Old 12-08-2016, 11:41 AM   #1
Vagalume
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 168
Default Web Interface

Hi, I have been reading several posts about "Web Interface" but I don't really understand what this works for, maybe It's a problem of my poor English. Can any of explain more or less about it? Ty
Vagalume is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2016, 12:40 PM   #2
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,097
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vagalume View Post
Hi, I have been reading several posts about "Web Interface" but I don't really understand what this works for, maybe It's a problem of my poor English. Can any of explain more or less about it? Ty
Can you post links to these posts?

Otherwise it's difficult to guess in which context the term "Web Interface" was used.
solger is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2016, 12:43 PM   #3
Vagalume
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 168
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by solger View Post
Can you post links to these posts?

Otherwise it's difficult to guess in which context the term "Web Interface" was used.
Of course:
http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=184647
Vagalume is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2016, 12:52 PM   #4
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,097
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vagalume View Post
OK, basically it's a custom webpage which let's you control certain Reaper functions over your Browser (via the "Web interface").

See post #10 for info about how to install and set it up as Control Surface.

Last edited by solger; 12-08-2016 at 12:59 PM.
solger is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2016, 01:05 PM   #5
Vagalume
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 168
Default

┐By browser you mean the media explorer?
Vagalume is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2016, 01:06 PM   #6
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,097
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vagalume View Post
┐By browser you mean the media explorer?
No. A web browser like Internet Explorer, Firefox, Safari, etc.
solger is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2016, 01:08 PM   #7
Vagalume
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 168
Default

Now I understand, ty for your help
Vagalume is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2016, 01:11 PM   #8
woggle
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 268
Default

why would someone want to do this? Is there an important use that I am missing or is it more a preference thing, like being able to sit on a comfy chair and operate the mixer from a different distance than usual? Also there is already OSC and control surface methods from that so i don't understand what this brings - which might be amazing, just I don't get the ramifications. (which would not surprise me)
woggle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2016, 01:19 PM   #9
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,097
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by woggle View Post
why would someone want to do this? Is there an important use that I am missing or is it more a preference thing, like being able to sit on a comfy chair and operate the mixer from a different distance than usual?
Well, it might be the case that the computer is far away or in a different room and you want to control things from the distance without running back and forth while recording, etc.

Quote:
Also there is already OSC and control surface methods from that so i don't understand what this brings - which might be amazing, just I don't get the ramifications. (which would not surprise me)
I guess it's mainly for users who want to customize their own control interface. And don't have any OSC compatible devices or other control surfaces available.

Last edited by solger; 12-08-2016 at 01:35 PM.
solger is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2016, 01:54 PM   #10
planetnine
Human being with feelings
 
planetnine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln, UK
Posts: 7,499
Default

The idea is to control REAPER's transport, rec-arm, solo and mutes remotely from an iphone, ipad or android phone or tablet.

eg: Record yourself while sat away from your DW on your drumkit sort of thing...




>
planetnine is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2016, 01:55 PM   #11
woggle
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 268
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by solger View Post
Well, it might be the case that the computer is far away or in a different room and you want to control things from the distance without running back and forth while recording, etc.


I guess it's mainly for users who want to customize their own control interface. And don't have any OSC compatible devices or other control surfaces available.
thanks solger
woggle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2016, 01:57 PM   #12
woggle
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 268
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by planetnine View Post
The idea is to control REAPER's transport, rec-arm, solo and mutes remotely from an iphone, ipad or android phone or tablet.

eg: Record yourself while sat away from your DW on your drumkit sort of thing...




>
thanks - I get it now - no use to me which is probably why I didn't see the value so much. But that drumkit example is a good one
woggle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2016, 02:15 PM   #13
reddiesel41264
Human being with feelings
 
reddiesel41264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North East UK
Posts: 330
Default

Could it not also be used as a control surface like TouchOSC?
__________________
David Healey
Purveyor of fine sample libraries (and Kontakt scripting tutorials) - http://xtant-audio.com/
reddiesel41264 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2016, 02:18 PM   #14
planetnine
Human being with feelings
 
planetnine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln, UK
Posts: 7,499
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by woggle View Post
thanks - I get it now - no use to me which is probably why I didn't see the value so much. But that drumkit example is a good one

Rather than load an "app", you type in an IP address in the device's web browser and REAPER generates a web-page control surface that your device accesses. A neat and easily set-up remote control.

I can even use it from my Blackberry



>
planetnine is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2016, 04:39 PM   #15
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 3,920
Default

The big advantages of REAPER Web Interface is that it is linked on your project.
Tracks count, tracks names, tracks colors, etc... This is all sort of thing that you cannot really have with OSC. And it is as simple as entering a web adress. Totally cross platform.

It as a advanced modable remote controller for REAPER !
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2016, 04:56 PM   #16
woggle
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 268
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by X-Raym View Post
The big advantages of REAPER Web Interface is that it is linked on your project.
Tracks count, tracks names, tracks colors, etc... This is all sort of thing that you cannot really have with OSC. And it is as simple as entering a web adress. Totally cross platform.

It as a advanced modable remote controller for REAPER !
I've seen some say it cannot replace the native interface and be as efficient - is this true? Would this not be something that could be used as the main interface by say switching between web pages for different views on the project? or as efficient for multitrack audio editing?

Last edited by woggle; 12-08-2016 at 05:01 PM.
woggle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2016, 06:45 PM   #17
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 3,920
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by woggle
I've seen some say it cannot replace the native interface
Indeed, and that's not the point :
it is designed to be a remote control from small device (like smartphone).
A powerful remote control, but just a remote control. Basic Tweaks, access to actions, but no audio editing, midi editing, fx additions etc...
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2016, 06:46 PM   #18
woggle
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 268
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by X-Raym View Post
Indeed, and that's not the point :
it is designed to be a remote control from small device (like smartphone).
A powerful remote control, but just a remote control. Basic Tweaks, access to actions, but no audio editing, midi editing, fx additions etc...
Thanks, totally got it now. No use to me whatsoever��
But I can see it will be great for thems that need it

Last edited by woggle; 12-08-2016 at 06:59 PM.
woggle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2016, 04:02 AM   #19
bob
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Scottish refugee in Germany
Posts: 3,366
Default

Does web interface work when not connected to internet?if so how?
Cheers
__________________
Man is impressive. In a universe full of untold secrets he has invented boredom.Socrates.
Roland vs-2480,Pre Sonus V-Fire,R÷de Mics KRK Rokit8
[COLOR="DarkRed"]
bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2016, 04:25 AM   #20
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 3,920
Default

@bob
You don't need internet but the minimum requirement is a local network.
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2016, 05:48 AM   #21
bob
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Scottish refugee in Germany
Posts: 3,366
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by X-Raym View Post
@bob
You don't need internet but the minimum requirement is a local network.
A local network? How do I get one?I have a router and wlan
__________________
Man is impressive. In a universe full of untold secrets he has invented boredom.Socrates.
Roland vs-2480,Pre Sonus V-Fire,R÷de Mics KRK Rokit8
[COLOR="DarkRed"]
bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2016, 11:31 AM   #22
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 3,920
Default

@bob
wlan is for Wireless Local Area Network, so if your two devices (the one with reaper host, the one for remote controlls (unless you want to controll from your REAPER computer, which is not very useful apart from development)) are both part of this network... then you can use the web interface without problem !
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2016, 11:22 AM   #23
parapentep70
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 11
Default

Today I tried it for the first time. It is GREAT!!!!!
I had to enable access to Reaper in Microsoft Firewall (I am in W7-64). I am happy I spend these 5 minutes, this feature is PERFECT for home recording use.

Before I found that my wireless mouse was great to control Reaper from where I try to record my instruments. But having full control and a touchscreen FOR FREE is a real gift.
parapentep70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.