hi,

On windows 10 I can use the xbox app and use WINkey +G fto open the game bar. Here I can chose to record the app; if it's not a known game, xbox app requires you to check the mark 'yes this is a game'....

Maybe that can work for reaper too?

HTH

Si
__________________
... yOu aNd mE are ...
SiKo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.