Old 09-10-2014, 01:35 AM   #1
witti
Human being with feelings
 
witti's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,216
Default envcp WALTER question...

envcp icons get shifted right by the folderdepht, but at the same time a condition like w>xxx is acting like as if the 'envelope track' is always a 'first degree track'. So as if it is not in a folder at all.

What a mess. Makes it actually impossible to theme the envelope panel !

witti

Last edited by witti; 04-11-2015 at 05:34 AM.
witti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2014, 04:14 AM   #2
cubic13
Human being with feelings
 
cubic13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Near Serre-Ponçon lake, french Alps
Posts: 855
Default

I think that you forgot to complete your tcp.size statement. Here I set it as following :

set tcp.size [662 87 220 24]

The last 2 values are the tcp minimal dimension ones : the 3rd value is the one from which Walter ceases to rearrange controls in the tcp when narrowing more its width (actually, it makes the right border just cover what's already displayed) and the 4th one is the minimal tcp height under which Reaper refuses to narrow more the track.

Using this, I have no problem with the envcp, even with a track contained in a 5th degree folder.


EDIT : maybe it has something to do with it, but I admit that I got rid of any statements such as the following :

set tcp/envcp.margin +:folderdepth:1 [-10 0 0 0]
set tcp/envcp.margin +:maxfolderdepth:1 [10 0 0 0]


By doing this, the controls contained in the tcp are not shifted to the right when another track is put in a new folder degree : they just stay at the same place from the actual tcp left edge location, and I prefer it that way.
__________________
DAW: Ryzen 3700X|Asus X-470Pro|32Gb|2 SSD512(M2)+1024|W10Pro(64)|RME Fireface UCX+ADA8200
Soft: Reaper|Cubase 10|Emulator X3 & several other VSTis (2 bridged)...
Gear: VMK-188+|MPD32|ME30P|Korg 05R/W|Roland D110|Yamaha TX802|Pre-MIDI stuff...

Last edited by cubic13; 09-10-2014 at 04:52 AM.
cubic13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2014, 05:14 AM   #3
cubic13
Human being with feelings
 
cubic13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Near Serre-Ponçon lake, french Alps
Posts: 855
Default

Could you gave us the precise link of the 'Apollo mods' theme you are using, as there are a lot of them in the stash ? Would like to test it as, IMO, the whole envcp management seems indeed overcomplicated to me...
__________________
DAW: Ryzen 3700X|Asus X-470Pro|32Gb|2 SSD512(M2)+1024|W10Pro(64)|RME Fireface UCX+ADA8200
Soft: Reaper|Cubase 10|Emulator X3 & several other VSTis (2 bridged)...
Gear: VMK-188+|MPD32|ME30P|Korg 05R/W|Roland D110|Yamaha TX802|Pre-MIDI stuff...
cubic13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2014, 05:49 AM   #4
cubic13
Human being with feelings
 
cubic13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Near Serre-Ponçon lake, french Alps
Posts: 855
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by witti View Post
Of course: http://forum.cockos.com/showpost.php...96&postcount=1

For the info:
trans_flags&1 is a switch i use to display the two different views you can see in the gifs.
(It's the action: Center Transport controls)

set envcp.margin [0 0 tcp_iconsize 0] is a little hack i use to align the envcp with the tcp when using track icons.
At first sight, it seems that there is no real testing of the trans_flags&1 status as, in lines such as this one :

set envcp.margin trans_flags&1 +:folderdepth:1 [-13 0 0 0] +:folderdepth:1 [0 0 0 0]

Either the '?' or '!' operator is missing. Something like this should be more relevent, I think (but I might be wrong...) :

set envcp.margin ?trans_flags&1 +:folderdepth:1 [-13 0 0 0] +:folderdepth:1 [0 0 0 0]

Will test further...
__________________
DAW: Ryzen 3700X|Asus X-470Pro|32Gb|2 SSD512(M2)+1024|W10Pro(64)|RME Fireface UCX+ADA8200
Soft: Reaper|Cubase 10|Emulator X3 & several other VSTis (2 bridged)...
Gear: VMK-188+|MPD32|ME30P|Korg 05R/W|Roland D110|Yamaha TX802|Pre-MIDI stuff...
cubic13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2014, 06:28 AM   #5
cubic13
Human being with feelings
 
cubic13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Near Serre-Ponçon lake, french Alps
Posts: 855
Default

Well, you can find it here : https://stash.reaper.fm/theme/1409/Piolit.zip.

Concerning the envcp management, all the involved lines are the following :

Code:
; --- ENVCP ---
clear envcp.*
set envcp.size tcp.size
set envcp.margin [0 0 0 0]
set envcp.hide [0 0 30 86 0 0 0 1]
set envcp.label.margin [7 0 3 0]
set envcp.label [84 3 136 17]
set envcp.label.color [173 179 185 255]
set envcp.arm tcp.mute
set envcp.bypass tcp.solo
set envcp.mod h<42 [0] + [0 19] tcp.mute
set envcp.learn h<42 [0] + [0 19] tcp.solo
set envcp.fader h<42 [0] w<290 [83 25 446 15 0 0 0.75 0] [83 25 500 15 0 0 0.9 0]
set envcp.value.margin [0 0 0 0 0]
set envcp.value h<42 [0] w<260 [0] w<290 [525 27 60 13 0.75 0 0.75 0] [580 27 60 13 0.9 0 0.9 0]
set envcp.value.font [-1]
set envcp.value.color [173 179 185 255]
But the previous code is not adapted to the Apollo context, I think...
__________________
DAW: Ryzen 3700X|Asus X-470Pro|32Gb|2 SSD512(M2)+1024|W10Pro(64)|RME Fireface UCX+ADA8200
Soft: Reaper|Cubase 10|Emulator X3 & several other VSTis (2 bridged)...
Gear: VMK-188+|MPD32|ME30P|Korg 05R/W|Roland D110|Yamaha TX802|Pre-MIDI stuff...
cubic13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2014, 07:50 AM   #6
cubic13
Human being with feelings
 
cubic13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Near Serre-Ponçon lake, french Alps
Posts: 855
Default

Feel free to report back... AFAICS, it seems that everything is working with your theme and, sadly, the gif you provided don't work here (probably a Firefox problem...). So, I'm still having a problem to see where is the actual issue, as it seems that the envcp is beheving as the tcp.

Hope you'll get it solved, somehow...
__________________
DAW: Ryzen 3700X|Asus X-470Pro|32Gb|2 SSD512(M2)+1024|W10Pro(64)|RME Fireface UCX+ADA8200
Soft: Reaper|Cubase 10|Emulator X3 & several other VSTis (2 bridged)...
Gear: VMK-188+|MPD32|ME30P|Korg 05R/W|Roland D110|Yamaha TX802|Pre-MIDI stuff...
cubic13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2014, 07:26 PM   #7
cubic13
Human being with feelings
 
cubic13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Near Serre-Ponçon lake, french Alps
Posts: 855
Default

Hi again, witti

Well, I see your problem after having installed the theme : it's indeed strange. I already tried to set tcp/envcp.margin at [0 0 0 0] : didn't solve the problem. I also tried the set encp.arm tcp.recarm and didn't solve it either. Clearly, the envcp.arm is misbehaving when h>48. So, I changed the following statement :

set envcp.arm h>48 w>208 [4 61 20 20 0 0.5 0 0.5] [0] h>24 w>269 [4 50 20 20 0 0.5 0 0.5] [0]

to this one :

set envcp.arm h>48 w>269 [4 61 20 20 0 0.5 0 0.5] [0] h>24 w>269 [4 50 20 20 0 0.5 0 0.5] [0]

Seems to work, but considering the overall complexity of the theme, there is probably more to it than that. Will keep you informed if I find something more satisfying...
__________________
DAW: Ryzen 3700X|Asus X-470Pro|32Gb|2 SSD512(M2)+1024|W10Pro(64)|RME Fireface UCX+ADA8200
Soft: Reaper|Cubase 10|Emulator X3 & several other VSTis (2 bridged)...
Gear: VMK-188+|MPD32|ME30P|Korg 05R/W|Roland D110|Yamaha TX802|Pre-MIDI stuff...
cubic13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2014, 01:48 AM   #8
cubic13
Human being with feelings
 
cubic13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Near Serre-Ponçon lake, french Alps
Posts: 855
Default

Well, I just tested the Reaper default theme and I don't see it misbehaving, and mine doesn't either.

I think that, as the envcp.arm control is an essential one, as well as the tcp.recarm one, you should make it always visible, with no w>xxx condition for its display. Beside this, I would set the 3rd value of the tcp.size a little higher (say, 200). What's the point of 'Waltering' an overshrinked view of the tcp controls ? At this point, there is no more essential controls of the track reachable, anyway. I admit that I have a 1920x1200 display and this is probably more critical for less extended screen resolutions, but still...

Just my 2 cents...
__________________
DAW: Ryzen 3700X|Asus X-470Pro|32Gb|2 SSD512(M2)+1024|W10Pro(64)|RME Fireface UCX+ADA8200
Soft: Reaper|Cubase 10|Emulator X3 & several other VSTis (2 bridged)...
Gear: VMK-188+|MPD32|ME30P|Korg 05R/W|Roland D110|Yamaha TX802|Pre-MIDI stuff...
cubic13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.