Old 03-17-2017, 06:20 PM   #1
Rick Settle
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 154
Default Midi

I know what Midi is. Other than that, nada, zilch, zero. What do I have to do in Reaper to hear Midi? I brought a pre-recorded Midi song into Reaper and Reaper split out all the different instruments and singers, but when I hit 'Play' I hear nothing. What's the drill?
Rick Settle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2017, 06:56 PM   #2
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The vast, frozen wasteland of western Canadia.
Posts: 3,908
Default

You need to put an instrument of some sort on each track; MIDI notes are like the sheet of paper in a player piano.

Reaper doesn't come with any instrument plugins, aside from a couple of basic synthesizers, but there are plenty of great free options. What instruments do you need?
Lokasenna is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2017, 08:18 PM   #3
Outboarder
Human being with feelings
 
Outboarder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 397
Default

Hi

Like what Lokasenna said, you have to assign instrument to your MIDI notes.

But you can use General MIDI instrument to preview what your MIDI sounds like.
if you are happy with the Notes you can download better instruments.
http://www.vst4free.com/

To use General MIDI
Goto Preferences > MIDI Devices >
In MIDI output section Enable Microsoft GS Wavetable synth

In tracks:
click on Route button ,in MIDI Hardware output select Microsoft GS Wavetable
click on FX button , add Cockos > Reacontrol-MIDI effect.

In Reacontrol:
Enable Bank/Program select
click on load file and choose GM.reabank
select bank General MIDI

__________________
Hope Sacred Passion Life Night Ache Soft Light
Outboarder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2017, 06:51 AM   #4
Rick Settle
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 154
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Outboarder View Post
Hi

Like what Lokasenna said, you have to assign instrument to your MIDI notes.

But you can use General MIDI instrument to preview what your MIDI sounds like.
if you are happy with the Notes you can download better instruments.
http://www.vst4free.com/

To use General MIDI
Goto Preferences > MIDI Devices >
In MIDI output section Enable Microsoft GS Wavetable synth

In tracks:
click on Route button ,in MIDI Hardware output select Microsoft GS Wavetable
click on FX button , add Cockos > Reacontrol-MIDI effect.

In Reacontrol:
Enable Bank/Program select
click on load file and choose GM.reabank
select bank General MIDI


Thank you. That's just what I needed.
Rick Settle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2017, 07:02 AM   #5
Outboarder
Human being with feelings
 
Outboarder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 397
Default

You're welcome
__________________
Hope Sacred Passion Life Night Ache Soft Light
Outboarder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.