Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > Recording Technologies and Techniques

Old 06-12-2015, 03:06 AM   #1
fantasyvn
Human being with feelings

Default Sampling question: What can you do with a folk song?

May ask I for your advice on songwriting and sampling?

I've never worked with samples before and am still confused. So your experience is greatly appreciated.

Suppose you like a traditional folk song and would like to use part of it for your song. I suppose you will import the song/recording as a wav file into a sampler like Kontakt.

Then what can happen? Could you pls suggest some ideas?

Thank you
fantasyvn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2015, 06:06 AM   #2
whiteaxxxe
Banned

there are 2 things to consider, that are completely different:

1. the copyrights of the composition: if the song is free of copyrights, you are good to go.

2. the song, you want to sample from: if the song is copyright-free, the actual recording you want to sample from is not. its the work of some musician. you cant sample that - of course you can - but you need to have the permission of the musician(s) that performed that song.

example: Amazing Grace is public domain. so the song is copyright free. but if I sample the version of Steve Vai, I have to have to his permission because I sample his work.

that all goes for if you want to publish the song. if you do a song for your own entertainment and private fun, you are free to do whatever comes to your mind.
whiteaxxxe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2015, 10:29 AM   #3
dub tree
Human being with feelings

It depends on the type of production, really. I've gone through phases where I sample my own older recordings, and I generally like to go through the whole song and snip little parts (a chord strum, a 2-bar loop, a funny sound, etc) and have a folder of just these individual wavs.