Old 02-02-2016, 12:59 PM   #1
heda
Human being with feelings
 
heda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 7,268
Default init UI window: maximum 2048 pixels width?

From Lua, I can't initialize a UI framebuffer with a width larger than 2048. Could this be increased? I wanted to create a "full screen like" script and my screen is 2560 pixels width.

By the way, it would be nice to be able to set coordinates of the window. They always open at 0,0 of primary monitor.
heda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2016, 12:55 AM   #2
ijijn
Human being with feelings
 
ijijn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Posts: 482
Default

Ah, snap!

I had a very similar thought yesterday when I saw that user-created buffers (in JSFX, in my case) had a maximum effective width and height of 2048 pixels.

Luckily, pre-existing files larger than this don't seem to be a problem. For example, after loading a large bitmap font atlas that stretches beyond this threshold, it is still fully accessible and doesn't clip at the boundary. However, I'm trying to optimise draw calls by simply blitting one image to the screen wherever possible, and having a 2048 pixel limit means problems and missing real estate when stretching the JSFX window beyond this. I would suggest at least a 4K or 5K resolution limit to allow for greater flexibility and compatibility on pixel-heavy systems.

There are some workarounds at the moment, but it does feel just a little clunky.

ij
ijijn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2016, 11:05 AM   #3
heda
Human being with feelings
 
heda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 7,268
Default

executing gfx.w=2550 in the runloop doesn't help either
it gives you a 2048 pixels window.

Manually resizing the window works correctly with more than 2048 pixels. But I can't set it from reascript.
heda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2017, 05:58 PM   #4
Airal
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 406
Default

Any news? I would like to be able to set a window to full screen after the script is running also. Right now I'm having to hard code things ;/ It would be nice if a gfx.init window could be maximized(no title bar too), etc. While we can manually resize and such, we can't really do anything else without hacks.
Airal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2017, 03:00 AM   #5
lb0
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 4,175
Default

+1000 on > 2048 W x H

Yes to maximize/minimize and no titlebar.

On windows I'm using Autohotkey to remove title bars and make full screen - but would be much neater within Reascript.
__________________
Projects - Reascripts - Lua:
Smart Knobs 2 | LBX Stripper | LBX Floating FX Positioner
Donate via Paypal | LBX Tools Website
lb0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2017, 06:56 AM   #6
Airal
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 406
Default

Yeah, a line of code or something. Could add the ability to pass Style and StylEx to gfx.init, or simply add the ability to call WinAPI commands (gfx.init returns the window handle, or a separate gfx.GetWindowHandle)

It would be nice to be able to make multiple windows too
Airal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.