Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER for macOS

Old 07-19-2011, 02:01 AM   #1
buckman
Human being with feelings

Default Please help me with Reaper and Soundflower issue!

Hello, I have post about this before, and even spoken to the Cockos team who have shed some light on this, with the routing, but as i'm not that experienced with the Routing (as good and as complex as it is..) so i'm getting myself in knots!!

I want to record from Ableton (independently so not Rewire) to Reaper running on the same Mac.

I open the latest SoundflowerBED app, and set to 2CHN - I only ever need 2 chn stereo as I only record 2 channels (stereo) at once over into Reaper..My standard soundcard is set to use as a 2chn output (just for a route to my monitor speakers)

1. I open Ableton, and in its audio-preferences, and set that to SoundFlower 2CHN so its master output/soundcard is now 'soundflower'.

2. I open Reaper and set the audio to Soundflower 2 CHN also so its 'receiving' from Ableton when i play a track.

3. I record a loop in Ableton and call it "loop1", then when pressing play, this shows up on the meters recording into a blank Reaper track (set to input 1/2) and records fine..

4. When I then set up a 2nd blank track in Reaper and press play, (to hear the first loop back) the first track plays back and it records "onto" the second track when its in record mode???

I can't for the life of me sort out or stop why this is happening? and have spent hours on this before (as a last resort) spending a wedge of cash on a new soundcard with optical input so i can do the same with a 'wired' connection! (which i know works fine) - but would prefer to use a free app, "soundflower" to do the same thing!

I have spoken to Cockos and their reply was :

"It sounds simply as if REAPER is sending its mix back to Soundflower in addition to the audio hardware, which is causing the previous mix to be recorded"