COCKOS
CONFEDERATED FORUMS
Cockos : REAPER : NINJAM : Forums
Forum Home : Register : FAQ : Members List : Search :

Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > Other Software Discussion > WDL users forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-06-2017, 03:05 PM   #1
Youlean
Human being with feelings
 
Youlean's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Serbia
Posts: 654
Default makedist-mac.command not working on MAC

I have trouble running this script. It gives me this error:

Code:
MacBook-Pro:~ Youlean$ sh /Users/Youlean/Documents/WDL-Youlean_Better_GUI_Resizing/Projects/Youlean_Loudness_Meter/makedist-mac.command 
: command not foundments/WDL-Youlean_Better_GUI_Resizing/Projects/Youlean_Loudness_Meter/makedist-mac.command: line 2: 
: command not foundments/WDL-Youlean_Better_GUI_Resizing/Projects/Youlean_Loudness_Meter/makedist-mac.command: line 4: 
/Users/Youlean/Documents/WDL-Youlean_Better_GUI_Resizing/Projects/Youlean_Loudness_Meter/makedist-mac.command: line 6: cd: /User: No such file or directorylean_Better_GUI_Resizing/Projects/Youlean_Loudness_Meter
: command not foundments/WDL-Youlean_Better_GUI_Resizing/Projects/Youlean_Loudness_Meter/makedist-mac.command: line 7: 
: command not foundments/WDL-Youlean_Better_GUI_Resizing/Projects/Youlean_Loudness_Meter/makedist-mac.command: line 9: 
: command not foundments/WDL-Youlean_Better_GUI_Resizing/Projects/Youlean_Loudness_Meter/makedist-mac.command: line 11: 
grep: resource.h: No such file or directory
 & 0xFFFF0000")syntax error: operand expected (error token is "ts/Youlean_Loudness_Meter/makedist-mac.command: line 15: 
MacBook-Pro:~ Youlean$
What ever I do I can not make it work. Does anyone had similar problem?
Youlean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2017, 07:19 PM   #2
ynohtna
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 21
Default

Have you tried executing the script with bash and from within the same folder as where it's located?
ynohtna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2017, 02:10 PM   #3
Youlean
Human being with feelings
 
Youlean's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Serbia
Posts: 654
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ynohtna View Post
Have you tried executing the script with bash and from within the same folder as where it's located?
Yes, still getting a lot of errors. Maybe I am running this in a wrong way. How should this be started?
So far I tried typing "sh" and then dropping exact location of script and hit enter. I have also tried typing "bash" and doing same thing. Also I tried double clicking on it.
Youlean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2017, 05:18 PM   #4
ynohtna
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 21
Default

How very odd! Running the command with either sh or bash works for me. And the errors seem to refer to blank lines, hrm.

Do you get the same errors when running the makedist-mac.command from within one of the examples (e.g. IPlugChunks)? Maybe the line-endings on the version within your project have been clobbered.
ynohtna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2017, 05:24 PM   #5
Youlean
Human being with feelings
 
Youlean's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Serbia
Posts: 654
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ynohtna View Post
How very odd! Running the command with either sh or bash works for me. And the errors seem to refer to blank lines, hrm.

Do you get the same errors when running the makedist-mac.command from within one of the examples (e.g. IPlugChunks)? Maybe the line-endings on the version within your project have been clobbered.
Same thing with any IPlugExample. It is not working. Did you install some software in order to make this work? I have installed packages. Also I get similar errors if I try to validate AU. I know, it is really strange, and the log is not helping at all...
Youlean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2017, 03:58 AM   #6
Tale
Human being with feelings
 
Tale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 3,645
Default

Perhaps something is wrong with the line-endings of your shell scripts? I seem to recall that some Unix/Linux tools can't handle Windows line-endings (\r\n).
Tale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2017, 04:12 AM   #7
Youlean
Human being with feelings
 
Youlean's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Serbia
Posts: 654
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tale View Post
Perhaps something is wrong with the line-endings of your shell scripts? I seem to recall that some Unix/Linux tools can't handle Windows line-endings (\r\n).
Thanks, I will check this out, though I tried script from original WDL-OL and I get same result.
Youlean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2017, 05:20 AM   #8
Youlean
Human being with feelings
 
Youlean's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Serbia
Posts: 654
Default

OK, line endings are the problems it seams. Though validating AU had other problems too.

Here is the updated AU validation script that is now working by double click for me:

Code:
#! /bin/bash

BASEDIR=$(dirname $0)

cd $BASEDIR

PUID=`echo | grep PLUG_UNIQUE_ID resource.h`
PUID=${PUID//\#define PLUG_UNIQUE_ID }
PUID=${PUID//\'}

# get the first 4 chars
PUID=${PUID:0:4}


PMID=`echo | grep PLUG_MFR_ID resource.h`
PMID=${PMID//\#define PLUG_MFR_ID }
PMID=${PMID//\'}

# get the first 4 chars
PMID=${PMID:0:4}

PII=`echo | grep PLUG_IS_INST resource.h`
PII="${PII//\#define PLUG_IS_INST }"

PDM=`echo | grep PLUG_DOES_MIDI resource.h`
PDM="${PDM//\#define PLUG_DOES_MIDI }"

TYPE="aufx"

if [ $PII == 1 ] # instrument
then
TYPE="aumu"
else
if [ $PDM == 1 ] # midi effect
then
TYPE="aumf"
fi
fi

if [ "$1" == "leaks" ]
then
echo "testing for leaks (i386 32 bit)"
echo 'launch a new shell and type: ps axc|awk "{if (\$5==\"auvaltool\") print \$1}" to get the pid';
echo "then leaks PID"

export MallocStackLogging=1
set env MallocStackLoggingNoCompact=1

auval -v $TYPE $PUID $PMID -w -q

unset MallocStackLogging

else

echo "\nvalidating... -----------------------------------"
echo "--------------------------------------------------"
echo "--------------------------------------------------"
echo "--------------------------------------------------"
echo "--------------------------------------------------"
echo "--------------------------------------------------"

auval -v $TYPE $PUID $PMID

fi
echo "done"
Youlean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2017, 09:31 AM   #9
ynohtna
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 21
Default

Maybe you have some settings in your version control to fix/clobber line-endings (.gitattributes file or core.autocrlf config settings for git)? All the scripts are fully functional without tampering on my Mac.

Whatever the cause, I'm glad you've got it working again, though!
ynohtna is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.