Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > newbieland

Old 08-13-2014, 11:54 AM   #1
Mizuki
Human being with feelings

Default Problem with Roland piano and Reaper

Hi

I'm new to midi and reaper.

I have a Roland 401 piano and using reaper programs

I have connected Roland to the computer with usb and can record in midi fine. But when I choose Roland as output device I can only hear my standara piano sound. Even when I'm clearly using other sounds on my piano while i record in reaper.

So my question is how can I record so that the midi track will play the correct sound Im using when I record to reaper?

I'm new to midi so maybe im just thinking wrong here and its not possible to use the piano as a sound bank from a midi file.

I should say that I managed to connect the headphone output on the piano to my in-line jack on the computer soundcard and I can record correct sounds with Audacity. So seems I have at least connected something correct.
Mizuki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2014, 12:27 PM   #2
hopi

you can do the same thing in reaper as you did in audacity

set up another track to record the audio out of your piano..

I don't know your piano and it's settings but I imagine what you need to have in the midi file is a program change to set the piano to its correct program at the start of the midi file...

what the number of that program change would be I can't at all say, you'd have to find that in your piano manual...

In the reaper midi editor, you can go to List View and insert a program change value at the top of the midi file...

you still are going to need a way to get the audio out of the piano... audio and midi are two very different things and midi only carries data and not sound.
Old 08-13-2014, 01:02 PM   #3
Mizuki

Ok thx I will try and find this and check the program change on reaper.