Old 06-24-2014, 07:13 AM   #1
Alex1715
Human being with feelings

Default I am tired of this!

Okay. Here's the thing.

I've been using reaper for good 2 years after ableton (I've found it really comfortable DAW and kinda fell in love with it). But now I hate it. And its hard to describe how many ideas I've lost because of constant crashing.

Right now Im at the point when I want to go and buy pro tools right now just hoping that it wont crash that way.

So while I remain a little bit of calm, could someone explain to me one thing: I've seen a lot of tutorials and ways where people use reaper, but could someone explain to me: How exactly do I need to use reaper to avoid crashing every half hour? Im using REALLY heavy projects (3-4 GB RAM) with kontakt, ewql and other heavy banks, a lot of virtual instruments and sometimes it just takes 3 minutes to load a project and 1 to crash.

So its not really a "I want to spend 10 hours figuring out whats wrong with my huge amount of plugs"-thread. I just want to know what could I do to avoid that. I know there are probably something wrong with very expensive plugins of mine, but Im not going to throw them out now.

Sorry for dickyness, but I can't find proper words right now.
Alex1715 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2014, 07:21 AM   #2
Andy Hamm

Render and disable your vsti!!!

If you want to make chanes, re-enable, re-render and disable.

Every single person I've seen complaining about instability and crashing seems to be running vsti heavy sessions, but after the track is laid down there is no need to keep loading the system with it.
Andy Hamm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2014, 07:23 AM   #3
wildschwein