Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > newbieland

Old 02-23-2017, 05:24 PM   #1
wjmwpg
Human being with feelings

Default Make looped section of item darker, shadowed or faded?

Howdy. My third day learning Reaper after more than a decade on Logic and I'm trying to figure out if there's a way to make the looped portion of an item look different from the item it is looping? I'll settle for them being lighter, darker, faded, translucent, whatever, I'd just like to be able to differentiate very quickly at a glance what is the item, and what is the looping portion of that item.

I hope that makes sense - I'm still learning all the Reaper terms for these things.

Thanks!
Old 02-23-2017, 08:20 PM   #2
Lokasenna

You're maybe thinking about it the wrong way. Once you pull the edge of an item over to loop, that whole thing is the item; there is no "original" copy, because it's just looping the source file over and over.
Old 02-23-2017, 09:12 PM   #3
wjmwpg

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lokasenna View Post
You're maybe thinking about it the wrong way. Once you pull the edge of an item over to loop, that whole thing is the item; there is no "original" copy, because it's just looping the source file over and over.
Maybe you're right . . . I hadn't thought of it that way. I'm coming to Reaper from 10+ years on Logic, so I'm just used to seeing things a certain way . . .

. . . but that doesn't mean it's the right way!

I'll work with it like this for awhile and see if there are any practical workflow reasons to have it the way I picture it - quite likely there won't be.
Old 02-23-2017, 09:33 PM   #4
Lokasenna

Unless there's something special about items vs their looped counterparts in Logic, it just seems redundant when you've already got the little indents at each loop point.

What happens in Logic if you drag out the left side of the item as well - does it shade both sides and leave the middle lit up?
Old 02-23-2017, 11:02 PM   #5
wjmwpg

Quote: